We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best stay in banff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tunnel Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Tunnel Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
canada
1 review
“best stay in banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

We just returned from a ten day trip to the okanogan with a two night stay in Banff which was the highlight of our trip. Tunnel Mountain Resort was everything we were told it would be. The rooms were great and the service was excellent. The bathrooms with the jacuzzi tub and steam bath were the best part. It was hard to leave the room to see the sights .

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    248
    112
    49
    34
See reviews for
190
294
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2006

We stayed for two nights in one of the Executive Suites. The room was okay, but nothing special. It was clean upon arrival, but I don't think housekeeping even emptied the waste baskets after our first night there. Did not use a corner sheet on the bed, thus it was frequently being pulled free during the night. Parking is tight as the units are very close together. Staff was friendly and efficient at front desk. Bathroom was small, but had a nice shower and tub. There was just nothing special about the place and we would not be inclined to return.

  • Liked — Location, proximity to downtown Banff, internet access, large TV
  • Disliked — Housekeeping could have been better.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2006

This hotel did not meet our expectations, the traffic from the road beside it was quite loud, the housekeeping was substandard and the accommodations were of poor quality.

  • Liked — check out
  • Disliked — the stay
  • Tips/Secrets — don't bother with this place
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2006

We stayed in an Executive suite. We had requested a smoking room (my husband) but the Executive suites are all NS, but he was allowed to smoke on the balcony, which worked out just fine. ( By the way, if you do smoke in a non-smoking room you are charged an extra $250 for special cleaning needed).
The room was very well equiped, microwave, fridge, coffee maker, very comfy bed. Bathroom had separate tub and shower. Very clean and well maintained.
The biggest thrill to me was watching deer from our balcony.!

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2006

We stayed first week of July 2006 in an executive suite. It's one of the best rooms we've ever had. No need to describe it, since someone else already did. The only complaint my husband had was that the bed was too soft. To me it's perfect (we have a sleep number bed at home).

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2006

My husband I stayed at the Tunnel Mountain Resort for 10 nights in February 2006. We had a One Bedroom Suite and our friends had their own One Bedroom Suite next door, located on the first floor of the 24 unit Rundle View complex. We were surprise by the space and comfortable surroundings. You enter the suite into a very spacious room with double bed. This leads to the kitchen that was fully equipped with dishwasher and even a coffee machine (coffee was provided every day by the cleaning staff and we had lovely filter coffee in the mornings and in the evenings! A big PLUS to start a busy day on the slopes!!!) The bathroom is spacious and equip with a jetted bathtub in which we could relax after a long day on the slopes. The shower/bath combination was very welcome. The living area had a double pullout couch, wood burning fireplace and patio with chairs. Deer walked freely outside the suite as the Tunnel Mountain Resort is part of the Banff National Park with a wide-angle view of the valley, with the “hoodoos” and the Banff Springs Golf course just around the corner for summer breaks. Although the Tunnel Mountain is outside of Banff centre, it is quiet and very peaceful and only about 7 minutes taxi ride away. There is also a regular bus service into downtown Banff. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the mountains and joined the ski bus in the mornings from right outside reception. We had an indoor whirlpool in the same complex with use of a sauna and steam room. We recharged our “batteries” every evening in the whirlpool after a fantastic day’s skiing. This was definitely one of the high-lights of every day – to relax in the whirlpool!!!!
Skiing in Banff area is outstanding and once you experienced it, you will never go anywhere in the world again..!!!!
I thoroughly recommend the Tunnel Mountain Resort for anyone who wants to be in a peaceful location with the wildlife on your doorstep!

  • Liked — spacious and quiet
  • Disliked — couldn't walk to town - had to take a taxi
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you go to the Tunnel Mountain area - very pretty and a lot of wildlife to be seen!
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, NY
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2006

We booked a four-night stay in July for a Rundle suite on Travelocity for $139 a night, a good deal for Banff that time of year
The suite was oddly configured, in that you immediately walk into the bedroom, then cross into the living room. The problem was the bedroom had no window, thus no real ventilation during a time when it was about 90 degrees F in Banff.
After addressing our concerns, management without hesitation moved us to a downstairs Chalet suite, which was much cooler, had a bedroom window and had the added benefit of being away from the road and facing a mountain (though we could've done without cigarette butts on the patio).
Good comeback, though maintenance had to be summoned to fix the patio door and bathroom light (they were there within minutes). No problems afterwards.
Beyond that, we had a spacious fridge and kitchen to make breakfast and store cold stuff. TVs in bedroom and living room were nice.
Furnishings were pretty basic, but you shouldn't be in the room much anyway. They got the job done.
Overall, recommend staying on Tunnel Mountain, here or at one of the other neighboring resorts like Douglas Fir or Buffalo Mountain lodges.
You're only a couple of minutes from downtown Banff, but away from the bustle and traffic. You can really appreciate the difference once you head up the hill.
Quick driving tip: If you're heading up from Calgary, the first Banff exit will get you to Tunnel Mountain with no problem. But if you're coming from the south, get off at the other exit on Highway 1, which is the first one you'll hit and is actually much closer.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort.Our 95 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.