We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned yet again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Banff
victoria bc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Returned yet again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Once again the Banff Park Lodge proved itself to be worthy of a return visit next summer. From reservations to the restaurants and lounge the staff was great, the room was kept clean and well maintained and the overall service was excellent.
The Spa was a great place to spend time after a hike or first thing in the morning, the concierge was helpful and the gift shop had near anything we forgot to bring with us.
We have been staying at this property every summer for several years and will continue to do so for our annual road trip to the Canadian Rockies! Bring lawn chairs for your balcony and enjoy a summer's evening with a glass of wine and the splendor of the mountains.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    308
    133
    34
    21
See reviews for
178
280
30
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
calgary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I spent 1 night at the Banff Park Lodge on my return back from holidays. The check-in was very efficient and friendly. The room was very spacious and comfortable. A bit dated but very clean. The bed was very comfortable and linens were very nice. I like the fact we had underground parking. All the amenities were available though we did not get a chance to use them. A very peaceful location off the beaten track. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

The room was like any standard hotel room available. It was clean. The lights flickered for awhile before they turned on. We didn't go to Banff to stay in our hotel room. It was the mountains and the quaint shops that made this trip. We have stayed at a few other places that were spectacular with wood burning fireplaces and claw foot tubs for not much more. We will probably go back to those places next time. If you want to be with in walking distance to bars and restaurants, it is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

This hotel was great for the recent conference I attended as it's right in the heart of Banff. It's across the street form Melissa's Missteak (which has a great breakfast & supper) and the Magpie and Stump (pretty good food and great margaritas!) The room was clean and comfortable albeit a bit dated. It irks me to no end that the internet is an extra charge! Seriously, it's 2011 and it's time to either build it into the cost or not charge at all (like many other hotels). The food was great and the pool was nice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Spent five days at the hotel while there for a conference. Though the hotel is older and you need to be conscious of which elevator you take when you want to get to a specific area of the hotel (likely a number of add-ons over the years), my stay was excellent. Room was very nice, quiet and clean, bed linens were nice and the "pillow menu" was a great touch. Ate several meals there and they were all excellent and service was good. Hotels location is a real plus as it is surrounded by excellent restaurants and the shopping. A nice bonus for me was that I was there 13 years after my daughter and her husband were married in Banff and the celebration was at the BPL so there was a nice touch of deja vu. That experience was the best it could have been, and this stay was very nice too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Banff National Park Lodge is situated in the heart of the national park, surrounded by nature at its best. Our group of vacationers was full of energy in the exotic surroundings of the this part of Canadian Rockies. The natural beauty here is almost toxic.
The hotel was very comfortable, peaceful and convenient. The rooms were cosy and comfy. The breakfast was very satisfying. The staff was helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms are same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden BC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We went to Banff for the film festival recently. I booked 3 rooms and the price was okay about $120 double occupancy. Check in was slow but there was a small group ahead of me so that was expected. No big deal. But the fact I was paying for all 3 rooms turned out to be a head-ache. When I went to check out, I had to do 3 separate transactions(they couldn't figure out how to add all 3 rooms to one bill for some reason) and since I was using interact the system wouldn't accept 3 quick payments in succession. I spent about half an hour paying them. The third transaction I had to use the bank machine to get cash and they they gave me the $2 dollar transaction fee. What a fiasco. Rooms were fine although very outdated. TV was about 10 years old..certainly not a flat screen but we weren't there to watch tv. the Chairs needed a major cleaning and grout starting to look brown in bathroom in places. And if you think they have free wifi, think again. $10 charge for wireless internet. Not too many places still charge. You can go downstairs to a terminal where they charge $2 dollars for 10 minutes or something like that. As I mentioned the place is outdated. We didn't eat there but the Sunday buffet looked fine. Go across the street to Melissa's for Breakfast. Highlight was the steam room. I would imagine in the winter it is a zoo in there. Would I go there again...no. Would I recommend this place...no. Banff is full of mediocre places. Oh yes...they charge for underground parking. $9. You would think there are a lot of places to park in banff, but that is not the case. Check around and find somewhere that has complimentary parking. And if you want a bathrobe in your room that is another charge. Beds were fine and rooms were clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.