We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pool is far too cold!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Pool is far too cold!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

I stay here each year for business. The pool area is the draw for us to extend our trip and make it a family stay.
Pool was renovated in 2007 and was quite nice. This last trip, the pool was so cold, my kids wouldn't use it. There were very few people who could brave the frigidity, and all ended up in the warmer plunge pool, to sit. therefore, the place was packed with families huddled in the hot tub and plunge pool, and the pool went unused.
We approached the front desk about the cold pool and they seemed completely disinterested. I approached them later to ask for follow up and they didn't seem to know what I was speaking about.

I wrote an email and had prompt response, very kind, and was told they looked into the records of the pool maintenance. They emailed back within a day or two and assured me that the temps were right in line with their expectations. That may be, but the fact remains: the pool is too cold to enjoy! When even little kids, who will pretty much swim in anything, won't use your pool...there is a problem.

This upcoming business trip, we will extend our stay again, but will be booking those extra days at another hotel with pool we just tried and enjoyed.

Other than the horrible pool temps, the staff is fine, the conceirge Robin is very helpful and has been there for years. The breakfast buffet has fantastic fresh fruit.

Our room had a queen and pull out and that is fine.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The horribly cold pool
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    257
    113
    25
    19
See reviews for
155
224
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel to celebrate our one year anniversary. We booked the romance package which included a nice size room with a large jacuzzi-jetted tub and king size bed. On arrival check-in was fast and easy...we got to our room and had a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to enjoy. The bathroom was a nice size with a shower with 6 different showerheads...three on each end, and the jacuzzi tub was perfect for 2. We had room service the first evening and it was pretty good. The pool area is really nice. It's very modern although it'd be nice if the pool was a bit bigger and deeper than 1.5 metres. I definitely recommend going to the Terrace Dining room at the hotel. We booked a reservation and got a $90 dining credit with the package and had extremely good service and the best Filet Mignon I've ever had...and I've been to a lot of different places. Be prepared to splurge a bit there! Only a 2 minute walk to shopping.

  • Liked — Jacuzzi & Terrace Dining Room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

We stayed at the park Lodge for four nights. They gave us a room facing the street, which was a bad choice given the traffic and noise, particularly at night. We asked for a room facing the back service road which was much better. The building is old and needs a big makeover. Everything is dated, the furniture, the carpet, the towels...everything. However, I think the hotel is clean and staff was very friendly and helpful. I believe that the only renovated area in the whole building is the swiming pool and steam room. For the price we paid, I guess there are better options in town, particularly in Banff which is a small town and everything is within walkable distance.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dated rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

The room was old, small and shabby. I don't mind this if the price reflects that and I was lead to believe that when I bought the room.

There were other problems. The meal we had in the second floor restaurant was expensive and low quality.Again the value was not there.

The front desk duty manager provided an I don't care attitude.
There was a 72 hour cancelation policy so we were stuck for three nights...never again.

We had problems with this stay. We will not be staying at this property again.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

We went to American Airlines to book this! Besides getting 250 more miles, we were told when we checked in that it was linked to Travelocity, or one of those search engine sites.
The facility was great! The food however was quite expensive. Breakfast buffet was $17.50! WOW It is a vacation town however, so saying that, enough said. The room was great, the beds were so comfy. Firm but fluffy! The underground heated parking ($8.00 per day) was very nice. I would go back and stay at this place without a doubt!

  • Liked — location location location
  • Disliked — balcony had trees for a view.......:(
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

We stayed here for a week in January 2008. The hotel is dated, and reception staff could do with going on a customer service training course. They could be a little terse!

The swimming pool and spa have been renovated and are lovely. The breakfast buffet was lovely, the restaurant was dark and dated.

The rooms were comfortable but dark and dated. The bathrooms could do with decorating.

The bar has strange opening hours!! but is pleasant enough.

The location is great - the ski bus stops right outside and there is a big thermometer on the wall outside. The shops and restaurants are close by.

We had a lovely time staying there and would recommend it.

  • Liked — the spa
  • Disliked — the dated decor
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

For a family of five we booked a suite. The room looked terrific was large and had six double beds. Unfortunately each double bed was a put me up so were all very uncomfortable. The room had not been properly cleaned when we arrived. When mentioned to staff they offered no reaction.
The swimming pool and spa were excellent, as was the restaurant

  • Liked — The pool and spa
  • Disliked — The poor level of room cleanliness and poor quality of beds
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.