We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Banff so far” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Tucson
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The best in Banff so far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have stayed in BPL with my family skiing on the Christmas break for perhaps 5 of the last 12 years. Its prices are on a par with other hotels in Banff, but you get a better quality stay for your money. It is a traditional style of hotel which gives it a classier feel than some of the others. The location is great, it is a very short walk to the town center with its restaurants, shops and pubs, but it has the tranquility of being off Banff Avenue. It tends to be the last point of pick up and first point of drop off of the buses to the ski areas, which is very pleasant indeed.

BPL has always had very good service at the front desk and the concierge, Robin, is truly excellent - widely traveled, efficient, helpful, cheerful. BPL's problem areas when we first started to stay there were the provision of food and drink, and the indoor pool and spa facilities. The first seemed too expensive, and the second slightly dingy. Both these have been worked on in the last decade.

The bar and bar food (which was really good this time, despite one night when the heavily overworked waiter was run off his feet and a little fragile) have made their prices much more competitive. Efforts have been made to make the family restaurant upstairs more attractive as well, but unfortunately the one meal we had there was very poor. My wife's garlic bread was burned black on the underside and needed very strong teeth to bite through. The veggie option, my vegetable curry, was a lot of vegetables like onions and carrots in large pieces basted in a weak dry curry sauce - not much fun to eat though the basmati rice was good. The source of the food is the same, so I wonder what happened. We have never ventured into the upscale restaurant at the back.

As to the pool area, it was thoroughly renovated and redesigned a few years back, and is very attractive now, with a nice pair of stylish locker rooms, with a shower, a good steam room, two spas one hot and one warm and the swimming pool, with some artistic designs on the wall and a lot of wood. There seems always to be a problem with badly brought-up out of control children in international hotels nowadays, but the management has tried to deal with this in relation to the pool by saying kids out of the area at 9 pm, which was welcome. I really appreciate it when hotel management tries to find solutions to such issues.

Just a small cavil. The bed covers were blankets inserted into covers. We were all cold at night and had to ask for more blankets. The material of the covers was very slippery, and invariably they fell off the bed by 3 am. I personally dislike having hot dry air blowing full blast all night as the only way to keep warm, for its dehydrating effects. There should be a solution to this problem.

We have tried various hotels in Banff, but always come back the Park Lodge, for despite the occasional issue as mentioned above, the service is excellent, the appearance is welcoming, the rooms are large, the location is very convenient, and the management is obviously doing its best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    257
    115
    25
    19
See reviews for
155
226
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and they were all fantastic. The concierge and front desk went out of their way to help and resolve any request. Will definitely stay at this hotel again the next time I am in banff. Was right downtown so you could walk anywhere and yet still had a gorgeous view

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed at The Lodge on my second night in Banff. First night stayed at another hotel in-town that offered free internet, free parking, and free breakfast. Banff Park Lodge charges for all these. The room is nice but the pillows were uncomfortable. The pool was crowded all the time with noisy kids who dove into the pool and splashed everywhere. Perhaps a “no diving” sign would help. Only time the pool area was relaxing, was after 9 PM (when it is reserved for adults). Compared to the last time I stayed at the Banff Park Lodge, this was a step down.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was attending a conference at the hotel. The conference had a problem with some speaker rooms but the hotel staff worked extremely hard to clear the problem before the delegates arrived. The delegates were providing the committee with constant comments about the great location, the superb service supplied by the staff and the great Christmas decorations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The first thing we noticed after checking in was that the jacuzzi tub had a few short curly hairs in it and a film covering the entire lining. The front desk staff were extremely apologetic and sent someone up immediately to clean it. Upon returning to our room later that evening our tub was sparkling clean and all was forgiven; until the next morning. When making coffee i find the coffee machine had also not been cleaned. After cleaning the old coffee out of my pot and filter I enter the shower only to discover that it too had been missed by our housekeeper, only having the door get a quick wipe down missing the actual shower inside. Recieving the room from a discount site for cheap we didn't bother complianing, plus i had already cleaned the coffee machine and washed the hair from the shower. Other then the poor housekeeping, the staff was friendly and informative. The loacation was great, we were walking distance from everything and the jacuzzi was the perfect end to a long cold day. In the end the cons evened out the pros making the hotel only OK and definitely not worth full price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olds, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just got home from an overnighter at the Banff Park Lodge! I cannot say enough about the staff that we encountered on our short stay. We were performing at a Christmas party and showed up with a 5 ton truck, which we were able to park right at the front entrance and had 2 very enthusiastic young men from the concierge desk eager to help us load our gear to the banquet room, located on the second floor! Above and beyond the call of duty, for sure!!
When checking in to our room, we had a lovely young girl from Glasgow, Scotland, (sorry I'm terrible at names!!), but she was fantastic, friendly and efficient!
From the load in to set up, to playing the party, to dinner and brunch, it was a great stay. Wish we could have stayed longer! :)
The room was fine. A little outdated, but who cares?? I was happy to have a getaway to Banff, and have a comfortable place to rest before driving back home!!
Well done! You should be proud of your great staff!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a real ski type chalet hotel place. I can image if you are a skier (I am not) this is a great venue. The location is fabulous, everything is in walking distance and the staff were great.

As is my theme the bed was great, the hotel was clean and the service was excellent.

Had a great pool (but i did not try it out) which lots of people seemed to enjoy.

Again another one to stay at if I make it to Banff again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.