We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tunnel Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Tunnel Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Super location to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a really good place to stay in Banff. Good room with jacuzzi bath and steam room + balcony, overlooking tunnel mountain. Very handy for the town where there are many restaurants to choose from. Seen elk and black bear just up the road when visiting the Hoodoos. Visit the Banff Gondola to reach the summit of Sulphur Mountain, amazing views! Fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are happy to hear it was enjoyable and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    257
    115
    52
    34
See reviews for
195
309
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was a family trip and I wanted the grandkids to have fun. We rented a condo with a games room downstairs which was rally good. It was down far enough that the adults could have quiet-ish time in the living room. The rooms were spacious and I loved the loft sleeping area upstairs with it's own washroom and view of the mountain when you were lying in bed. The only issue was the first night when some people from another lodge most likely came and were very loud at the barbeque's area just outside our condo. It was 3:00 a.m. I wasn't aware that security at the desk is 24/7 but was informed the next day, to call right away if it happened again. Other than that it was lovely. The pools are incredible with a warmer one on top and then a cooler one below. It overlooks the ridge and is full of garden paths. Great place to relax. I enjoyed it immensely. The dressing rooms and showers inside are very nice and they provide towels. The laundry is not worth it though. washers are o.k. but the dryers literally do not heat up.I would have never spent six dollars if I had realized that they never got but warm. I ended up hanging all my washing in the condo.That was a waste of time and cash. But overall a great place to stay. We liked that it was out of town and yet you get free passes to ride the bus which is a great deal as it runs often.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and loved the place.
The room was great, we had a lounge area, a balcony with a nice view, and a great bathroom with a steam shower and a Jacuzzi bath. Everything was really clean.

The location is great. There are shops nearby, and it is a short 3 minute drive into Banff Town.
It's an easy drive and it is easy to park up on the road just as you approach the town.

We had a small problem with the in room safe and the staff attended to it immediately.

The Hotel was very good value for Banff and we can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here is July 2013 when my wife and I drive through the Rockies. The room has 2 bedrooms and 2 toilets, however only one bathroom. Our room had a balcony facing the mountains which was awesome, although we couldn't enjoy the balcony very much due to the Mosquitos in Banff. We didn't realise how bad the Mosquitos were especially in the trees and Deet 50% did not have any significant effect.

The room was quite dated but nicely done. There is an upstairs mezzanine bedroom and it has three TV's in addition to cooking hob, fridge, microwave etc.

When we came in first and checked the bathrooms, there was dried boogers on the shower curtain and as it was late, we asked if we could get them changed. We had to call them again to get it changed. The beds were comfortable and we really slept well. The hotel also had hot tubs and free barbecue area etc.

We would definitely stay here due to the location. Although we would check everything to see if it was cleaned properly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks a lot for reviewing our property on TripAdvisor.com and for bringing to our attention the issues with our Housekeeping. Be assured all of your comments were reviewed with our management team and the situation will be improved. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pease Pottage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, just 5 minutes to downtown by bus. Jacuzzi and steam room. Very large room and free wifi. Walk upon the mountain drive to see elks and enjoy the beautiful nature. Not home, but very close!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We take great pride in offering our guests rooms that you can truly feel at home in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very nice hotel. Beautiful location and the rooms are very big. Nice bathroom, with a whirlpool and a steam shower. We had a perfect stay! To bad we couldn't stay any longer. Hope to come back someday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, I am so pleased to read that you had a very enjoyable stay with us here in Banff, and that you enjoyed the amenities. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We travelled to Banff in late June with another couple and stayed at TMR for three days. We were very pleased with the accommodation and staff. Our room was large, comfortable and very well equipped, and the luxury bathroom with Jacuzzi tub, heated floor and steam shower was a complete surprise. The views are quite impressive from the balconies.

The front desk staff were pleasant and very helpful, and not only swiftly addressed a noisy HVAC problem in our friends' room, but also followed up to ensure that they were completely satisfied.

TMR has a number of guest facilities which we never used, including the pool, and sauna but we saw one guest barbequing steaks on the Resort's outdoor grill and would recommend it.

The rates were very reasonable and the location is about a 20 minute walk from downtown Banff if you don't mind hiking down and up a pretty long hill. Driving is easier, and downtown parking is readily available off-street in the summer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you very much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, and we are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort.Our 95 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.