We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 33 hotels in Banff
calgary
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed at the BPL Mar 14-16, 2014. This is a good hotel centrally located in Banff. Rooms are standard, very clean, quiet and great TV. Pool is really nice. Didn't try any of the restaurants but they always seemed busy. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful whenever we had questions/checking - checkout. Definitely great value for this hotel. Melissa's across the street is great for Breakfast. Free self-park parking at the north side of the hotel. This is limited first come first serve. This hotel is very central close to shopping, dining etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    231
    105
    22
    19
See reviews for
142
201
22
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lloydminster, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stay here quite often and the location is great! Price is pretty fair and the staff is always great very helpful and never had a bad stay there!
The hotel upstairs is amazing!!!!
This is our regular hotel for banff and will always stay there!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Lovely, friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is in an excellent location for the shops and great restaurants on Bear street. The ski bus picks up right at the hotel, which made it very easy to get up to Sunshine, lake Louise and Mt Norquay.
The pool and jacuzzi was lovely. The room was very comfortable, albeit the decor was a bit tired and dull. Overall I had a very pleasant 8 night stay

Room Tip: I had a room looking over Wolf Street, with a beautiful mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We have stayed here numerous time,both with And with kids.
The location is great .you are close to all the restaurants,shopping and night clubs .but you are far enough away from it all that you don't hear any street noise.
The hotel itself is large.the rooms are spacious.the beds are extremely comfortable.with the combination of the fresh mountain air and the wonderful beds,we always sleep like rocks.
The pool at the hotel is very nice. The restaurant serves an excellent breakfast.
Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Our family of four stayed at the Banff Park Lodge in February for a week and we loved everything about the hotel. The rooms are very spacious, huge flat screen tvs, nice furnishings and very clean.

We enjoyed the swimming pool, hot tubs and steam room. The Chinook Restaurant has excellent food - almost everything is made from scratch and you can tell. We really enjoyed the Sunday Brunch!!

The hotel itself is located in a prime location in Banff right in the middle of the town a 5 minute walk from Banff Avenue.

I highly recommend staying at the Banff Park Lodge and we can't wait to return next year!

Room Tip: You can't get a bad room here, the standard rooms are really large and very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

It's Family Day long weekend in February, and my husband and I have chosen to take the kids Skiing in Banff! After looking at the Family Hotels, that are located outside of the downtown core, we have chosen to stay at the Banff Park Lodge which is in the heart of downtown. We've stayed here in the past and we have enjoyed it as a couple. Now travelling with young children, I like to have shopping options nearby.

This time we have opted to rent two rooms instead of one suite. One being a kings sized bed, and the second room attached being a room with two queens. We also obtained a roll in cot for $10/night, which fit nicely in the room with two queens. This hotel has Lodge Suites which is one large room that sleeps six. Though my preference is a wall and some space between me and my kids.

The king size bedroom also has a Jacuzzi tub. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable, though I found the heater a bit loud during the night so I turned the heat off till morning and we only had one minor issue with the tub, being when you pulled up the rod for the shower, a lot of water still drained into the tub. The Jacuzzi was sure nice after a cold day of skiing. Both rooms also came with a coffee maker and an electric kettle and a small fridge. The only thing lacking in the rooms is a microwave oven. Both rooms had large closets which were great to hang jackets and ski pants in to dry. The room with two queens also had a second sink outside the bathroom which was great when the bathroom was occupied for the kids to brush teeth at night.

Our rooms were at the very end of the hotel facing Wolf Street. Across the street was a parking lot, no bars, no hotels and no noise. The only thing we heard occasionally was the whistle of the Canadian Pacific Railway Train, as we were only a few blocks away from the crossing. This did not bother us at all, and I think most of downtown Banff would hear it quite clearly.

With kids you always need something, Banff Park Lodge is one block from Nester's Grocery Store (local grocery store), two blocks away from Safeway (Large grocery chain). One block away from a pharmacy, and my husband broke his glasses and one block away from the optomitrist. Across the street is Shell Gasoline and a convenience store. Also important to note the Tim Horton's Donut shop was only two blocks away, and if you break something skiing, the hospital is a block away.

The hotel is also a full service, the kids enjoyed the swimming pool, hot tub and cooler pool. It is important to note, that the hotel requests the kids swim time to be over at 9pm, to give the adults some time to use the pool. Which I didn't have a problem with that. There were always ample towels to use, and the eucalyptus steam room was really hot. There was a small exercise room, beside the pool which we did not use.

We did use the heated underground parking which was $10.00/day. In February this is really nice to come to a vehicle that is heated, and had all the snow melted off. There is a height restriction of 6 Feet, and our Chevy Avalanche had about two inches to spare! There is even a hose for guest to use to wash their vehicles with to get rid of the dirt. There is even locker service for skis and snowboards, but we chose to keep our equipment locked in the back of the truck. The only thing I wasn't really thrilled about was the $10.00/per 24 hour charge for internet access. Really, is this necessary when most hotels offer it for free??

My son and I ate at the Chinook Restaurant for breakfast, and my husband and I enjoyed a Valentines Dinner at the Terrace Dining Room and another occasion had late night drinks at the Terrace Lounge. All times service was first rate. The hotel also has some small shops such as a convience store, with a large selection of magazines, candy, postal services, and a selection of items which you may have forgotten at home.

We enjoyed being a block off from Banff Avenue, the main street. It was nice quiet, and walking distance to all the bars, restaurants and shops. If you have never been to Banff, be aware that it is a tourist town and prices are inflated here, though I found the Banff Park Lodge to be a good value for our money, and the number of services they offer... and we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

a very central place to stay within walking distance of all the shops, we had a large suite which had more than one could ask for! even a free bottle of wine because it was my birthday! breakfasts were great, the down side, for such a great hotel nickel and diming on charging for the internet! also because we were on a Globus tour our dinner was included one evening, the meal was excellent, choices of what you wanted, but we all had to ask to have coffee served to us! it seemed that since we were on the tour (tipping was included) except for drinks that since we were not paying customers we got the feeling of being second class, that part i did not appreciate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#13 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.