We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tunnel Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Tunnel Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A very pleasant place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in late August and thought it was a nice place to stay. My room was very large with a balcony, fireplace, mini fridge and microwave. The double sinks, the steam shower and the jacuzzi tub were all a very pleasant surprise. The room was clean and mostly quiet (a bit of noise from the room next door but not terrible).

The front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. No restaurant but the resort is only 1.6 km to town so it was a pretty short walk. The only complaint I would have is that the bed was king size and the sheets were way too small - they were flat sheets and not large enough to tuck under the mattress. I wondered if housekeeping used a flat queen size sheet when making up the bed.

I would recommend this as a nice place to stay and a good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    257
    115
    52
    34
See reviews for
195
309
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked here because of the space it offered us and it didn't let us down. the rooms were spacious although I think the preconception given by the photo's were sadly misleading. our suite was comfortable although felt quite grubby. the cleaning was OK but not always consistent, the kitchen area was well stocked and the facilities were excellent. The hotel was just a little bit too far out of town which meant we had to either get the bus or drive into town. I'm sure as a ski lodge it was perfect but for a summer retreat it just lacked that little something which would have made me happier. All in all if you want somewhere to stay in Banff it did exactly what it said on the tin, although it didn't exceed our expectations

Room Tip: always go for the 1 bedroom with Loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

When we first arrived I was very excited they had upgraded our room for free. So we went to our new accommodations and thought it was a little old looking, but the loft seemed nice and so did the view of the woods. I went to the bedroom on the main floor to get a cover for the couch because it had crumbs on it and it looked dirty so as soon as I turned over the bedspread, there was a bug on the sheet. I grabbed a kleenex and picked it up brought it to the livingroom and my husband looked up bed bugs on the internet and sure enough that was what it looked like. My husband called front office while I checked the other beds (we put the bug under a glass so it couldn't go anywhere), I didn't find anything else, but I didn't look super thorough either. They never came down or sent anyone to look, so my husband packed all our things up and we went to the front office. The girl made a phone call and then said they wouldn't charge us cancellation fees, (Thanks) That's it, no apology, no help in finding another hotel in Banff, just be on your way. What a stressful night...we did find another place, but it took a couple of hours. It is disappointing that we wouldn't have heard from management or anything.(they did have my email address and other info) I would NEVER EVER TRUST this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. Regarding the incident in question the room was immediately taken off-line; a staff evaluation was conducted, followed by a thorough professional examination. Management was informed by the pest control professional that no bedbugs were found in the room and it was suitable for occupancy. Our sincerest apologies as we were not aware that you had requested to be contacted, if you would like to discuss this matter further please do not hesitate to contact us a t 1.800.661.1859.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our suite exceeded our expectations. I expected a clean but older suite. Suite 165 was updated. Granite countertop in fully equipped kitchen ( you do have to ask front desk for a larger pan if you need. (I brought my own from home) updated furniture. Jacuzzi bath tub to my surprise, very relaxing. The bed could have used newer mattress but no big deal. The staff was great. The mountain view from the balcony was beautiful. This is the place to stay If you need to cook to save money on eating out. Food very expensive . Nice pool, hot tub, steam room, everything to make your vacation complete.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for posting a review on your recent stay. I hope your review provides useful advice to future travellers to Banff National Park and all the highlights at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth Garden City
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights after driving from Calgary Airport (90 mins). We just had a regular room which was plenty big enough. As well as a king bed, there was big TV, DVD player, gas log fire (not used in August!), microwave, fridge and the bathroom had a whirlpool bath and a shower which doubled as a steam cabinet. We were surprised there was no restaurant or bar but the easy drive into town meant that wasn't a problem.
A good choice away from the busy town centre.

Room Tip: There's big difference between the regular rooms and the self catering units. Make sure you boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We greatly value your impressions, and are glad to have met our goal of ensuring your comfort and exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 4 nights on a two week trip to Canada.
IIt goes without saying that Banff itself is the best place either of us have visited, so much to do, so much to seem and everyone is so friendly.
The resort itself is also great.
We had a loft chalet, which was more than enough room for the two of us, in fact i think it can sleep up to 8 people.
The chalets look a little bland from the outside, and a little old fashioned inside, but clean. We had a balcony overlooking a forest, through which we had glimpses of the mountains.
The kitchen was equipped well enough if you wanted to eat in, which we did on 3 out of 4 nights. There was a dishwasher as well .... we dont even have one of them at home!
The staff are super friendly as well, particulalry one of the housekeepers Tom, a fellow englishman who gave us some tip on where to go out in the evening.
We also used the spa which had a hot tub, steam room and sauna, which was needed after a busy few days !
There is no restaurant or bar on site which would have been useful, there is a small grocery shop opposite, which was great for essentials, but a little expensive, but there is a very good supermarket in town.
We we come back to Tunnel Mountain .... yes we would.
Overall good value for money !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Such a great review! Thank you! It sounds like you were able to take advantage of the various amenities we have in our rooms and at the hotel in general. We strive for satisfaction by our guests and do what we can to give them the best experience. I am glad you got to enjoy the mountainous views right from your room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom suite in June. The hotel was just okay. It is dated and needs upkeep.Walking up to our hotel room , we could see light right through our front door. Cleanliness wasn;t the best

The staff was friendly.

With so many choices in Banff, a facelift or update is would definitely help.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
I'm sorry to hear our property did not live up to your expectations. We strive to exceed all guests expectations, and are regretful we did not succeed with you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort.Our 95 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.