We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, relaxing, clean. Great place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Tunnel Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 33 hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful, relaxing, clean. Great place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was my second stay at Tunnel Mountain Resort and it was just as great as my first stay. While the place is older and not fancy, it is well maintained and clean. The indoor pool and it's whirlpool are small, but there is another whirlpool in one of the other buildings. There are bbqs for guests to use, and the rooms have kitchens. The place is up out of the main part of town so it's quiet and peaceful, but if you're going out for dinner in town and want to have a couple drinks, there is the local bus service with a stop right in front of the lobby building and a returning stop across the street if you don't want to take a taxi. Staff were cheerful, helpful, and friendly. I will definately stay again.

Room Tip: I've only stayed in ground floor rooms, but having a nice little patio to sit on and enjoy Mothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Tunnel Mountain Resort for your next stay. Thank you for sharing your experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    233
    100
    47
    34
See reviews for
170
278
11
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and we will never go back again. I booked a one bedroom with a loft and the unit itself was worn out and filthy. You can't even rely on the receptionist answering the phone.

Please do yourself a favor and book somewhere else.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
We are very concerned to hear that you had a poor experience at our hotel. The overall feedback we receive from guests helps us improve for the next guests. We would welcome the opportunity to hear from you directly as we try to address your specific concerns. If you wish to contact us, please call the hotel directly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I would not recommand this hotel for European travellers: our credit cards were 'declined' and staff threatened tothrow us out of the hotel(which we already payed for months in advance). We already stayed in different hotels in Canada and never experienced any problem with the cards.
Since it was already late I agreedto pay a high cash deposit so we could check in! Only to find out later (after a long distance nightly phone to our credit card company that i made myself)that it was their card breaker that didn't function well.
Not reallycustomer service...
Rooms were spacious and clean, also a nice location.
Bed a litte bit too smal and cold at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hello Eline and Alexander
I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your check-in however it is the policy of the hotel that if we cannot secure a deposit on a valid major credit card then we are not able to facilitate your check-in (a common policy for many hotels in Banff, of which is noted in the confirmation paperwork). After speaking with you about where the issue may have occurred, as an act of good faith we agreed to allow you to check-in with a cash deposit (this is not a common practice) and suggested for you to call the credit card company as perhaps your card has been flagged due to the international charges which had been placed on it. Once again I apologize for the inconvenience and hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels throughout Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed for a weekend escape with my with this month and was very impressed. For a place to crash and recharge after a day of "Banffing" or skiing, this it very nice. The space is adequate (though the power plugs in the room we were in were lose), and the kitchenette is great. Across the road there are a few small shops where you can get some sundries and if you want to walk "into town", it's only about 10-15 from your front door to the heart of Banff Ave. So while they call themselves a resort (they have a pool and bbqs available), the amenities are the town itself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Tunnel Mountain Resort experience! Look forward to seeing you on your next Banff getaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, TX
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife & I stayed at Tunnel Mountain Resort after trying another location nearby. This was far above our first stop! Clean rooms, heated by thermostat-controlled fireplace, steam shower, balcony with nice view, and close to town without being "in the middle of it." I have recommended this place to friends headed that way. You will enjoy the choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the road. It offers a view of the mountains beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your post in regards to your recent visit, and recommending our hotel as a great choice in Banff National Park. We look forward to being your hotel of choice on your return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed at the Tunnel Mountain Resort May 26-June 1 of this year. The resort was fairly quiet and the view from the mountains (from the balcony) was amazing. The one bedroom with loft and kitchen was perfect for our stay. Accomodations are not luxurious, but comfortable, clean and the staff is quick to respond to requests. We took advantage of using the pool and hot tub during the stay, but didn't get around to using the fitness room, sauna or steam room. The wifi signal was convenient even though I didn't spend a lot of time online. The kitchen is furnished with dishes, flatware, coffee, salt and pepper. There is a small grocery across the street, but the Safeway in Banff is not far either. One night we were treated to deer visiting at the back balcony. I would recommend Tunnel Mountain Resort to anyone who wants to stay closer to nature than a hotel in town, but isn't quite up to roughing it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, and we are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort.Our 95 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.