We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Busy Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in Busy Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The rooms at the Banff Park are a bit small but very well maintained. We found it a good bargain in an expensive town. The staff was very friendly and approachable and extremely helpful. We were a bit shocked at the parking costs and the pricing of food in the restaurants but there are plenty of nearby restaurants to compensate. The Hotel was quiet, clean and well maintained. One nice thing about the paid parking was the use of a complimentary car wash bay in the parkade.

Room Tip: A Superior room is far better than their average room and well worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    332
    144
    38
    21
See reviews for
198
298
33
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Right in the heart of Banff, minutes walk from restaurants, museums etc. Staff very helpful. Lovely room with Jacuzzi. Would recommend to anyone going to Banff. Restaurants and bar in hotel also very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Banff Park Lodge has an excellent location; it is within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. The rooms are clean and it has FANTASTIC shower pressure. The restaurant menu has a good selection, the food is tasty and it is presented well. The hair dryer and iron worked. It has many shops you can enter from the inside.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed for two nights in August 2014. This hotel is getting tired and old. It is desperately in need of an upgrade. The one thing going for it is its location to downtown. The king room was large, but dark - needs more lights. There were holes in the furniture. Holes in the patio door screen. No furniture on patio, so basically useless. There is no air conditioning, only "climate control", which means you can turn up the heat, but no way to cool down in summer. They nickle and dime you with extra charges for parking and extra charges for wifi connection. Brief encounters with staff were good. We just expected more for the price.

Room Tip: Room 154 on ground level is beside a hallway door that bangs loudly every time someone goes through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed here for two nights, and I must say that this hotel is bigger and nicer than others at least by looking at the front of the hotel. Our room was clean and lovely. My only concern was the carpet. It wasn't laying flat and may pose danger to guests. I also don't like the fact that this hotel charge for wi-fi.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I stayed here on a tour, so no choice of hotel in Banff. My room was clean and comfortable, but no air conditioning and there were things that needed attention. The veranda had no chairs to sit on. The fly screen 'came away in my hand' as soon as I tried to open it. One of the bedside lights turned itself on and off at random after I turned it on.
The restaurant was fine at night - I suspect because it wasn't busy. At breakfast, choose the buffet. It IS good, but more to the point if you opt for the a la carte menu you will wait for a very long time for a simple dish, in my case scrambled eggs! I also noticed (and I had plenty of time to do so) that breakfasters coming after me were served first. Is this a hotel where single women become invisible??
The concierge will book tickets for the chair lift 'to save you queuing' but omits to tell you that what you get is not a ticket but a voucher which you have to queue with and exchange for a ticket. Also the concierge will not deal in cash - does the management not trust its employees?
Overall, despite its central location, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Nice hotel. The staff at the front desk were very polite and knowledgable and were quick to help out. Automatically gave us an upgraded room with out being asked. While the rooms are a little tired, they still were very comfortable, and had everything we needed.

Only complaint is that they do not have air conditioners in the rooms, and we were there during a very hot spell, so the rooms were a little warm until later in the evening.

We did not use any of the services or restaurants of the hotel, so can not make any comments on these.

Overall, we had a very nice stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back of the hotel will be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,678 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.8 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 944 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#20 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.