We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable & Comfortable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tunnel Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Tunnel Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Affordable & Comfortable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at Tunnel Mountain during the "Snow Days" Festival at Lake Louise.

When we arrived they upgraded us from a 2 Bed room to a Loft Suite. This was a nice surprise.

The suite was clean and we had all the linens and towels we needed.

The bed was comfortable and the view was beautiful.

Our two children swam in the pool, which was warm and clean.

Overall the stay was nice and uneventful.

Would love to see a Cafe or other amenity on-site!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Tunnel Mountain Resort experience! Look forward to seeing you on your next Banff get-a-way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    249
    112
    49
    34
See reviews for
190
294
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Do not stay here, there are bedbugs and what looked like maggots/larva in the beds of 3 different rooms our group stayed in!

Last weekend my friends and I booked 4 different suites - the ones we thought would be nice with a queen bedroom downstairs and 2 beds upstairs in a loft. We didn't stay in the room long the first night (really only from 11:00-midnight, then went to bed). When we got up in the morning, one of the girls moved the blankets and found a bug. She caught it in a kleenex and we googled it and it looked exactly like a bed bug! The site said that they can get up to 5 mm long, and this one was almost that big. We had to leave in the morning, but when we went back in the afternoon we went to go ask for another room.

This is when we started having trouble with management - the day manager Jen specifically. We were told that "we could have brought them into the room ourselves". Sure, this is a possibility, but seeing as how none of us has issues before, highly unlikely. Also, she wasn't very nice in how she spoke to us. They sent another lady (who was very nice) to come and check the room (117), and she said that she found evidence of bed bugs. We were moved to another suite - 4 buildings away, but told by the day manager that they did not find anything in the first room... which was weird since the other lady said she did in fact find some, and when I went back later to drop off the key I found that everything made out of cloth had been bagged up. She said that they only give a 10% discount if there is no evidence. We later got a phone call saying that she changed her mind and would refund the room for the first night... interesting.

NEXT, we brought our stuff over to the new room (124), when we got there we decided we should probably check the beds. We pulled back the blanket of one of the beds, and in between the tucked in sheet layer and the blanket we found what looked like MAGGOTS OR LARVA! There were 2 stuck together, each about an inch long with 5 sections and veins :( We called and had someone come and check out our second find. 2 men came, 1 who smelled like alcohol and they took it and remade the beds. We were not offered another room, and we inquired as to what it was. We did not hear a response until the following day when we had checked out - when the day manager tried to tell us it was cooked rice. Check out the picture yourself, there is absolutely no way! When we went back to discuss this, she wouldn't even look at the picture and refunded our money. It seemed apparent that she knew it was not rice.

Just when you think it couldn't get any better, there was a third incident! We had a lot of people with us, and in one of the other rooms, they also found a bed bug in the bed, caught it and brought it to the front desk. The trip was a total nightmare! We had to bag up all of our stuff and have kept it outside all week so that we do not bring bedbugs into our own houses!

Save yourself the hassle and stay somewhere else!!!

Room Tip: Stay away from 117-124 for sure!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review.
First and foremost it should be noted that this incident has been taken very seriously by the staff and management of Tunnel Mountain Resort. Our guests, past and future, should not be alarmed as we have had a professional exterminator service come and investigate; they could not find any type of infestation in any of the 3 rooms. However the rooms in question were immediately taken off-line and treated to ensure there would be no more issues.

Anytime a guest is not satisfied or not comfortable for any reason it becomes a top concern for all of us at Tunnel Mountain Resort, as guest satisfaction and comfort remain our number one priority. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and discomfort this guest experienced. We take every step including staff training and implementing professional preventative programs to insure our guests’ comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our children gave us a one night romantic package to the Tunnel Mountain Resort and we had a wonderful time. We stayed in one of their Executive suites which had a king size bed, sitting area with a gas fireplace, plasma tv, balcony, jacuzzi tub and steam shower in the bathroom. The package included a bottle of merlot and Callebeaut Chocolates. The room was lovely and the wine was good. The chocolates were disappointing though. It was just 4 little wafers of dark chocolate like a restaurant would give you with your bill.
Our room overlooked the road and the buildings across the street. I think the views facing the other way would have been much more beautiful.
That being said it was a wonderful break away for the night and we would stay again. We would bring our own wine and chocolates though and we would request a room not overlooking the main road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the main road to the resort. Skip buying the romantic package and bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have stayed here before during discount season - great rate. Stayed in Executive suite with TV, gas fireplace, steam shower, jacuzzi tub, free movies, two hot tubs and small pool, excellent staff and services. Plus refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, kettle, hair dryer and everything we needed. Great stay, even walked downtown though it is quite a walk but healthy and fun.

Room Tip: No restaurant so last two items are not applicable, not an issue as we have stayed here before and k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, It was a pleasure to host your return visit to both Banff and Tunnel Mountain Resort. It is fantastic to hear from guests that have been staying with us over the years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I am a bit late in writing this review as it was September 2012 that we stayed at Tunnel Mountain.
Having read the mixed reviews we were not really sure what to expect.

On arrival at Tunnel mountain our hearts sank as we were greeted with the news that our booking had been cancelled in January ( this was when we had actually booked the whole holiday...we had spent three nights in Vancouver prior to arriving in Bannff) our faces must have been a picture!

Having spoken to the manager the receptionist proceeded to book us in explaining that they would investigate what had gone wrong with our arrangements the following day.

It was an error in communication between our travel company and the local handling agent. We were both relieved and delighted that the hotel dealt with the situation so smoothly. We were of course lucky that they were able to find accommodation for us.

We had a one bedroom plus loft. This turned out to be very spacious accommodation for just the two of us. Double bedroom downstairs and a huge VERY comfortable bed in the loft that also had an en-suite toilet.
The living area was very comfortable with open fire (we had great weather so didn't need to use it. The kitchen was well enough equipped for the cooking that we did. Bathroom clean with plenty of towels....so all in all we were more than pleased with our accommodation.
We are in no doubt there are probably many more hotels we could have stayed in, but for the price we couldn't complain.

As previous reviewers have commented, there are no restaurants close by. That is a bit inconvenient.....however we either ate before we came back in the evening or cooked "at home" either way it was no big deal. There is a small store over the road to pick up essentials and supermarkets in town.

We hired a car for a couple of days, the rest of the time we used the bus that stops outside Tunnel mountain reception.

Our week long stay was all that we hoped, plenty of walking, fantastic scenery, almost empty roads to travel on. We were very lucky in that the ten days we spent in Canada we didn't see a cloud in the sky.....it also has to be said, we didn't see any wildlife either! A slight disappointment, but of course there is no guarantee that you will see the wildlife!

In all we enjoyed our stay at Tunnel mountain Resort and the Banff area.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you very much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, and we are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in one of the loft cabins. The loft and dining/fireplace area were spacious, but the bedroom with queen bed was cramped. The furnace is also adjacent to the bedroom and was very noisy, running all night which was disrupting to our sleep. The beds are also very firm/hard making sleeping uncomfortable. I also agree with others that firewood should be provided.

The main pool is located adjacent to the office and is decent in size, but the whirlpool is very small with a 3 person capacity. Below one of the buildings is a whirlpool/sauna/steamroom which is larger and decent, but is located in the basement with awkward, dirty changerooms to go through. Every time we used either pool we had to call the front desk for towels - which they did deliver within 1/2 hour.

We went there based on website pictures and higher expectations which might be part of the problem. The furnace/cramped bedroom and hard mattresses are enough for us to try other locations in the future.

Room Tip: Make sure room is newly renovated with new beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you very much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is through your comments and feedback that we are able to improve our service, training practices and facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Recently my girl friend and I stayed in one of the Suites it was very nice and the price was right through booking.com, every morning the deer and elk would be outside our patio what a great way to enjoy morning coffee. The room was very clean and the staff were really nice and quick room service. The only thing I can complain about is the bed! The floor would of been softer. So here you go enjoy your stay as well as the great sauna, steam room, hot tub and pool and hopefully the resort updates their beds.
I will probably try the chalets next time!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking this unique opportunity to share your recent experience Tunnel Mountain Resort. I hope future travelers will read your wonderfully detailed review and use it to their benefit. We look forward to being your hotel of choice on your return visit to Banff National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort.Our 95 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.