We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years 2014” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Tunnel Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 33 hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“New Years 2014”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We tried to get into the other hotels at Tunnel Mountain but booked to late. Tunnel Mountain Resort was the same price as the other hotels up on the mountain however not as nice (we call it shabby genteel" ).The rooms are lacking the basics such as a coffee maker that works ( and they brought us another one that took an hour to brew) toasters stuck in drawers that won't come out,lack of privacy as slats of the vertical blinds are missing and torn mattress covers. We stayed two nights and had a wonderful New Years dinner across the road. We will say that if you want to pay the extreme price for wood bundles( with not enough kindling) the staff has it to you quickly as well as a bedspread to replace the very heavy comforter as another reviewer mentioned it is hot in these units. We also were across from the road and bus stop but we didn't feel that was a problem.
The fellow at the front desk gave me a bit of attitude when we were checking in but we ignored him as the girl behind him made up for it. All in all the rooms are spacious with great mountain views and if the management wanted to have their " Vacancy" sign changed to "no vacancy" the potential is there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I understand from your review that certain aspects of the room did not meet with our usual standards, and for this please accept my sincere apologies. I would like to assure you we take all feedback from our guests very seriously, and I have therefore forwarded your comments to our Housekeeping Manager to ensure the issues are resolved as soon as possible for our future guests.

Furthermore I was very sorry to read that you were not fully satisfied with the service you received from our staff upon checking in. We usually receive such positive feedback in relation to the service our staff provide, however it is most regrettable that on this occasion you did not feel the service you received met with our usual standards.

I hope that despite the above mentioned issues you were able to enjoy the other aspects of your stay, and I hope we have the opportunity to restore your faith in Tunnel Mountain Resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    232
    103
    45
    34
See reviews for
173
280
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed in a loft unit for a few nights in early December 2013 - my wife and I, and our 2 kids (2 months and 2 years).

The location is great - backing onto tall tress with mountain views between the branches. Parking is easy and free. It is too far to walk into Banff with a young family, so plan to drive or use the Roam Bus that stops right at the front door.

The space is large in the loft suites. The "Master Bedroom" is small, though, with only one queen bed and a short space between the bed and the 3 walls around it. It is big enough for a single or couple, but not for the whole family. With the furnace and other mechanical equipment in a non-sound-proofed corner of this room - it became Daddy's "snoring room".

The living room is large, with one full sofa-bed and a table with 4 chairs. The TV is large and modern. The fireplace is a great feature, and we used it each night.

The kitchen is well equipped with Ikea kitchen utensils and tools. It's basic - but it's all you really need for a few nights out - a full size fridge, stove top, oven, toaster, kettle, coffee pot, microwave, dishwasher, etc...

The bathroom is also adequate for a small family. Hot water pressure is low - but you didn't come here for a long day at the office followed by a long hot shower. If you need to steam out your muscles, they have hot tubs.

There is a balcony off the main floor that appears quite nice - although we did not use it in -36'C weather.

The stairs to the loft are a bit steeper than most will be used to in their city homes. This doesn't impact anyone, but it did make my wife more conscious of when / how our 2 year old was on the stairs.

The loft is huge, with 2 double beds and plenty of room for the Pack N Play and luggage. This was our main sleeping space.

Biggest Wins:
- It was -36'C when we were there. The room was always warm. There were no icy cold drafts.
- The staff provide a Four Seasons level of Customer Service
- The space is large and the layout functional
- A night's worth of firewood, kindling and paper - delivered to your suite for $7

Opportunities:
- Just like with any hotel/motel - there are opportunities to be cleaner and have greater attention to detail on the part of the cleaning staff
- The mechanical equipment off the MB is noisy, and would likely have bothered my toddler if I had tried to get her to sleep in there

We didn't have a chance to enjoy the pool or hot tubs.

Overall, we hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I was glad to read you found the resort to be well equipped and that you were pleased with the service you received from our staff.

Your comments relating to noise experienced from the furnace have been forwarded to our Maintenance Department for further investigation, and furthermore I have ensured our Housekeeping Manager is aware of your statement concerning the cleanliness of the room. We always do our best to maintain the best possible standards, and from this point of view your comments are very much appreciated in assisting us with this.

I hope we can expect to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The loft room was perfect for us a family of 2 adults and 3 kids. kitchen was fully equipped and if we needed something the staff were very accomodating. Now heads up the bed in the 1 bedroom the matteress was a little harder and not very comfy. But it did the job. One of the kids did end up getting sick after 11pm in the bed, we called and they came instantly and changed all the bedding with new stuff. Again very accomodating. There is right across the street bus stops and a convenience store/liquor store. Walking to downtown can be done just bundle up and enjoy nature. Deer were seen from the balcony and near tunnel mountain road. Has a wood fireplace, wood is not free but bundle you get is including kindling and matches and paper.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We booked an executive king suite here in mid October (off season) so the rate was very reasonable compared to the rest of the year. Upon arrival the room was very clean & tidy, but the longer you stayed, the housekeeping really slacked off. You could tell they didn't vacuum & the bed was poorly made. In these suites the sink is outside the bathroom by the coffee maker, fridge & microwave, so that was kind of awkward. It's a good sized room & you could park right outside the door plus they have a nice pool & hot tub. Other than the fact that housekeeping is lazy, we would stay here again, but only in off season as otherwise the rates are real expensive. It is also cheaper if you book online instead of right through the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed 1 week on a holiday, self-catered double suite.
Check in staff were exceptionally friendly. Rooms were basic but cosy, heated floors are a nice touch however we found that even with the heating turned off, the temperature in our room was incredibly stuffy and hot because of the floors, we woke up each morning with red eyes and a dry throat. In winter this extra heating may have been appreciated but in Autumn it's just overkill. Ended up having to keep the door open the entire time just to get some air in there.

The resort is a 10-15 minute walk out of town- close enough to walk in the summer or spring months if you're not afraid of hills, however would not recommend staying there without a car in the winter months- too far from town for comfortable -10 degrees weather walking.

Average place- good for the traveler on a budget.

Room Tip: If you don't like long hill walks carrying shopping, bring a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We booked a room through Expedia. Having stayed at the resort several times I was pretty excited to re-visit again. Huge mistake. Checked in. Parked where we were directed and carried our cooler , luggage ect. up and down stairs to the basement, eventually finding our room that faced a major road and bus route. The room had a wood burning fireplace which we thought was nice except the entire room reeked of smoke, from someone forgetting to open the damper. We opened windows. Having a kitchenette I thought was nice, -no condiments. The Hot Tub was out of service, so thought we would use the jetted tub it the bathroom- leaked 1/4 inch of water all over the floor. For management to comp. the firewood for our inconveniences????Needless to say, after many years of promoting Tunnel Mountain Resort, we will not be back or will recommend this facility in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort.Our 95 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.