We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Customer service?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Was at this hotel for a conference. When we arrived we discovered that our check in date wasn't for another 3 days. I explained that the conference started right away. The front desk agent told me that there wasn't much he could do since it was my fault that I didn't double check my reservation. I wasn't blaming him for this situation but it would have been nice to have him try to solve the issue instead of just staring at me. Poor service. Rooms are dated but clean.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    262
    115
    27
    19
See reviews for
155
230
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I tagged along to help with a conference being held at the Banff Park Lodge. The rooms for the meet and greet and meetings were perfect. There was tons of space and everything ran smoothly. Staff was attentive and their attention to detail was impeccable! They were very understanding with some of our last minute changes and helpful all around. We called the front desk for a cork screw, and they showed up with not only the cork screw but also wine glasses for us! Sunday buffet brunch was delicious, with so many options. The pool area was very inviting and relaxing (though the door on the steam room needs a better seal).
Overall, everyone with the conference was very impressed and pleased. Our mini-vacation being tacked on was also a great decision. We will definitely be going back and staying here in the future!

Room Tip: New bathroom was great! (though, the floor got soaked!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We are a couple who have been staying in the Banff Park Lodge at least once every ski season for the past 5+ years. We last visited in Jan 2013.

In common with many hotels in Banff, the rooms lag competitive modern standards of décor found outside of the national park (where the supply of hotel accommodation is effectively capped) especially the quite antiquated bathroom. However, they are spotlessly cleaned and maintained have seen a recent upgrade with new large flat LCD TVs updates to some room fixtures and furnishings. All of the modern comforts are available. Wifi is available but the reception for cellphone data plans (ours was with Telus) is good enough for regular browsing, mailing and file transfer.

The common parts of the hotel are spacious with pleasing décor and a pleasant open layout. The bar and lounge provide a very relaxing and luxurious area to unwind.

The staff are experienced, friendly and helpful. My partner needed to study during our stay and so a table and chair were added to our room.

It's location is perhaps the hotel's biggest asset. It's adjacent to a quieter central area of town near the river. Many rooms back on to a quieter areas adjacent to the river (although they are not directly riverside) and have spectacular views of the surrounding mountains from the balconies. There is ample indoor and outdoor reserved parking which is useful if you are driving an oversize vehicle.

Whilst the hotel is in a quieter area, it is only a couple of small blocks away from the centre of Banff with it's many bars restaurants and shops. It is directly opposite Melisa's restaurant which is one of the best value independent restaurants in Banff.

The hotel's smart Terrace restaurant is excellent as is the lobby bar. The breakfast buffet is good and the upstairs restaurant has nice views of the surrounding mountains to enjoy over your morning breakfast.

A couple of years ago, the hotel completely refurbished its modest sized swimming pool, hot tub and fitness/spa area to bring it in line with contemporary design. The lobby has a few shops with some interesting items such as gifts, maps and a good selection of books relating to the local area.

The ski packages are exceptional value. It would be very difficult for a 1-2 week visitor to find or build a better package deal with tri-area lift tickets and similar accommodation. The ski bus stops outside the lobby.

There are a few fancier and more expensive places in Banff. But if you are looking for high quality, excellent value and a great location, this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back of the hotel to minimize noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights to have a quiet family bonding. As we just arrived, hubby needs internet and wanted to play a PS3 but for a hunchback TV for superior room? no way! We were surprise that you have to pay for the internet every 24 hours for $10 and another $15 for the microwave ( I have a kid so we need to heat up some food for him) and the weather that time is so cold so another $9/night for heated parking.

It is sad that you have to pay for everything add-ons, knowing that other hotels is giving that for free with no-charge at all and with free breakfast.

Pros: The swimming pool, sauna is nice and clean just too much chlorine that makes your skin so itchy after. The restaurant is classy and their pianist is amazing!

Conclusion: We'll try something else next time!

Room Tip: ask them for the nicer view.... room 372 and up on that section is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battleford, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have stayed here a few times because if the proximity to downtown Banff. The hotel is clean, rooms are clean. Good beds. Not like sleeping on a slab of wood. Very quiet. Front desk staff are wonderful and friendly. Would stay again and again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have been staying here for over 20 years and mixed other buildings in even the Banff Springs but always we return here for value and location. Are there more luxurious places in Banff - yep. But not many that are as professionally run and consistant in service and quality. The breakfast buffet is excellent value and when they open the theme buffet bring your cowboy boots and wagon sized appetite - it's great.

Room Tip: The suites are worth the extra as a treat - really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed at Banff Park Lodge for three nights to go sking at Louise and Sunshine.
Arrived Christmas Day with a fifty dollar plate buffet, didn't go as menu showed nothing worth fifty dollars, wet to Tim's instead.
Room was good size with two queen beds, clean and well kept. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Access to hotel from street was limited either front door or key card into underground garage at back either way long walk to room. There were doors closser to our room but couldn't access them from outside, they need to add card access to these doors.
Parking is mostly underground so if you have a vehicle over six feet high otherwise you park in the back along the building into the alley and as you go down the line the length of your vehicle needs to decrease, so small cars parked in long spots leaving trucks no place to park except to block alley. Very limited outside parking. Vehicles that could easily park underground were taking up spots at outside parking. Fortunately there is 12 hour free parking across the street, but it fills up quick at night as trucks etc can't pak at hotel.
Went to the Banff hot springs, nice, clean.
No free internet.
Good location to walk main drag ans shop

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.