We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 33 hotels in Banff
Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great stay in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife & I traveled to Banff this past weekend for my cousins wedding. The hotel was a perfect location for the wedding as all the guests stayed in the hotel and the wedding/reception took place on the 2nd floor which caters to corporate events/weddings. The rooms were spacious (the beds were very comfy and the showers had strong pressure and hot water). Wireless internet was avaiable but at a fee however given the low price that we paid per night for the hotel if you absolutely need access to wifi it's not a big overall expense. The hotel is located within walking distance to all the boutique shops/pubs/restaurants so it is very conveniently located. Across the street from the hotel is a restaurant (Melissa's Missteak) where we had breakfast each morning...the food was great and the price for a resort community was very reasonable. The hotel charges extra for parking...you can park somewhere on the road however the parking at the hotel is underground (good for the climate/weather) and they offer a free self serve car wash station in the parkade which was a neat touch. We would definitely go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    248
    112
    25
    19
See reviews for
151
216
23
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed at BPL over Christmas. Overall the hotel is very nice and conveniently located just off the main street in the centre of town. This made walking easy and no need to drive. The room was a good size and came with a kingsize bed which was comfortable. Bathroom was standard size and had lots of hot water for showers in the morning. Just outside the bathroom was another sink which was handy. The room came with a large screen tv and lots of dresser and closet space. Parking was available in the underground parkade for a reasonable daily fee. There is a swimming pool and gym facilities but didn't use it although seemed to be used alot by others. There are a couple restaurants as well as a lounge and some shops. The lounge was very nice and went there in the evenings to have drinks and relax after a day of activities. Didn't eat at the restaurants in the hotel so unable to comment. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel could maybe use a little updating but nothing I would complain about. It was also decorated very nice for Christmas. Bus service for the skiers came right to the hotel.

I have stayed at the BPL a couple times and would recommend it. The price is reasonable, rooms are nice, and the location is very convenient. I got a real good rate looking on-line. A great restaurant across the street for breakfast is called Melissa's Missteak. Excellent breakfasts for best prices I seen anywhere.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I've stayed here several times over the years and always enjoy it. Comfortable beds and nice rooms. The restaurants are quite expensive, but good. For me the best features are the underground parking with car wash station, the location, as it's well located for walking to shops and trails, and the friendliness of the staff. I'll be back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

for the most part the hotel was great. washroom amenities aren't much. internet you pay extra robes you pay extra. rooms were nice, washroom small. cleaning their timing is not the greatest. we were gone all day came back at 3;30pm the room was just starting to be cleaned. I went to lounge and came back at 5 cleaning was complete. the rooms are noisy. we really enjoyed the restaurants, but pricy, gift shop is very nice. the front desk was very helpful. we had trouble with our keys. I met one of the front desk staff in the hallway he came right up. he called for a second person with a master key he wasn't friendly. then we got a maintenance man to repair door. his name was Michael Gibson. he was very helpful, the door repaired promptly. my wife even spilled a bottle of water on her coat he took it and dried it. I enjoyed this hotel over some of supposedly fancier hotels we have stayed at in Banff.

Room Tip: I would up grad room and go for west side room for mountain view. Sunday brunch is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Have stayed here a few times and it is good value. Stayed in a room with 2 queens and the rooms are very spacious, comfy beds and pillows, extra sink outside the bathroom which is very handy, great location, and staff were very gracious and helpful. Close to downtown, so you can park your car and walk everywhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

It's a great facility for a corporate Xmas party. It's got a fabulous buffet brunch on Sunday with a great view of the mountains. The food is excellent and so is the service. The rooms are average with a lovely balcony to view the mountains. The fitness facility is only treadmill and bikes but the steam room and hot tub and pool is great. The change rooms are great!

Room Tip: ask for 2nd or 3rd floor and a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Overall this is a reasonable choice for a banff hotel, but a mix of pros and cons based on 2 stays:

Good Points:
1. Spacious, large rooms with extra sink outside of bathroom and small fridge;
2. Comfy beds;
3. Quiet rooms;
4. Good location, park the car and walk to dinner (try Coyotes for kicked up southwest food);
5. Tasty buffet breakfast (for a cost) with great views.

Weak Points:
1. Mix up with room package vouchers (first time they gave only 1 breakfast voucher and 2nd time were missing ski vouchers) so give vouchers good look and expect delays if mix-ups;
2. The first stay my wife and I had planned a romantic weekend and said it was important to have a king bed. Instead 2 queens and no ability to change (they said it was a request only). Other hotels allow you to book type of bed so there is no surprise;
3. Bathroom dated.

On balance worth staying if price is reasonable.

Room Tip: Request a room with view and check in before 3 to have better room choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.