We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tunnel Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Tunnel Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were very disappointed with the condition of the chalet we rented 2 weeks ago. The chalet was run down, the furniture and floors were dirty - the place just needs a facelift. The location and views are amazing, but the condition of the chalet just didn't make the stay that enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We are very concerned to hear that you had a poor experience at our hotel. The overall feedback we receive from guests helps us improve for the next guests. We would welcome the opportunity to hear from you directly as we try to address your specific concerns. If you wish to contact us, please call the hotel directly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    249
    112
    49
    34
See reviews for
190
295
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

It's only about a 2 minute drive from downtown Banff, but is up on a quiet hill so that there's next to no noise from outside. The room was great overall. King sized bed. Two sinks and mirrors, balcony, nice TV, couch, fireplace, desk, etc. Nothing was left out. The bathroom itself was a little cramped to get in and out of, but it did include a shower (with steam room) separate from the bathtub (which was a jacuzzi tub). No fan in the bathroom at all though...which was a little weird. Otherwise was a great place. Staff was very helpful.

Downside? The fitness room. I'm an avid fitness enthusiast, and I always make sure I get in my scheduled workouts...even after a day of skiing and boarding. Unfortunately the fitness room left something to be desired. One "universal" machine, and dumbbells up to 50 lbs. One bench, and a couple pieces of cardio equipment. Far from being enough for someone who wants to actually work out. Nonetheless, this is fairly typical from hotels. Have yet to find one with an actual good gym, so I can't let that detract from the rating of this great place to stay. And at $85 a night when we booked...the value couldn't be beat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay. I hope your review provides useful advice to future travelers to Banff National Park and all the highlights at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights. We booked through living social and received two free passes to the hot springs, and had a deal on our one bedroom suite. When we arrived (after a 4 hour drive) at 10:30pm, we were greeted by two women complaining that their room was FILTHY. After heading to the front desk to check in, we were having some chip malfunctions with my credit card, which it took nearly 40 minutes for the front desk staff to decide to swipe my card instead. I was tired, and at that point, beyond frustrated. But once we got everything sorted out, we headed up to our room which was clean, and cozy. We had a fireplace. HOWEVER, we were not offered any wood unless we wanted to pay $10. Compared to other hotels which offered a few logs, free of charge, already in place in your room, this was upsetting to me. We didn't use our fireplace at all during our stay. Other than those few mishaps, we had a jacuzzi tub, which was very nice. We had a full kitchen, which I always love in hotels.
Overall, our room was just average. Nothing made it overly exceptional, and I would stay there again, but not as my first choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for the review. I'm sorry to hear our property did not live up to your expectations. We strive to exceed all guests expectations, and are regretful we did not succeed with you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here Friday, March 8-Sunday, March 10th, 2013...and it was okay...we've stayed at Douglas Fir (across the street previously and it's at 10...in comparison)

Dirty-walls, windows, heat vents, ledges-ick
Requires repair-bed in the loft-bed was very unstable, all plugs in room were very touchy...they fell out on their own, constantly had to re-adjust, also blinds on patio doors were falling off.
The pool is super small, so is the Hot Tub, and there were no towels in the change room.

Deer off our back deck-amazing...but there should be signs out there NOT to feed the wildlife, as our neighbour was...some people just don't understand.

Overall-Outdated, and needs some massive TLC.

Beds were comfortable! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the loft room 130-nothing special...it was close to the pool and main office, parking s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thanks a lot for reviewing our property on TripAdvisor.com and for bringing to our attention the issues with our Housekeeping. Be assured all of your comments were reviewed with our management team and the situation will be improved. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for a bit of a chance to get out of the city and relax and recuperate from stress.

The Executive King suite was lovely, very clean and cozy. The bathroom was a little cramped, but with a jet tub and steam shower it wasn't unexpected. The staff was very eager and willing to make sure we were comfortable. Also the view was absolutely gorgeous.

The only complaint I have is the bed. While it was incredibly comfortable, the sheets were I think just a bit too small for the bed (It's actually two single or twin mattresses pushed together with a King mattress cover which would account for the sheets being a couple inches too small) so every time we sat down on the bed the sheets would fly off the corners so we'd have to remake the bed multiple times. This wouldn't be a big deal to someone going out and doing a lot in Banff, but we were just there for a bit of a quiet getaway from stress so having a weekend staying in was a little frustrating having to remake the bed every time we got up.

Another little note; since the visa debit came about the water around the visa policies has become pretty murky in some places. To clarify for Tunnel Mountain; they do not accept the Visa debit in lieu of an actual credit card. I suggest if you don't have one, find someone who's does have a credit card that's willing to have the hold for you. They do have a form you can send in (I called ahead and figured this out ahead of time) that the person with the card can make it just so the card is used for a hold, and can't have any other charges put towards it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for posting a review on your recent stay. I hope your review provides useful advice to future travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My fiancee and I travelled here in March 2012 with our 6 year old daughter and 14 year old son, and we stayed in a loft suite. There is a small bedroom when you first walk in with a queen bed, TV and a closet (this is where our older son stayed)- the room has it's own door that can be closed and locked. There was an issue with the TV, it had a broken power button for some reason and the remote was missing but we had someone from maintenance bring one up.

From there, you walk into a fully-equipped kitchen and a very large full bathroom to the left. Kitchen is fully stocked with everything you need for cooking - all cutlery, dishes, pots and pans, etc. From there, you walk into the dining room and living room. Couch has a hide-a-bed which our young daughter slept on no problem. There is a balcony off the living room which we had fun sitting on watching the deer walk around the hotel grounds eating.

Upstairs in the loft was a large king size bed, another TV, a half bath and a smaller private balcony.

The hotel has a swimming pool with a hot tub. The pool area was small and dated but the kids enjoyed it anyways.

Right across from this hotel is another one with a convenience store inside which came in handy for a couple of forgotten food items since this hotel is up the hill on Tunnel mountain, a short disctance from town. It should also be noted that because this area with a few hotels are up on the top of this mountain, there is a shuttle service that goes back and forth. Some of the hotels provide complimentary passes for this shuttle.

Overall, yes this hotel is dated, a bit older, but it's great value for the price. We didn't spend much time in it anyway aside from eating, showering and sleeping. Would recommend it to others, especially families and we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for the excellent feedback on your family’s stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

I love staying here! We booked our stay with a living social voucher this time. I had no idea all the extras we were getting. Check -in is always super friendly and quick. We just got to our room and they put rose petals on the bed, there are also chocolates and hot spring passes in the room. Now we usually stay in the mountain cabins but this room is so cozy, I think it's called a one bedroom suite. There is a kitchen, a spectacular view of rundle mountain and a wood burning fireplace. Just perfect for our anniversary weekend escape.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking this unique opportunity to share your recent experience Tunnel Mountain Resort. I hope future travelers will read your wonderfully detailed review and use it to their benefit. We look forward to being your hotel of choice on your return visit to Banff National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort.Our 95 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.