We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and servicable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 hotels in Banff
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Clean and servicable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Nice hotel. All the rooms have balconys. Big rooms with amentiies such as coffee machines , two sinks and refrigerators. Smallish, older bathrooms. The Terrace dining room was spectacular! Alot of people in the bar area. Clean. Good location. Not the Banff SPrings Hotel though, but you aren't paying those prices either. Nice spa and fitness area with nice size indoor pool and jacuzzi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    224
    105
    22
    18
See reviews for
139
198
22
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed just 1 night here but wish we had stayed longer. The hotel is nothing fancy from the outside but boy you walk inside and it starts to look 5 star. Immaculate pool and spa area, great restaurants and bar lounge (also serving meals). Staff from reception/check-in to the barman were so down to earth and friendly. Rooms are VERY spacious, beds very comfortable and all a short walk to the main street of town. Great value and great place to stay. I'd go back to Banff just to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter compared to those on Lynx street which can get some traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

If your looking for a nice and affordable place to stay, try the Banff Park Lodge. The Hotel is near the river on the edge of town, which makes it within walking distance of all the restaurants, bars and shops in town.
The hotel is spotless, the rooms were immaculate, the staff was friendly and helpful.
Ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel restaurant and had the breakfast buffet which was OK, nothing to write home about but dinner was very good.
This is not a 5 star hotel but it's a safe bet, I don't think you could go wrong booking here. It's seems like a good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at the Banff Park Lodge for 5 nights in August. The hotel is really nice and staff are pleasant, and helpful Our room was large and clean, we had a balcony, but there are no chairs on the balcony to sit on,so that was a real shame.
We took the Bed & Breakfast deal, but wish we hadn't, the so called hot breakfast was always cool, and no variety, maybe some grilled tomatoes or mushrooms would have been nice change.
We did actually have a meal at the bar one evening and that was excellent.
On saying all this we did enjoy our stay at the Lodge and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Priceline sells this hotel as a 4*. Hotwire sells it as a 3*. Other sites are likely variable too. If we had bought it as a 4*, we'd have been disappointed, because, it's just not that nice. We didn't. Very solid, dated 3*. The advertised/published rate was about $110. Compared to other pricing in Banff, the Banff Park Lodge seems like a terrific deal. The location is excellent, just on the edge of the core downtown. The rooms are decent-sized, and ours was clean. It is a bit of a trip back in time (mirrored wet bar/sink feature in the room), but so what - it's a very good price. Every time we met staff in a hallway, they were resolutely friendly.
The annoying thing is that hotel apparently fills its room through tour companies and discount sites, so it makes its money by nickle-and-diming. Need to park a car? That's $10. Want WIFI? That's $10. etc. Still good value, but not as good as it may seem initially.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I recently had a conference that was supposed to take place at Banff park lodge. The problem is, The Day my Flight arrived was the same day that Calgary Flooded. I found an alternate root to get to Banff. but because of the flooding and land slides it took me three days to get from Calgary to Banff. The hotel staff was very helpful in canceling my reservations each day until I had arrived. Once I had arrived the hotel was very nice and the staff very friendly, they assisted me with every need way above expectations. At the end of my stay they assisted me in getting a refund from Book-it .com for a hotel that I had booked in another city. I spent the remainder of my trip hiking and camping. Banff Park lodge made a bad situation with the flooding a most pleasant and memorable trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This property has to be the best value in Banff. It is ideally located just off Banff Avenue yet close to all the shops and restaurants. The room was spacious and clean with a comfortable bed ensuring a good night's rest. An excellent buffet breakfast was included in the tarriff. When I next visit Banff this will be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.