We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for skiing or sightseeing!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tunnel Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Tunnel Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great location for skiing or sightseeing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here two times with my husband, 12 & 13yr olds. We choose this resort mainly because it's close to Sunshine ski resort. The first stay was better the room was cleaner the second time the room was shabby & very rough around the edges the couch looked like and smelled like a dog had been sleeping on it we had to cover it with a blanket to sit on it.
The bath was dirty too.
The kitchen was very clean & everything worked. We had a loft for the kids which was very comfortable & clean.
You will likely see wildlife like deer & squirrels which was lovely. The log fire was a great bonus although the wood wasn't seasoned & didn't burn very well. Overall it's ok but could do with upgrades on some things.
The pool & hot tub & areas are clean & very nice.
I particularly liked the Turkish baths, steam room & sauna which are located in another building.
Probably would stay again if the price is right.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
To Nina,

Thank you firstly and foremost for your comments.
We are really happy with our location to the ski hills, especially with the long winters we have had. This year has been great for one and all!
Nina, we are constantly working on small to big projects in relation to maintenance of our property here at Tunnel Mountain Resort.
We genuinely care what you think and would like to acknowledge your comments.
Both positive and not so positive are passed on to our departments, please be reassured this is the case with yours also.
When you are next planning your trip to Banff, then please contact us directly, Nina, 1 800 661 1859 is our toll free number.
We look forward to taking care of you again in the future!

Kind regards,

The team at Tunnel Mountain Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    278
    124
    58
    38
See reviews for
220
332
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The units were in horrible conditions stains white powder all iver the floir. House keeping staff didnt do a fantastic job on cleaning. Found staff rude and sloopy dressed. Price fir the units was not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
To whom it may concern,

I am writing to you in response to your recent review on our Resort's Trip Advisor site.

We do take interest in the likes of websites like Trip Advisor, so we can get a picture of how valued guests rate us as a Resort. It is also important so we can look at improvements to enhance our guests stay. We do appreciate feedback.

Our housekeeping department is in a transition stage, this is due to recruiting new employees for the summer season.

I would like to talk and discuss your concerns you had during your stay. If I could ask you to call the Resort on our toll free number - 1 800 661 1859.

I look forward to hearing from you.


Yours sincerely,



General Manager
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

A huge disappointment. Bedding was slept in and not changed... one of the dirtiest places I have ever stayed. Was a kitchenette...not well equipped. Area rug had not.been moved and.cleaned under.... Will never go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
To whom it may concern,

I wish to reply to your recent review of our Resort.

It is with concern I read about your stay with us.

Currently we are in transition and in the midst of training newly hired employees in our Housekeeping department for the upcoming busy summer season.

I do understand your expressed concerns and apologise for our Resort not meeting your expectations.

I hope that you did make us aware of these issues so we can make the wrongs you experienced right.

If you do wish to discuss any matters with myself then please call 1800 661 1859 and ask to be out through to the General Manager.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely,


General Manager
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed two nights at Tunnel Mountain Resort (Friday and Saturday) and we enjoyed our time here. We had a loft suite which had a Queen size bed in it's own separate bedroom, a kitchen, living room with wood fireplace, bathroom with a jacuzzi tub -nicer than my tub at home! And a loft bedroom with a King size bed and ensuite bathroom. The living room couch was also had a hide-a-bed. We got a deal online and paid the same price as a regular hotel room. It was great to have the extra space of our own 'little vacation condo' instead of just a hotel room. The hotel staff were friendly. The beds were comfy and the bedding was good quality. The suite also had not one but two patios with great mountain views. We also liked that there was a little wine store across the street.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
To our valued guest,

'Thank you' for your recent review.

We do appreciate your comments and also your valued time to write a review of our Resort on the Trip Advisor website.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Front desk was very helpful. Asked for extra blankets and got them quickly. Few things falling apart, but all in all a great experience. And its not downtown! Its nice to be away from the crowds. And the paths near the hotel are lovely. Deer in your front yard!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
To our valued guest,

Thank you, for your review. We do value your feedback and appreciate the comments you have made after your stay. These have been passed on to our team.

Like you, we love our location too!

We would like to say, you are one of our lucky guests to have encountered one of many of Banff's National Parks wildlife. It is always a nice surprise and a bonus which makes some great memories for you and your guests.

We do look forward to having you stay with us again!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Tunnel Mt. Resort for 3 nights with young kids. The place was dirty and house keeping only replaces towels. On the 2 nd day when we complained about room not being cleaned, they offered to send staff to clean. We had come back from skiing and kids were tired and ready for bed , so we declined. We expected everything to be cleaned next day , but again NO housekeeping was done, just towels were replaced and the place was still dirty.
Will Not Stay at this resort again and would NOT recommend this place to anybody
S.M. Calgary

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
To whom it may concern,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay and we do apologize once again for the short comings during your visit with us. We do take any concern very seriously and for that reason is why we sent the housekeeping manager to meet with you personally the afternoon you brought your first concern to our attention. Unfortunately there must have been a misunderstanding on our part as we were following the list that was left on the table. After our House keeping Manager came to see you, to clarify the situation, he was told by one of your guests in your room that they did not require anything further and to leave. We did ensure that your room received full service the following day to ensure all your concerns were addressed.

Thank you for your review of our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed there for a couple of nights with my two kids. The 1 bedroom and loft suit was very nice with a big fridge, fully equipped kitchen and a nice fireplace were we got to roast some marshmallows. A little swimming pool but all we needed. A couple of nice hut tubs too. Staff is friendly and check-in/out is fast. We had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
To our valued guest,

I was happy to read that not only you, but your family also enjoyed their stay at our Resort. This is great feedback we love to hear! Thank you for your review.

The loft suite you stayed in is one of my favourite rooms in our Resort. Its the added bonus of having a king size bed with the extra half bathroom where the loft is.

From all of us at Tunnel Mountain Resort we look forward to having your stay with us again!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Tunnel Mountain Chalet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.