We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Exeter
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Firstly, the location is excellent, right off of the main st so it was only a 3 minute walk from all of the shops and restaurants. The facilities are very good, different shops all along the main hallway, a restaurant and a bar. The pool was very nice with a good sauna and hot tub but the only issue with the pool was that it was rather cold some days. Another good thing is that the ski bus for all resorts stops right outside the front door of the hotel which is better than carrying your skis halfway across town and being able to lock your skis in a safe place. Overall a very good place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view, on the highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    303
    130
    32
    21
See reviews for
175
277
28
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed at the BPL on Lynx Street with my wife for a three day vacation in Sept 2012. Staff was pleasant and the lobby welcoming.
The location of this hotel is great as it is 1.5 blocks off the main traffic street in Banff and has great proximity to pretty well everything the Banff townsite has to offer.
Many restaurants within walking distance. Gas stations close. A movie theatre 1 block away (for those cold nights or rainy days I guess... who goes to the Rockies to watch a movie?) Liquor store 1.5 blocks away.
The downfall of this place since our last visit 3 years ago, is it is looking tired and worn in the hallways and guest rooms.
Our mattress was pitiful and very uncomfortable. The lighting in the rooms a bit dim for my liking. Room we stayed in was a standard room and average size for Banff rooms of this price range.
Underground parking available for an extra charge (9.50 a day) but your vehicle has to be under 6.0' to fit. Most if not all SUVs are taller.
I'll probably try somewhere different next time for a better sleep, unless I see that BPL has changed out their beds.

Room Tip: All rooms above ground level have balconies which is a nice touch. Ask for a Lynx Street view to avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Quck check-ins, friendly welcome, nice staff overall. The housekeepers even go out of their way to say hello. They seem very efficient too. BPL is a well-oiled machine. From breakfast staff to the bellmen, they keep you on track. The facilities here are great, and I think you get a great bang for your buck as well. The room I was in seemed a bit older in decore, but I don't travel in the Rockies to stay inside all day. Very comfortable, very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

My wife and first trip to Banff. Nice place. Clean. Staff courteous. Food was okay. Excellent location. Within walking distance of everything down town. I would rate it average to good. I would stay there again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We returned to Banff Park Lodge for the last 3 nights of a months travels in USA and Canada.

As before it met our expectations for the room and food and we had a very pleasant and comfortable stay.

When there was a problem and a light bulb failed over a washbasin it was fixed in10 minutes.

Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Having spent 4 days in Lake Louise and 5 days in Jasper, we ended our holiday in the Canadian Rockies by spending 5 days in Banff.
The Banff Park Lodge was an ideal place to stay, as it is right in the heart of Banff and yet within easy reach of the nearby Bow River and several hiking trails.
We had a double Queen-sized bed room, with well equipped bathroom and a flat screen TV.
As with other hotels we stayed in, the lighting above the double Queen-sized beds was between the two beds. This meant that if you slept on the "outside" of a bed you had no reading light, - and nor did you have a table on which to put anything you might need during the night. Rather a curious design flaw.
There was a coffee making jug in the room, but no tea and no kettle to make tea. However, when we asked the desk for tea making equipment, this was immediately made available.
The hotel is very popular for holding weddings, and one was being held on the Saturday that we arrived at the hotel. This resulted in a bit of night-time noise, though nothing too terrible.
The staff were very friendly in the hotel, both at the front desk and in the restaurant.
We enjoyed some splendid buffet breakfasts, which set us up well for the rest of the day.
The evening meals in the restaurant were adequate, - taking the £$16 menu. However, we found that being so close to the centre of Banff, there were some excellent restaurants in the town itself which were well worth a visit and we used them instead.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed here on an overnight before meeting a tour group. I made my reservation 4 months in advance and guaranteed it with a credit card. When I arrived, I was assigned the WORST possible room at the hotel -- on the first floor with a slider opening onto a main street (I am a single woman traveler), closest to the lobby, and right next to the elevator and stairs. There was nothing but foot traffic, loud conversations, and noise all night long. I got little or no sleep. To top it off, the room doors are cut up extra high so they "can get the bills under them," which magnifies the hallway noise. I immediately went to the front desk to complain, but nothing significant was done for me. No compensation (or a room change) was offered. The staff did not have a "caring" attitude, and did not seem to think that a longstanding reservation was of any value whatsoever. In addition, the shower was dirty, the ventilation system did not work, and the bathroom lights were dimmed in a baffling way that took some time to figure out (plus, one of the lights was burned out). The room was, frankly, pretentious but uncomfortable. I left a scathing review at check-out, but of course, there has been no response from the hotel. I suggest you do not select this property. You may as well save your money and stay at an average motel -- it will be nicer.

Room Tip: What good will it do? They just stick you where they want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.