We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel with Bad Practices” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Banff
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel with Bad Practices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Reservation details from Hotels.com were room with "Balcony, Mountain view"
The room had neither. It was at an entrance on the ground floor so the sliding doors did not open for security reasons and it made the room stuffy. They were still showing vacancies so it was not the only available room. The front desk said they did not see the web site information and it not count.

The check in time is very late 4pm, even though check out is the standard 11am.

Room Tip: Lots of other hotels in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    271
    125
    27
    19
See reviews for
160
242
24
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The hotel is about a block away from a pedestrian trail along the edge of the river, and about 2 blocks away from the main shopping street. You can follow the river trail about a mile to see the waterfalls. Be forewarned that there are multiple steps up and down near the falls. The hotel also has a pool and Jacuzzi, along with a couple of restaurants. There are other restaurants across the street and more around the corner. The town of Banff is not very big so it is easy to get around on foot.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel has a great location. Quiet (a couple of blocks off main street) yet close to downtown shopping. Our room was spacious and had a small balcony from which we could see the mountains. The room was clean and comfortable. The fridge was under the 2nd vanity which was a bit odd but at least it was cold!! We walked to our breakfast and dinner locations and had a beautiful walk along the paved path next to the river!! Underground parking and a few surface spots for larger SUV's. Melissas for breakfast was across the street!! Well worth the stop!!

Room Tip: Mountain View rooms are nice but they would likely all be west facing which is hotter. I don't b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Pro
-good location, 2 blocks from Banff Ave
-friendly valet and front desk staff, readily offered directions
-large room and LCD TV
-underground parking lot has lots of space
-competitive room rates
-2 sinks

Con
-1970's wash room
-dark room, lack of lighting
-soft bed

Not sure if I'll stay again, probably try a hotel with updated rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I have stayed in Banff many times over the years at various hotels. I rarely write a review because through my experience most of the hotels are over-priced basic three star (sometimes four star) accommodations with some amenities (pool etc) thrown in. I pick the hotel with the best deal and I have rarely been disappointed.

We stayed at this hotel for two nights (Sunday to Tuesday) in June. I had previously booked their sister hotel The Homestead Inn but found a deal for $60.00 more at this hotel. When I compared the two I thought I lucked out.

When we arrived I was told that parking was $10.00 a night. I was already paying $370.00 for two nights so I was not happy about having to pay to park underground in the summer. One of the ladies mentioned the lot next door but since we arrived in the early afternoon I was unable to find parking.

We walked into an above average sized room. It had two queen size beds a large dresser with plenty of drawers and a table with two sofa chairs. It also had TWO vanities a large closet, a large flat screen TV, fridge, coffee pot AND kettle. My boys enjoyed the pool and sauna while I unpacked. I was pleased until.....

Now there are a few things I require to fulfill my basic needs when staying in Banff as I am rarely in my room. Since few hotels in Banff have A/C this isn't one of them. Unfortunately, this hotel fell short on MY basic requirements.

We were given a room on the main floor at the back of the hotel with the view of a roof of a house. Not surprising since we got "a deal". However, you can't sit in the courtyard because they have no chairs! I looked up and noticed the balconies were empty as well. One of the things I enjoy when I am in my room is sitting on the patio/balcony in the morning sipping a coffee and doing the same at night with a glass of wine or tea. Not this time.

I have come to expect no A/C in the rooms. And although it can get very warm in the room in the summer, we compromise by having a fan and leaving the patio door open. Not this time. There was a notice on the patio door stating to keep it locked for safety reasons. The screen didn't even have a lock. Needless to say the (loud) fan was insufficient for a comfortable sleep.

I enjoy a LONG hot shower after a great day of hiking. Not this time. The shower head in the tub was shorter than me! (I am 5'6") I had to crank my head back or bend over to get my hair wet. Again, not a big thing but not very relaxing!

I rarely watch TV in my room except for first thing in the morning and right before sleep. The beautiful flat screen TV had 51 channels. 10 of the channels didn't work at all (blurry/fuzzy). Many of the other channels worked and then after a few minutes fizzed out.

For most I am sure this hotel would be sufficient. For me however, at $390 I was quite disappointed in this "4 star" hotel. I will never return.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony. You won't have patio chairs but at least you can leave the patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed for two nights while on a tour of the Canadian Rockies. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Our room was also quiet. The hotel is situated a short walk to all the shops and restaurants. They have a restaurant where we had a great breakfast Buffet. In the evening my friends and I would go to the bar and have a glass of wine. The bar was quiet and comfortably appointed. Our bartender was alone but efficient and friendly. There are also shops for those that are interested in shopping. It is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Our family stayed here for two nights for vacation. The check-in and checkout was prompt and the staffs were very helpful and accommodating. The location is perfect – it’s just a walk away from the town’s attractions, shopping centers and restaurants. The room was clean and quiet. We also made use of the indoor pool, hot tub and steam bath that was really nice.

We also had a buffet breakfast at The Chinook Family Restaurant and the food was great. Then we had some cocktail drinks at Terrace Lounge one late evening.

The only negative thing in this hotel that I can think of is that they have an extra charge for the parking as well as the Wi-Fi (like seriously???).

Overall, it was an amazing experience and we did enjoy our trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#10 Business Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#12 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.