We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome restaurant and bar - rooms need upgrading” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome restaurant and bar - rooms need upgrading”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We went with friends to Banff Park Lodge for a one night getaway on November 11, 2012. Because we checked in early, we went to the lounge to watch a quarter final football game. The bartender was great and the desk staff let us know when our room was ready. The hotel is quite large, but is in desperate need of an upgrade. The colors and furniture are quite outdated and tired looking for a hotel of this calibre. The bathroom/shower area was especially run down and there were water stains on the walls and mildew stains in the tile. We booked into the restaurant for a 5 course dinner with wine pairing. WOW!!! The food was spectacular and the chef came out to chat with us. I can't recommend the restaurant enough.

So, my final opinion? Hotel is great, restaurant is 5 star top notch, rooms are meh...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    262
    116
    27
    19
See reviews for
156
231
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband had a conference to attend to, so I decided to tag along. My job allows me to work from pretty much anywhere, so I packed along my work. The hotel was very clean, and staff hospitable. The pool area was amazing, one of the best! The room was big, with plenty of space for me to spread my work around. The location was great too, easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

BPL was a perfect place to stay for a weekend in Banff. Great location and access to restaurants and bars, nice spacious room and good customer service. Pool area looks like it has all been renovated and it was beautiful as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, LA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here in Sept of 2012. We loved our stay. The room was very nice and clean. The location was excellent. We were able to walk to all of the local shops. We had a balcony overlooking the front street and mountains. All of the attendants were extremely helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel and most definitely stay there again. We loved Banff and the whole experience there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I totally enjoyed our stay in the Banff Park Lodge (even though we got locked out on the balcony and after yelling for help for 45 minutes the cleaning staff below happened to hear us and came to let us in...must say was starting to get a little scary but it all worked out). The beds and pillows were amazing,the room was very nice and we loved the saunas and pools. Overall, had a very pleasant experience and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rm.207 which was on the west side of the hotel facing the river, trees and mtns. Would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

we stayed here in oct over the thanksgiving weekend
.arrangements had been made month before

TO BE AWARE OF

as others have stated.

. old rooms, old tv , no free cont bfkt, no free parking

PICKED THIS HOTEL

LOCATION ..

... one hotel..sister hotel the BOW VIEW .. from bow river pathways..

wanted hotel closer to river ..shopping ,,restaurants still close distance

stamina and mobility an issue

would not be able to walk down banff ave every day towards river

from 1st hotel strip and then 2nd shopping/restaurant strip



POOL

pool.. lovely pool with

..mod sized eucyluptis steam room ..

mod - large size hot tub

pool smaller then seen in pictures

as hot tub takes a bit from the pool... as incorporated in the pool



no chorine odor from pool..

temp cool but comfortable

,,can sometimes smell eucylyptis in corridor

..very small workout site overlooks end of pool,,

tv on.. a distraction fr pool relaxing atmosphere

area looks very new and clean and bright

pool on main floor of hotel

2 sets of 4 chairs and table in pool area

lots of towels available

electric fireplace?? in pool area by chairs for atmosphere

has long opening hrs very early am to late evening

has adult times

adult times need to be enforced by staff





FRONT ENTRANCE

wood fireplace on

.. huge,,,,with nice sofas to sit by ..to left of entrance

bar on main floor very open to public ,

,has a gas fireplace in front of 1 table.. get to early !




















POOL


this is what i understand fr my research..?!

fox suites.. had no indoor pool..? but a hot tub that one had to go outside of room to get to

banff aspen... has outside hot tub ??

rundlestone hotel... too far from river for me.. due to health issues. at time .. has an inside pool

was considering delta banff... was able to walk there and saw pool ,steam room and hot tub
area seemed dark as on lower floor but hot tub separate fr pool

best western.. very small pool and hot tub.... visible fr street

fairmont and rimrock inside pool but away from banff ave ..the main st

douglas fir ,, separate bldg for pool ,, on tunnel mt ave ..far fr main st



note.. banff has 2 buses that go to hotels to bring you around


CONCLUSION

would stay again due to pool and location for 2-3 days

be aware of other extra fees in banff

include in hotel budget

cost food and parking

park pass

tourism tax

another tax to do with banff i think ??..cannot remember name..hotel tax?? not sure

resaearch other hotels that include free park/ free cont bfk if needed or stay in canmore

however

we were very happy with banff park lodge and would stay again we have also stayed at its sister

bow motel ? next door and it is very basic but right next to river would stay again has river view rooms and can use BPL pool

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel many times and have always found the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms are always clean and the location is really ideal. Only 1 block from the main street, it's close but also quiet. I'll be staying here again and again in the future. (also, the value is really good...and sometimes you get upgraded too!) ;)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#12 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;