We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Have stayed here a few times and it is good value. Stayed in a room with 2 queens and the rooms are very spacious, comfy beds and pillows, extra sink outside the bathroom which is very handy, great location, and staff were very gracious and helpful. Close to downtown, so you can park your car and walk everywhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    273
    125
    28
    19
See reviews for
162
243
24
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

It's a great facility for a corporate Xmas party. It's got a fabulous buffet brunch on Sunday with a great view of the mountains. The food is excellent and so is the service. The rooms are average with a lovely balcony to view the mountains. The fitness facility is only treadmill and bikes but the steam room and hot tub and pool is great. The change rooms are great!

Room Tip: ask for 2nd or 3rd floor and a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Overall this is a reasonable choice for a banff hotel, but a mix of pros and cons based on 2 stays:

Good Points:
1. Spacious, large rooms with extra sink outside of bathroom and small fridge;
2. Comfy beds;
3. Quiet rooms;
4. Good location, park the car and walk to dinner (try Coyotes for kicked up southwest food);
5. Tasty buffet breakfast (for a cost) with great views.

Weak Points:
1. Mix up with room package vouchers (first time they gave only 1 breakfast voucher and 2nd time were missing ski vouchers) so give vouchers good look and expect delays if mix-ups;
2. The first stay my wife and I had planned a romantic weekend and said it was important to have a king bed. Instead 2 queens and no ability to change (they said it was a request only). Other hotels allow you to book type of bed so there is no surprise;
3. Bathroom dated.

On balance worth staying if price is reasonable.

Room Tip: Request a room with view and check in before 3 to have better room choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at the BPL over the New Year holiday and we dined at the Breakfast Buffet and we absolutely loved it! The food was hot, fresh, tasty and the variety of choices was amazing! The buffet was quite busy and the Chef and cooks attended to the buffet very frequently and kept refreshing the food.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Banff Park Lodge Resort for a couple of nights in November 2013, whilst we were touring in the area. I would say that the hotel's prime feature is its excellent location, on a quiet street just a couple of minutes walk from the interesting end of Banff Avenue (assuming of course that you're keen to stay in a very centrally located hotel).

The hotel has a massive underground car park, which is very handy for thawing out your car in the winter. However, the entrance is only 6'1" (180cm), so if you turn up in something a bit oversized, you might struggle to get in. Our rental GMC Yukon XL wouldn't quite fit. The hotel also has about a dozen outdoor spaces (in the alley round the back of the hotel), but these fill up quickly.

The hotel is quite large, so I can imagine that it can get a bit hectic in the summer, but in November it was pretty quiet, so we had a lovely, relaxing stay. We booked a standard room, which was clean and spacious and pretty much exactly what you'd expect of this grade of hotel. There's also a nice swimming pool.

The breakfast buffet was very good. The main restaurant in the hotel is also one of the highest rated Banff restaurants on Trip Advisor (at the time of writing), although we didn't get the chance to try it ourselves.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay in the Banff Park Lodge Resort and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again (although we'll try to turn up in a slightly smaller rental car next time).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights over Christmas this year and had a great experience. On our arrival the reception and concierge were helpful and courteous and we were quickly in our room. Our room was large, warm, comfortable and had everything in it we required ie kettle, fridge, safe and hair dryer. The beds are very soft and a nice pillow choice. The only minus point to me was the bedding as I do not like using the top shiny bed covers as they are not changed with every new client...often wonder how many times they are changed and washed (not just this hotel). Therefore all that was left to use was the sheet which wasn't really adequate. However this would not detract me from staying here again.
We only had breakfast in the hotel twice as we wanted to be up, out and skiing and not sat around having a long breakfast. Both times we ate there was a good choice of food, nicely presented, hot and tasty. We ate in the restaurant once, as there are so many nice restaurants in Banff to try. Again the food was good and fairly reasonably priced.
We used the pool area most nights and the facilities are fine. What needs to change is the people who use it. Parents really need to take responsibility for their kids and not let them use it like a play area, shouting, screaming, running in and out of the steam room and not taking into consideration the other people using the facilities. Also lots of babies in the hottest pool area (which shouldn't really be allowed) and none of them were wearing swim nappies etc..even though it was clearly stipulated on the signs.
All the staff we dealt with were helpful and informative but the guys who stood out were the concierge staff..Robin, Luke, Aaron and the others who's names I have forgotten.
A few suggestions that would make the hotel even better - a heated boot room to dry ski boots as the heaters in the rooms are not really suitable. A pool table or a small games room have encouraged us and maybe more families to stay in the hotel (or come back earlier) on an evening as there is nothing really for kids to do.
Overall we had a lovely stay and will look forward to returning next time we go to Banff.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed at the BPL from Dec23-Dec28,2013. It is a very convenient location to all the major restaurants, attracations, coffee shops. Walking distance to the banff springs, bow falls(15min), cave and basin (20minutes).
Has two restaurants. Ate only at the Terrace for Xmas. Excellent food. Internet is $10 per day. We only used it for the first day. After that did not use it. Found it very slow and has a limit of two devices that can be connected.
Carpets are old. Need to be replaced.
Can't beat this location though. We were on the 3rd floor (the highest floor) and had the view of the mountaints from the back of the room.
The phones in the room were on the table besides the tv. Phones should be next to one of the side tables.
We had booked this hotel with a package with Expedia. Will pick the place again to stay.
Would recommend it.
Thanks

Room Tip: If you want a view of the mountains, make sure you do ask for it. we stayed in room 343. we had a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#13 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.