We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banff experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Banff experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

very welcoming hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable. rooms big and clean. good location, easy walking distance to most areas. close to bus stops. staff recommended other places to see and other restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    303
    131
    32
    21
See reviews for
175
278
28
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Facility: We have stayed here several times and have never been disappointed in the rooms (just excellent beds and bathroom) or the overall facility. You cannot pick a better spot/location and once you park the car in the underground parking, you can walk anywhere.

Staff: However they suffer from lack of friendly staff with the exception of the housekeeping and maintenance people (they always seem to have a smile and a hi). When I arrived I was met in a very efficient and effective way with no hint of friendliness nor warmth. Her attitude was another customer 'checking in' that I have to deal with.

Reservation: Very pleased with the room and must say the reservation lady on the phone was superb and she certainly did not get us a quiet deluxe room (307).

Issues: there were a couple of issues with our stay: there were two weddings in the hotel and the people across the hall from us woke us up several times with people leaving their rooms. Why do people have to stand in the hallway of a hotel (with do not disturb signs on the surrounding doors) and have a five-minute discussion about some trivial matter. The day were leaving work were meeting with another couple and we went down to the restaurant on the second floor and inquired about their buffet we were told that the buffet started at 630 and Sunday brunch was at 10. So we showed up at 9:25 expecting to have a quick buffet breakfast and be out of there by 10:00 brunch. When the four of us arrived we were told the restaurant was closing in five minutes and if we wanted breakfast would have to come back at 10 and have their Sunday brunch! So we had to go somewhere else and just found it really disappointing that we were not told that the regular buffet was from 630 to 930!

Summary: still despite these two issues I highly recommend this hotel and perhaps the housekeeping staff could give the front desk tips and being friendly!

Room Tip: third floor away from the street ( 307) deluxe room with the Jacuzzi tub! the rooms are quiet howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We ha 24 hrs to have a 'mini' holiday so we wanted to stay somewhere really central... Wonderful location and friendly staff that pointed us in the right direction for great food (Nourish bistro) and some dancing.... Was a big clean room so we were happy!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

For the price, it was a good deal in the heart of banff and walking distance to many shops. Big room w comfy king size bed, lots on cable tv if you feel like relaxing. Nice pool and tub. Plenty of parking. The only minor complaint would be wifi is not free. But great stay overall!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel and had a great time at a very nice hotel and in the town of Banff. The rooms were clean and well maintained. All public areas were also nice and clean. The hotel is located within a short walk of the center of town. We were very impressed with the hot breakfast buffet. They had a wide variety of foods and it was better then most breakfast buffets that you will find. The waiter was very friendly and efficient. We found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful with providing directions and general information. The only issue I had was the extra $10.00 fee for the Wifi. I felt that was inappropriate based on the price you pay for the room. How much more money do these hotels want to squeeze out of their guests?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Macleod, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Great hotel, comfortable and close walking distance to all the shops, restaurants ect in Banff. The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable, you even get your choice of pillow! If I had to complain about one thing... you have to pay $10.00 for the wifi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Let's face it. Unless you have the $$$ to stay at the Banff Springs, the highlights of Banff should NOT be the hotel! On the other hand, having a clean, comfortable room for a reasonable price, good eating options on site and nearby, easy access to the all-important Trans Canada highway along with everything you actually need within walking distance can make all the difference!

We spent 5 days here and found the staff very friendly and helpful, the room was a good size and quiet considering it is on a busy street. I would definitely recommend it as a home base if you are staying in the Banff area and I would stay there the next time I go to Banff.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor is quieter. If you're on the north end, you get a view of Cascade Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.