We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, secure parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 33 hotels in Banff
uk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good hotel, secure parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We overnighted at BPLR, which overall I would give three to fours stars. Well situated central location. Value for money was fair, rooms rather sparten (eg no desk or terrace furnature) the terrace restaurant was very good. The underground parking ($10/night) was easlily accessible with luggage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    248
    112
    25
    19
See reviews for
151
216
23
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very pleasant hotel, stayed here a few times now with the latest a business trip. Very comfortable, though a little dated. Good facilities and the breakfast is excellent, much better than across the street where I have been going for years. Parking is a little awkward but with an underground heated area still very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We would gladly return here as a base for exploring the area again. We liked the convenience of having a short walk to restaurants, two different grocery stores, or shops. A block away in the other direction took us to a walkway along the river. Our room was very comfortable with a table and chairs in a corner of the bedroom alongside the sliding glass door. The small balcony had a somewhat obstructed view of the mountains but was missing any chairs. The bathroom had a large counter and there was a separate sink area outside the bathroom area. The breakfast buffet had extensive options with three separate food stations. All the staff we spoke with at the desk and in the restaurant were friendly, helpful, and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

we have just returned from the Banff park lodge, and were disappointed in it and what they have done. I have stayed there 2 times before, and this was not the level I was used to. First they have started charging for the underground parking 9.50 a night. you have no unlimited wifi access it is $10.00 for 24 hr/s access code when it works. The shower fixtures were upgraded and it is very hard to get regulated temperature and pressure, my wife almost burned herself. We ordered room service and and the order came wrong after waiting 1hr. My wife using the pool the complimentary towels that were supplied got one with a blood stain on it it was clean. At check out my wife was told they couldn't split the credit card in to 2 separate transactions on the same card, the manager had to step in on that one and she did accommodate us ( it is just how our point system works ) . they do need to upgrade there beds as the queens look just like re branded double bed my daughters bed was bigger at home and it is a queen.

now to be fair the dinner supervisor did comp our meal and re cook it. and had it to us in 20 min but my 3yr daughter was starving by then. and after my wife had a discussion with the manager the wifi was given to us and the parking was taken off. so they did make it right.
If I am paying 300 a night taxes included, my service level expectation is going to be higher and it wasn't meet till we had to talk to management.

I feel a hotel with this standard need to keep up with the times and give a little more if they are going to up the price and the service level deteriorates.

positive side the food is still excellent and there location is still the best for access to the downtown and walking. tip the shepherds pie is very good.

I think we will be staying at another hotel like the rim rock next time as I can get the hotel for the same price and have heard very good things about it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Mexico
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our family just loves the Banff Park Lodge!! We park and walk to all the great shops and restaurants. Large, clean and very comfortable room with fridge, wifi and gorgeous mountain view. Secure underground parking, complimentary umbrellas for the occasional rain, lovely hanging flower baskets. Very nice front desk staff and wonderful reservation agent Olga who helped me fix my reservation mistake. Not the newest, but still our favourite in Banff. See you on our next trip!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The hotel was quite clean & spacious. Enjoyed the breakfast on both days. Close to all the shopping areas & the mall. The staff was quite friendly. Easy to walk to restaurants at night. Easy to get taxi from the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Only a block from Banff Ave, the main street for eating and shopping, so it was easy to go out for a few drinks at night without worrying about driving back to the hotel. Great home base for multiple hikes, and visits to Lake Louise, the Upper Hot Springs and Canmore. The room was clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was outdated but clean. There was some noise from the hallway at times but it was quiet at night. There was a kettle, coffee maker and fridge in the room, which was useful. My biggest annoyance with this place was the parking situation. I was aware from previous reviews that there was paid underground parking, but that street parking could easily be found for free. When I asked the front desk clerk, she refused to guide us to the free street parking, stating that it was for RVs. Luckily, we found the parking lot right beside the hotel ourselves and enjoyed our 2 night stay without any extra parking fees!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.