We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Romantic Getaway!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 5 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary, AB
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Romantic Getaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our children gave us a one night romantic package to the Tunnel Mountain Resort and we had a wonderful time. We stayed in one of their Executive suites which had a king size bed, sitting area with a gas fireplace, plasma tv, balcony, jacuzzi tub and steam shower in the bathroom. The package included a bottle of merlot and Callebeaut Chocolates. The room was lovely and the wine was good. The chocolates were disappointing though. It was just 4 little wafers of dark chocolate like a restaurant would give you with your bill.
Our room overlooked the road and the buildings across the street. I think the views facing the other way would have been much more beautiful.
That being said it was a wonderful break away for the night and we would stay again. We would bring our own wine and chocolates though and we would request a room not overlooking the main road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the main road to the resort. Skip buying the romantic package and bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    157
    73
    41
    33
See reviews for
118
198
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have stayed here before during discount season - great rate. Stayed in Executive suite with TV, gas fireplace, steam shower, jacuzzi tub, free movies, two hot tubs and small pool, excellent staff and services. Plus refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, kettle, hair dryer and everything we needed. Great stay, even walked downtown though it is quite a walk but healthy and fun.

Room Tip: No restaurant so last two items are not applicable, not an issue as we have stayed here before and k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, It was a pleasure to host your return visit to both Banff and Tunnel Mountain Resort. It is fantastic to hear from guests that have been staying with us over the years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I am a bit late in writing this review as it was September 2012 that we stayed at Tunnel Mountain.
Having read the mixed reviews we were not really sure what to expect.

On arrival at Tunnel mountain our hearts sank as we were greeted with the news that our booking had been cancelled in January ( this was when we had actually booked the whole holiday...we had spent three nights in Vancouver prior to arriving in Bannff) our faces must have been a picture!

Having spoken to the manager the receptionist proceeded to book us in explaining that they would investigate what had gone wrong with our arrangements the following day.

It was an error in communication between our travel company and the local handling agent. We were both relieved and delighted that the hotel dealt with the situation so smoothly. We were of course lucky that they were able to find accommodation for us.

We had a one bedroom plus loft. This turned out to be very spacious accommodation for just the two of us. Double bedroom downstairs and a huge VERY comfortable bed in the loft that also had an en-suite toilet.
The living area was very comfortable with open fire (we had great weather so didn't need to use it. The kitchen was well enough equipped for the cooking that we did. Bathroom clean with plenty of towels....so all in all we were more than pleased with our accommodation.
We are in no doubt there are probably many more hotels we could have stayed in, but for the price we couldn't complain.

As previous reviewers have commented, there are no restaurants close by. That is a bit inconvenient.....however we either ate before we came back in the evening or cooked "at home" either way it was no big deal. There is a small store over the road to pick up essentials and supermarkets in town.

We hired a car for a couple of days, the rest of the time we used the bus that stops outside Tunnel mountain reception.

Our week long stay was all that we hoped, plenty of walking, fantastic scenery, almost empty roads to travel on. We were very lucky in that the ten days we spent in Canada we didn't see a cloud in the sky.....it also has to be said, we didn't see any wildlife either! A slight disappointment, but of course there is no guarantee that you will see the wildlife!

In all we enjoyed our stay at Tunnel mountain Resort and the Banff area.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you very much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, and we are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in one of the loft cabins. The loft and dining/fireplace area were spacious, but the bedroom with queen bed was cramped. The furnace is also adjacent to the bedroom and was very noisy, running all night which was disrupting to our sleep. The beds are also very firm/hard making sleeping uncomfortable. I also agree with others that firewood should be provided.

The main pool is located adjacent to the office and is decent in size, but the whirlpool is very small with a 3 person capacity. Below one of the buildings is a whirlpool/sauna/steamroom which is larger and decent, but is located in the basement with awkward, dirty changerooms to go through. Every time we used either pool we had to call the front desk for towels - which they did deliver within 1/2 hour.

We went there based on website pictures and higher expectations which might be part of the problem. The furnace/cramped bedroom and hard mattresses are enough for us to try other locations in the future.

Room Tip: Make sure room is newly renovated with new beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you very much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is through your comments and feedback that we are able to improve our service, training practices and facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Recently my girl friend and I stayed in one of the Suites it was very nice and the price was right through booking.com, every morning the deer and elk would be outside our patio what a great way to enjoy morning coffee. The room was very clean and the staff were really nice and quick room service. The only thing I can complain about is the bed! The floor would of been softer. So here you go enjoy your stay as well as the great sauna, steam room, hot tub and pool and hopefully the resort updates their beds.
I will probably try the chalets next time!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking this unique opportunity to share your recent experience Tunnel Mountain Resort. I hope future travelers will read your wonderfully detailed review and use it to their benefit. We look forward to being your hotel of choice on your return visit to Banff National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The rooms were ok, and big. we had 4 adults in a 2 bedroom. not bad for 2 nights. But the beds were so we almost left and ended our trip early. I have never complained about beds before but we seriously were so close to leaving.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for recently taking the opportunity to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We value your opinion, as it allows us to become better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel was relatively good, but didn't stand out as being exceptional, either positively or negatively. It would be better visited in the summer, I think, to take advantage of the balcony. The pool was fairly small and was in use by several other guests at the time so we didn't take advantage of that. We noted that the hotel accross the street had a waterslide, so if you're travelling with kids that might be more appealling. The room was clean and the bed was decent enough. We enjoyed the natural wood fireplace, although you do have the purchase the wood for $7 a bundle. While that isn't a huge expense, some establishments, such as Storm Mountain Lodge, provide wood free of charge. We would have rated this hotel higher but we felt that for the same price, there are other hotels in the area that represent a better value. The Rundlestone, for example, remains our favorite in the banff area.

Room Tip: The 'suites' are still attached units, but offer a balcony that overlooks the wooded area be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and hope you are back to enjoy Banff again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Hotel
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort.Our 95 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tunnel Mountain Resort to your Saves list