We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tunnel Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Tunnel Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A very good budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel is great - away from the hustle and bustle of downtown, but still close enough to walk there. A local bus runs frequently right in front of the hotel, so you can stay here even though you don't come by car. A small grocery store and a liqouer store across the street and both are open until 10pm - excellent! We stayed at a standard double room with a view to Rundle mountain. I could have stared at the view for hours! The room itself was spacey, the fireplace was great and the full kitchen was really handy and well equipped. A pleasant surprise was steam room, sauna and hot tub at the basement of our building, even though we Finns are not used to such a dry sauna ;) The hotel is quite
old and in need for some renovation, but hey, it is a budget hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you very much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    258
    115
    52
    34
See reviews for
195
310
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We stay here all the time with our family. The mountain cabins are just perfect for us. When we checked in today we were surprised to see that they have replaced the tile floors with beautiful wood flooring. I am thrilled!!! Tiles can be so cold and now I dont have to worry about our little one on the cold tiles. To top it off we were greeted by name and a huge smile when we were checked -in by Maiko. It's the little things like this that keep us coming back. Plus I just love having a wood burning fireplace in our unit and deer hanging out by out patio.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, It was a pleasure to host your return visit. We greatly appreciate your positive review, and thank you for informing potential guests of our amenities. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I used to take the family to Tunnel Mountain resort when the girls were teenagers and we always had a great experience. Decided to go back this summer for a few days, and really looking forward to staying there at the Cabin. I was very pleased with the experience I had in booking the trip and am certainly looking forward to getting to Banff. Jen was very helpful and all is in place. I will keep you informed as to how it all rolls out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us in the past, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Tunnel Mountain Resort for your next stay. Thank you for sharing your experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Last minute trip to Banff with my son; usually stay at Hidden Ridge but was sold out. Booked into Tunnel Mountain as they had a couple of places left. Stayed in a single bedroom with loft. Place was clean and friendly staff. Got an excellent rate on the room but observed that the interior finishes were a distant second to our usual places. Bed had a distinct concave shape and kitchen was not well equipped, including absence of salt and pepper shakers. More exterior BBQ's would have been an asset. In addition, missed an outdoor hot-tub. If you have two or more coffee drinkers...bring your own machine if travelling by car as the one provided was basically for a single user, or prepare for a Starbucks drive-by.

Place was nice and quite, particularly in the evening, probably due to the number of young families staying at the place.

Overall, would consider staying again but it would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Tunnel Mountain Resort experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Everything went well, great staff, very clean, good value. Even had daily visits from a few deer which added to the ambience. Needed a battery boost and the maintenance person was there within minutes to help. Only positive things to say!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

After 19 hours of travelling (inc 2 flights & a long drive) we finally arrived! The check in was swift followed by a welcome phone call to the room to check everything was ok. Just over the road there was a local supermarket that we were able to get food and drinks from before our long awaited sleep! We were in rm 145, this overlooked the park. Every day we had between 2 and 4 young elks come and say hello to us! These were seen all around the complex. We also saw a large elk with antlers by the railway. Oh and the trains are soooo long - amazing! So, the room. The beds were so so comfy, the rooms very clean, the heating was instant when required. The beds were made everyday and also fresh towels daily. The whirlpool was fantastic, very hot and eased our aching muscles from skiing. Plenty of towels in the changing room. No complaints at all! Parking outside the room. Lovely food at Cougar Pete's in the Banff Alpine Centre across the way. Would recommend to anyone - we had a wonderful time here - next stop Lake Louise!

Room Tip: Check the room faces the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Tunnel Mountain Resort for your next stay. Thank you for sharing your experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

First time stay at this resort, stayed in the executive suite with king bed (two twins pushed together), gas fire place, balcony, jacuzzi tub, and steam shower. Bathroom was very nice, room was nice as well. Over all great stay! Service was friendly although had to call twice for an extra wine glass because she had forgotten. Location was great, just off the beat and track but close enough to downtown if it were nicer out would have been a great walk/bike ride. Did not get time to check out the pool or hot tub which looked small and the whirl pool was closed when we arrived.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are happy to hear it was enjoyable and look forward to your return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort.Our 95 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.