We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banff Park Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Banff Park Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Lodge has large, clean rooms with friendly, helpful staff. The Lodge is situated on the edge of the quaint village offering great views. I did not have a reservation but did not have a problem getting a room for the night. The food prices were reasonable and quite good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    273
    125
    28
    19
See reviews for
162
243
24
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Being now several times in Banff and used to the prices...

The Lodge is a clean simple place to stay. If you need the usual over night stay to go on into the Rockies this place works well. Easy parking - 10 bucks after paying more than 200 for a room is kind of ridiculous but well... It is Banff.

Key for me is a clean room and polite efficient staff.


Anything exceptional ? No.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Banff Park Lodge about 15 years ago and enjoyed it. The location is quite convenient to the restaurants and shops of Banff Avenue, etc. But the hotel feels and smells a bit dated. We booked online and did not realize that the underground parking and internet access each cost additional $10. The room information said that there was climate control in the room but the room did not have air conditioning - only an ineffective radiator through which cold water is circulated. On the positive side, the room was quiet and we did sleep well. The buffet breakfast at the hotel restaurant was good - cost $20.

Room Tip: What they think is a room with a view may not be what you want - if you want a view describe to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

For being so close to downtown Banff, this hotel was very quiet and private (and we stayed during Canada Day with a first floor room facing the street!). It was our most expensive hotel stay, but it was worth the extra bucks for fancier accommodations. The lobby is lovely and the restaurants and bars seem nice. There is an gym, hot tub, and pool, all of which we did not take advantage of but saw many families going to a from. Our bathroom had one of those fancy shower heads that sprays water up and down our body. It felt like being in our very own mini-spa! The beds are big, and pillows are comfy. The hotel offers a "pillow menu," which allows you to choose soft, medium, or firm pillows if the ones in your room are not up to par. The room also offered a mini-fridge, which as handy for our drinks.
It was our last day so we had to figure out what to do with our bear spray. We gave it to the concierge who said he gives them out to the hotel guests. TIP: Don't buy the expensive bear spray that can run you upwards of $45...just ask a hotel front desk. You live and learn :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Absolutely satisfied. Everything was outstanding. Great location. Stayed here as part of a tour so I did not have any other choices, but I cannot imagine getting a better place. Great shopping. Just overall one of our best hotel experiences.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Reservation details from Hotels.com were room with "Balcony, Mountain view"
The room had neither. It was at an entrance on the ground floor so the sliding doors did not open for security reasons and it made the room stuffy. They were still showing vacancies so it was not the only available room. The front desk said they did not see the web site information and it not count.

The check in time is very late 4pm, even though check out is the standard 11am.

Room Tip: Lots of other hotels in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The hotel is about a block away from a pedestrian trail along the edge of the river, and about 2 blocks away from the main shopping street. You can follow the river trail about a mile to see the waterfalls. Be forewarned that there are multiple steps up and down near the falls. The hotel also has a pool and Jacuzzi, along with a couple of restaurants. There are other restaurants across the street and more around the corner. The town of Banff is not very big so it is easy to get around on foot.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#13 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.