We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tunnel Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Tunnel Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Second time around”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I can't forget about the first time I stayed at Tunnel Mountain and the staff were very unaccommodating but the second time around was slightly better and I felt it would be fair to give another review.

The one bedroom suites are terrible and not worth the price you pay BUT if you can survive without a kitchenette, the executive suite is the way to go. More up to date with plenty of space, heated tiles, his and hers sinks and an interesting steam shower.

Overall, still an average 3 star, maybe 2.5 but the executive suite has some nice quirks to bring the rating up.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
To our valued returnee guest,

I would like to thank you for you review.
I was sorry to hear about your experience when you first stayed here. We do pride ourselves on our customer service. However in the future If you do encounter any issues, please bring it to our attention so we can address your concerns.
Upon reading your review I was happy to see you return for a better experience and stay in one of our more newer rooms, the Executive suites.
Common comments from these rooms are about the separate steam showers and the king suites.
We look forward to seeing you come stay with us again.

Kind regards,

The team at Tunnel Mountain Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    272
    122
    58
    36
See reviews for
210
322
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Me and my wife stayed here and the hotel and the staff were awesome, very clean, and great parking, anyone wanting to go hiking, skiing, or cycling like us, its the perfect place, only one down side. No restaurant there, but lots of restaurants close by, great hotel thanks to the staff !!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
To our valued guest,

It is guests like yourself and your encouraging comments you write that make us keep doing what we do.
And that is to make your stay a pleasant and memorable one.
Our uniqueness in location and being a well-established Resort in Banff, the added bonuses you have mentioned give us a point of difference from staying downtown.
A nice change for sure.
Yes you are correct in us not having a restaurant, the majority of our rooms are self-catering with full kitchenettes.
There is a fine dining and casual restaurant nearby, all within walking distance.
Thank you once again.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,

The Team at Tunnel Mountain Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Our stay was great here. We stayed 3 nights in a mountain cabin and it was great. W e frequent Banff often usually stay down town but decided to change it up. Was glad we did the kitchen made iy great to prepare breakfast and not have to fight the crowds on the weekend at the restaurants downtown. The fireplace made it special as the kids roasted marshmallows and loved it. Rooms have been renovated with tile floors in bathrooms and granite counter tops. They have a small pool and hot tub which was perfect for a quick soak. Close to the bus that takes you downtown which came in handy more then once. Glad we picked this place it was a comfortable place to stay. Great for families for sure. Wouldnt stay any where else downtown who needs it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
To Justin and family,

From all of us here at Tunnel Mountain Resort we all would like to thank you for choosing our Resort for your stay in Banff recently.
We appreciated your comments and review through Trip Advisor recently, especially noticing the improvements we have made over the last year with our Mountain Cabins.
Once again, thank you.

Yours sincerely,


The team at Tunnel Mountain Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here two times with my husband, 12 & 13yr olds. We choose this resort mainly because it's close to Sunshine ski resort. The first stay was better the room was cleaner the second time the room was shabby & very rough around the edges the couch looked like and smelled like a dog had been sleeping on it we had to cover it with a blanket to sit on it.
The bath was dirty too.
The kitchen was very clean & everything worked. We had a loft for the kids which was very comfortable & clean.
You will likely see wildlife like deer & squirrels which was lovely. The log fire was a great bonus although the wood wasn't seasoned & didn't burn very well. Overall it's ok but could do with upgrades on some things.
The pool & hot tub & areas are clean & very nice.
I particularly liked the Turkish baths, steam room & sauna which are located in another building.
Probably would stay again if the price is right.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
To Nina,

Thank you firstly and foremost for your comments.
We are really happy with our location to the ski hills, especially with the long winters we have had. This year has been great for one and all!
Nina, we are constantly working on small to big projects in relation to maintenance of our property here at Tunnel Mountain Resort.
We genuinely care what you think and would like to acknowledge your comments.
Both positive and not so positive are passed on to our departments, please be reassured this is the case with yours also.
When you are next planning your trip to Banff, then please contact us directly, Nina, 1 800 661 1859 is our toll free number.
We look forward to taking care of you again in the future!

Kind regards,

The team at Tunnel Mountain Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The units were in horrible conditions stains white powder all iver the floir. House keeping staff didnt do a fantastic job on cleaning. Found staff rude and sloopy dressed. Price fir the units was not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
To whom it may concern,

I am writing to you in response to your recent review on our Resort's Trip Advisor site.

We do take interest in the likes of websites like Trip Advisor, so we can get a picture of how valued guests rate us as a Resort. It is also important so we can look at improvements to enhance our guests stay. We do appreciate feedback.

Our housekeeping department is in a transition stage, this is due to recruiting new employees for the summer season.

I would like to talk and discuss your concerns you had during your stay. If I could ask you to call the Resort on our toll free number - 1 800 661 1859.

I look forward to hearing from you.


Yours sincerely,



General Manager
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

A huge disappointment. Bedding was slept in and not changed... one of the dirtiest places I have ever stayed. Was a kitchenette...not well equipped. Area rug had not.been moved and.cleaned under.... Will never go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
To whom it may concern,

I wish to reply to your recent review of our Resort.

It is with concern I read about your stay with us.

Currently we are in transition and in the midst of training newly hired employees in our Housekeeping department for the upcoming busy summer season.

I do understand your expressed concerns and apologise for our Resort not meeting your expectations.

I hope that you did make us aware of these issues so we can make the wrongs you experienced right.

If you do wish to discuss any matters with myself then please call 1800 661 1859 and ask to be out through to the General Manager.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely,


General Manager
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed two nights at Tunnel Mountain Resort (Friday and Saturday) and we enjoyed our time here. We had a loft suite which had a Queen size bed in it's own separate bedroom, a kitchen, living room with wood fireplace, bathroom with a jacuzzi tub -nicer than my tub at home! And a loft bedroom with a King size bed and ensuite bathroom. The living room couch was also had a hide-a-bed. We got a deal online and paid the same price as a regular hotel room. It was great to have the extra space of our own 'little vacation condo' instead of just a hotel room. The hotel staff were friendly. The beds were comfy and the bedding was good quality. The suite also had not one but two patios with great mountain views. We also liked that there was a little wine store across the street.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
To our valued guest,

'Thank you' for your recent review.

We do appreciate your comments and also your valued time to write a review of our Resort on the Trip Advisor website.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.