We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out Of Town but Lots of Good Points” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Tunnel Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 33 hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Letchworth Garden City
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Out Of Town but Lots of Good Points”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights after driving from Calgary Airport (90 mins). We just had a regular room which was plenty big enough. As well as a king bed, there was big TV, DVD player, gas log fire (not used in August!), microwave, fridge and the bathroom had a whirlpool bath and a shower which doubled as a steam cabinet. We were surprised there was no restaurant or bar but the easy drive into town meant that wasn't a problem.
A good choice away from the busy town centre.

Room Tip: There's big difference between the regular rooms and the self catering units. Make sure you boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We greatly value your impressions, and are glad to have met our goal of ensuring your comfort and exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    235
    105
    45
    34
See reviews for
178
283
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 4 nights on a two week trip to Canada.
IIt goes without saying that Banff itself is the best place either of us have visited, so much to do, so much to seem and everyone is so friendly.
The resort itself is also great.
We had a loft chalet, which was more than enough room for the two of us, in fact i think it can sleep up to 8 people.
The chalets look a little bland from the outside, and a little old fashioned inside, but clean. We had a balcony overlooking a forest, through which we had glimpses of the mountains.
The kitchen was equipped well enough if you wanted to eat in, which we did on 3 out of 4 nights. There was a dishwasher as well .... we dont even have one of them at home!
The staff are super friendly as well, particulalry one of the housekeepers Tom, a fellow englishman who gave us some tip on where to go out in the evening.
We also used the spa which had a hot tub, steam room and sauna, which was needed after a busy few days !
There is no restaurant or bar on site which would have been useful, there is a small grocery shop opposite, which was great for essentials, but a little expensive, but there is a very good supermarket in town.
We we come back to Tunnel Mountain .... yes we would.
Overall good value for money !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Such a great review! Thank you! It sounds like you were able to take advantage of the various amenities we have in our rooms and at the hotel in general. We strive for satisfaction by our guests and do what we can to give them the best experience. I am glad you got to enjoy the mountainous views right from your room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom suite in June. The hotel was just okay. It is dated and needs upkeep.Walking up to our hotel room , we could see light right through our front door. Cleanliness wasn;t the best

The staff was friendly.

With so many choices in Banff, a facelift or update is would definitely help.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
I'm sorry to hear our property did not live up to your expectations. We strive to exceed all guests expectations, and are regretful we did not succeed with you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Don't believe them about the wifi. There's no reception in our cabin, they admitted not in others, but said it would be fixed. It was not fixed. These days wifi is as important as water and electricity - it's a utility. Every room should have wifi and it should be no additional charge , as there's no extra charge for running water. And if you say you have wifi, you'd better well provide a strong signal. Other things: we were told we had been upgraded and yet our cabin matched what we booked and were expecting: strange. The pull-out sofa was ancient and I hesitated to sit on it let alone sleep. The bath was very worn, but clean, and one light was out in the bathroom. When we checked in, another customer was at the desk was asking that burnt-out light bulbs be replaced in two of their four lamps. There was not enough light from the lamps to read in the upstairs loft bedroom. The remote for the small bedroom TV didn't work. On the other hand, the kitchen was well-stocked for families wanting to cook (though the electric kettle was broken), and the price was excellent for Banff. It was, in essence, an average place, clean but run-down, some things not working, and without the promised wifi. But priced for those not able to afford better digs.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are very concerned to hear that you had a poor experience at our hotel. The overall feedback we receive from guests helps us improve for the next guests. We would welcome the opportunity to hear from you directly as we try to address your specific concerns. If you wish to contact us, please call the hotel directly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guangzhou
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel is actually ok but we were kind of shocked by the management and receptionist about how they dealt with the dispute when we checked out.

We were careless to make a brown circlular mark on the wood table after we finished cooking in the kitchen. When we checked out, we honestly reported the problem to the clerk at the front desk. He charged us 50 CAD for that. We were fine with the charge, but the clerk definitely lied to us when he said he telephoned the manager about the matter. We were face to face with him and didn't see him make any phone call at the time! After we came back, we sent email to the manager about the dishonest behaviour of the hotel staff. We were then even more disappointed by the dishonest argument by the manager. The manager claimed that the clerk actually went into his office to ask for his opinion for the matter at the time when we checked out, which was a sheer lie! The whole process of checking out lasted only around 5 minutes and we swore that the clerk hadn't left the front desk for even a second! The manager even went so far to claim that the hotel had placed cork pads in the room to protect the property against any hot item, which turned out to be another lie!! During the four days we stayed in the hotel, we found nothing like cork pads in the room at all!

We were totally fine with the charge, but we do hope that how much charge is made, it can be made in an honest and dignified way!! Frankly speaking, this was the worst experience during our stay in Canada!

Room Tip: The loft suite we booked was ok as we were not very picky. The hotel is some distance from downtown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Rosa,

Thank you for your review. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us however we are equally confused and concerned with your accusations of lies and deception. When you checked out of your room, you did bring to our attention that you burnt the kitchen table. We did come to mutual agreement of a minimal charge to repair the table. You paid the amount in person. We are unaware where the lies and deception come into the equation. Please contact us immediately via telephone if you are reconsidering what a reasonable charge would be for refinishing the kitchen table.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights.
Staff was friendly and helpful. The location is not walking distance to downtown but by car is short. The pool is good for kids..nothing spectacular.
There is NO restaurant here or even a continental breakfast offered
Laundry facilities work good
In the room there were the pros and cons
It was a nice view and layout but when it came to the little things well..
The shower head was terrible and the drain in the tub was very slow so I ended up standing in an inch of water and soapy dirt. There were smears on mirrors and there was someone's old toothpaste under the dresser. I wasn't touching it
After first night 1 bed wasn't made but others were and sugar wasn't replaced after using the coffee machine
Overall it needs some attention to detail but not the worst I've been in

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I'm sorry to hear our property did not live up to your expectations. We strive to exceed all guests expectations, and are regretful we did not succeed with you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed in the cabin as it was the same price as the loft. We had the whole cabin to ourselfs, clean kitchen, all the facilities we needed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. From the balcony of the cabin we looked out into the forest and on our first day saw chip monks, squirrels and a coyote. Only criticism was that the shower was a bit tight, otherwise was great for a week long stay exploring the rockies.

Room Tip: The cabin was a good choice over the loft. Even though we didn't use the extra bedroom the space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you very much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, and we are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#13 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort.Our 95 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.