We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positively Consistent!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Banff
calgary
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Positively Consistent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Having had numerous conventions at this hotel should indicate the
reputation the Banff Park Lodge commands! Location is critical, as it
lends itself available to all walking destinations downtown. Front desk
staff have always been cordial--overall staff very co-operative.
Cozy bar area, and the fascilities for weddings and conferences are
ideal. A very family friendly accommodation.
Overall presentation of food is above average , however, careful with
room service---they tend to close before designated times allocated.
Parking is extra, but is underground and convenient.
This resort will not disappoint.

Room Tip: sunny side---#334
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    273
    125
    28
    19
See reviews for
162
243
24
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Nice location, convenient for walking nice lounge but disappointed that thy cheaper out and charged for parking and Internet. They should include it in the price as most people drive there! Where are you supposed to put your car?

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this hotel. After checking in with a friendly and helpful Aussie, we went to our room... it smelt of smoke.. so we advised reception and they sent up a humidifier whilst we went to dinner. Whilst heading out of the hotel we briefly stopped to check the hotels bar and restaurant menu... had it not been for the awesome bar guy, who came over and chatted to us, we would have headed into town for dinner.. we sat near the warm fire. Comfy chairs and it was reasonably quiet beings it was low season. We enjoyed a few mixed drinks.. long island teas.. and ordered from the bar menu.. well.. wow wee... it was fabulous I had the beef & guiness pie.. lovely... really tasty down to the last mouthul. service was fantastic, coffee was nice, drinks were well supplied... shame this chappy wasn't the usual bar staff and was in to help.

We had such a great first night, we decided to do it again.. disappointing.. the bar staff guy from the night before who was a stand in, was replaced by the usual bar staff.. a fellow Aussie.. no clue... he was chatting at th ebar and missed us, when we finally got a drink, he didn;t even ask if we wanted food... and we did!.. he didn;t check on us.. so we drank our drinks and headed into town for a bite to eat.. very different experience.

The room.. once cleared of smoke smell.. it was quite large. We use the spa bath.. big enough for 3 people easily... nice and deep and relaxing. The bathroom and powder area was sufficient and well stoked and re stoked. The towels were a little harsh on the skin.. I've certainly had much much better towels elsewhere...but there were plenty of them. The coffee machine in the room worked well and the coffee suplied whilst really tasty, was not sufficient.. one 1 packet provided.

The bed.. huge.. nice and big for a change.. and there is a pillow service too. I wish I had of checked this first as the pillows supplied were too hard for me and hurt my neck.. I ended up throwing them on the floor. The room was big and it was quiet.. again, perhaps because it was low season.

We also used the underground car park - extra charge - but the car is safe and warm and no cleaning of frost/snow each time we wanted to use it. We also used their wifi - extra charge - not included.

Location is very convenient.. one big block from the river and a liquor store is near by. The hotel is also opposite a food store.

Check out was very quick.


I woud definately stay again.



The bed...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed at the hotel during the weekend had a great stay, really enjoyed the hot tub & steam room. Only complaint was our sunday breakfast package had to be used by 9:00am would of liked to sleep in but food was good so it made up for that.
Will be staying here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Was at this hotel for a conference. When we arrived we discovered that our check in date wasn't for another 3 days. I explained that the conference started right away. The front desk agent told me that there wasn't much he could do since it was my fault that I didn't double check my reservation. I wasn't blaming him for this situation but it would have been nice to have him try to solve the issue instead of just staring at me. Poor service. Rooms are dated but clean.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I tagged along to help with a conference being held at the Banff Park Lodge. The rooms for the meet and greet and meetings were perfect. There was tons of space and everything ran smoothly. Staff was attentive and their attention to detail was impeccable! They were very understanding with some of our last minute changes and helpful all around. We called the front desk for a cork screw, and they showed up with not only the cork screw but also wine glasses for us! Sunday buffet brunch was delicious, with so many options. The pool area was very inviting and relaxing (though the door on the steam room needs a better seal).
Overall, everyone with the conference was very impressed and pleased. Our mini-vacation being tacked on was also a great decision. We will definitely be going back and staying here in the future!

Room Tip: New bathroom was great! (though, the floor got soaked!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We are a couple who have been staying in the Banff Park Lodge at least once every ski season for the past 5+ years. We last visited in Jan 2013.

In common with many hotels in Banff, the rooms lag competitive modern standards of décor found outside of the national park (where the supply of hotel accommodation is effectively capped) especially the quite antiquated bathroom. However, they are spotlessly cleaned and maintained have seen a recent upgrade with new large flat LCD TVs updates to some room fixtures and furnishings. All of the modern comforts are available. Wifi is available but the reception for cellphone data plans (ours was with Telus) is good enough for regular browsing, mailing and file transfer.

The common parts of the hotel are spacious with pleasing décor and a pleasant open layout. The bar and lounge provide a very relaxing and luxurious area to unwind.

The staff are experienced, friendly and helpful. My partner needed to study during our stay and so a table and chair were added to our room.

It's location is perhaps the hotel's biggest asset. It's adjacent to a quieter central area of town near the river. Many rooms back on to a quieter areas adjacent to the river (although they are not directly riverside) and have spectacular views of the surrounding mountains from the balconies. There is ample indoor and outdoor reserved parking which is useful if you are driving an oversize vehicle.

Whilst the hotel is in a quieter area, it is only a couple of small blocks away from the centre of Banff with it's many bars restaurants and shops. It is directly opposite Melisa's restaurant which is one of the best value independent restaurants in Banff.

The hotel's smart Terrace restaurant is excellent as is the lobby bar. The breakfast buffet is good and the upstairs restaurant has nice views of the surrounding mountains to enjoy over your morning breakfast.

A couple of years ago, the hotel completely refurbished its modest sized swimming pool, hot tub and fitness/spa area to bring it in line with contemporary design. The lobby has a few shops with some interesting items such as gifts, maps and a good selection of books relating to the local area.

The ski packages are exceptional value. It would be very difficult for a 1-2 week visitor to find or build a better package deal with tri-area lift tickets and similar accommodation. The ski bus stops outside the lobby.

There are a few fancier and more expensive places in Banff. But if you are looking for high quality, excellent value and a great location, this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back of the hotel to minimize noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#13 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.