We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tunnel Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Tunnel Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

For this area this was an excellent value with a large accommodation that included a mini kitchen. Since we stayed here for a week the extra space was really appreciated. It was also in a quiet area close enough to Banff to either make a long walk or very short drive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay at the Tunnel Mountain Resort. Thank you for pointing out the GREAT VALUE in our service and the product we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    292
    128
    61
    38
See reviews for
227
348
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Tunnel Mountain Resort in Banff and loved every minute. The layout of the loft rooms were thought out very well and had all the necessity's for a good stay. The location was perfect for us as we wanted to be away from the hassle of downtown Banff but still close enough to go if wanted. We spotted quite a few Elk and some foxes right from our deck. I will definitely stay at Tunnel Mountain on my next visit to Banff.

I do agree with comments by some of the other reviewers in regards to older furniture and fixtures, and there is some small maintenance issues on the property but I don't see these issues as a determent and Tunnel Mountain Resort is a fine place to stay.

Room Tip: Loft room facing to the Forest and valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you to Tunnel Mountain Resort for your next stay. Thank you for sharing your experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed in a One Bedroom Loft Chalet - in 4-Plex, rented through Expedia for the end of July. Caution to all those who read the information on the resort's website; sounds way better than it actually is. The furniture in our chalet (no. 139) was way too old; the sofa sagged and the beds in the loft were extremely lumpy. The cleaning was just okay, we found black hairs on the bed sheets. The paint seemed fresh but the floor tiles were old, cracked and chipped. The telephone did not connect to the front desk, we had to walk down the hill to request the staff call a cab for us. Walls between units were paper thin; you could make out what was being said in the adjacent unit. Pool off the lobby is small etc. Staff at reception were awesome. Perhaps the worst part of the experience was the price we paid, which was way too much for what we got. Keep looking, compare cost of Tunnel Mountain to other resorts before you made a commitment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
We are very concerned to hear that you had a poor experience at our hotel. The overall feedback we receive from guests helps us improve for the next guests. We would welcome the opportunity to hear from you directly as we try to address your specific concerns. If you wish to contact us, please call the hotel directly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a really good place to stay in Banff. Good room with jacuzzi bath and steam room + balcony, overlooking tunnel mountain. Very handy for the town where there are many restaurants to choose from. Seen elk and black bear just up the road when visiting the Hoodoos. Visit the Banff Gondola to reach the summit of Sulphur Mountain, amazing views! Fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are happy to hear it was enjoyable and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was a family trip and I wanted the grandkids to have fun. We rented a condo with a games room downstairs which was rally good. It was down far enough that the adults could have quiet-ish time in the living room. The rooms were spacious and I loved the loft sleeping area upstairs with it's own washroom and view of the mountain when you were lying in bed. The only issue was the first night when some people from another lodge most likely came and were very loud at the barbeque's area just outside our condo. It was 3:00 a.m. I wasn't aware that security at the desk is 24/7 but was informed the next day, to call right away if it happened again. Other than that it was lovely. The pools are incredible with a warmer one on top and then a cooler one below. It overlooks the ridge and is full of garden paths. Great place to relax. I enjoyed it immensely. The dressing rooms and showers inside are very nice and they provide towels. The laundry is not worth it though. washers are o.k. but the dryers literally do not heat up.I would have never spent six dollars if I had realized that they never got but warm. I ended up hanging all my washing in the condo.That was a waste of time and cash. But overall a great place to stay. We liked that it was out of town and yet you get free passes to ride the bus which is a great deal as it runs often.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and loved the place.
The room was great, we had a lounge area, a balcony with a nice view, and a great bathroom with a steam shower and a Jacuzzi bath. Everything was really clean.

The location is great. There are shops nearby, and it is a short 3 minute drive into Banff Town.
It's an easy drive and it is easy to park up on the road just as you approach the town.

We had a small problem with the in room safe and the staff attended to it immediately.

The Hotel was very good value for Banff and we can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here is July 2013 when my wife and I drive through the Rockies. The room has 2 bedrooms and 2 toilets, however only one bathroom. Our room had a balcony facing the mountains which was awesome, although we couldn't enjoy the balcony very much due to the Mosquitos in Banff. We didn't realise how bad the Mosquitos were especially in the trees and Deet 50% did not have any significant effect.

The room was quite dated but nicely done. There is an upstairs mezzanine bedroom and it has three TV's in addition to cooking hob, fridge, microwave etc.

When we came in first and checked the bathrooms, there was dried boogers on the shower curtain and as it was late, we asked if we could get them changed. We had to call them again to get it changed. The beds were comfortable and we really slept well. The hotel also had hot tubs and free barbecue area etc.

We would definitely stay here due to the location. Although we would check everything to see if it was cleaned properly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks a lot for reviewing our property on TripAdvisor.com and for bringing to our attention the issues with our Housekeeping. Be assured all of your comments were reviewed with our management team and the situation will be improved. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,678 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.