We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's so easy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tunnel Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Tunnel Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's so easy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We left Calgary & drove to the very beautiful town of Banff. We found the resort at the top of tunnel mountain drive. After check in,we were given two Roam bus cards. These were free to guests,& the bus stop was directly outside. Every 40 minutes buses took you to the centre of Banff,before a connecting bus took you to other places of interest. We caught two buses to sulphur mountain,before riding the gondola to the top! Amazing!!. There were shops near,with reasonable prices & the spa,jacuzzi etc were great. Staff were from all over the world & Dan from Norfolk Uk,was a delight to speak with.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    300
    131
    68
    40
See reviews for
239
354
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in July. We had a chalet with a king bedroom and a twin bedded loft, bathroom and well equipped kitchen / diner / lounge with real fire (charge for firewood). The chalet also had a deck with a couple of chairs on it. The chalet was clean and everything you could want. The staff were friendly and courteous. On our second night we had a family of deer right outside it was amazing.
Tunnel Mountain Resort is on the outskirts of Banff but only takes 5 minutes in the car to the centre of town.
The resort has indoor pool, sauna and barbecue area which we didn't use.
The only things I could fault was the hot water died out whilst having a shower and you could hear the train horns as they went through the town.
All in all a fantastic stay and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The room was on the lower level. It had a balcony, steam shower, jacuzzi tub, large sink area with 2 sinks and comfortable King sized bed. There was a gas fireplace that we never used.
The front desk clerk was pleasant and courteous. The room was clean. it was very quiet.

Room Tip: Pick a top floor room so that you can walk in directly from the parking lot and not have to deal wit...
See more room tips
Green Features: they post about being eco friendly and ask you to reuse your towels if you can.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in early July, just before the large crowds start flooding the Rockies and Banff in particular. We booked our Family suite a couple of months in advance. Nice size room, good bathroom and modern, fully equipped kitchen. The folding sofa in the living room was adequate. Parking and Wi-Fi are standard, but the facilities are well above average: an indoor pool, jacuzzi with mountain views and a spa including large hot tub, wet and dry saunas and nice gym. Laundry facilities and outdoor barbecue too. Across the street a mini-market and liquor store open long hours. Friendly, polite and helpful staff. if you don't have a car, the bus stopping outside the hotel will take you downtown in minutes. What more can you ask for? Oh yes, price- well below average, So an excellent value for money! highly recommended for families and young people.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Spent a night here after a long hike up a the mountain at Lake Louise. It was a clean place with lots of room for big families. Not overly new but well equipped. Handy kitchen to help keep food costs down if travelling with family. The place has a very small pool, whirlpool and sauna. It is just on the outskirts of Banff which is not really walking distance. Just down the street is very nice views of the mountain. You can also seem some of the mountain just outside the front windows. Our place slept 8 people. There was two good size beds in the open loft, sofa bed and then a separate bedroom. It had two good size bathrooms and two T.V.s and a real wood burning fireplace. Everything is on the ground floor so no stairs to deal with. Not overly luxurious but still okay to stay at for winter or summer vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

What a wonderful resort. Scenery from the hotel is amazing! We had booked the executive suites -- rooms faced the road. Nice sized rooms with a sitting area, and fireplace. Bathrooms had a shower (with steamer) and a tab -- sinks are outside of the bathroom. Mini fridge available.
A short walk up the road by the campgrounds provides amazing views of the mountains. Take a short drive past the resort and you will get to see some hoodoos, although with great lookout points! A bus stop right outside of the hotel will take you into town of Banff if you didn't want to drive!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Tunnel Mountain Resort met most of the basic requirements for a hotel, it was clean, comfortable and well equipped. But it just lacked something to make it special, it was a bit shabby around the edges and probably is due for re-furbishment. Also pack your earplugs, there is a freight railway line in the vicinity and throughout the night we could hear the warning siren on the train,it it was loud and very clear! For us, the hotel was just a bit too far out of town a good 25-30 minutes walk, but there is a bus stop just outside.

We found the reception staff to be very helpful but perhaps they need some updating on their knowledge of the local area. We asked about places to eat and shop and were told the only option was a 'fine dining' hotel across the road. In fact there was also a small well stocked supermarket, alcohol store and a cafe at the nearly hostel.

So we felt a bit underwhelmed by the whole experience, which was a pity as the hotel is in such a beautiful place.

Green Features: I was impressed by the re-cyclying baskets by the front door. They also have a policy of not changing towels everyday.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,710 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 805 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.