We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend - nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tunnel Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Tunnel Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Would recommend - nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here Dec. 28-30,2012 in an executive room. The check-in was quick and the several staff we dealt with were very nice. Our room was quite large - 2 sinks, steam shower, jacuzzi tub, mini fridge, microwave, kettle, king size bed, couch and gas fireplace. The resort was really quiet, which we liked since we were there for rest and relaxation. The only con that I had was the room was beyond freezing when we first walked in - maybe 10C and you turn the heat on through the air conditioning unit. The fireplace also wasn't hooked up properly to the thermostat but my husband being handy figured how to make everything work. The swimming pool was small, but looked decent. There were also 2 hottubs in a different building. After I checked out I noticed a book shelf of DVDs and board games that I assume we could have utilized while there but never knew about them. I love being on Tunnel mountain, but this resort is about a 4 minute drive to Banff Ave, so a car is ideal. We noticed a few people walking, but in the winter the walk would be too far and cold for me (summer would be fine). Overall for the price we paid and the amenities this resort has it was fantastic and I would highly recommend it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you very much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, and we are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    299
    131
    67
    40
See reviews for
238
353
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband and I booked the romantic escape package while staying here, it was lovely. There were rose petals on the on the floor leading up to the bed and on the bed too, there was a bottle of champagne, chocolates and hot spring passes included in the package. The room we had was an executive suite, perfect for a romantic get-a-way! There was a jetted tub and steam shower, and a balcony with a beautiful view. We really enjoyed everything about our stay here and will definitely be coming back. I certainly hope they still offer this package as it really added that extra something special to the trip.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking this unique opportunity to share your experience Tunnel Mountain Resort. I hope future travelers will read your wonderful review and use it to their benefit. We look forward to being your hotel of choice on your return visit to Banff National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I went for his birthday/our anniversary and stayed in the executive suite. It was absolutly amazing. The room was quite large with an amazing jacuzzi tub, large steam shower and king size bed. It was comfortable and inviting. The staff were all fabulous, and we had no problems at all. The room was clean and the area was very peaceful. The front desk staff were very helpful, and the bus service to and from the hotel was perfect for our evenings out on the town. It was close enough to the action, but far enough away from all of the hustle and bustle. We both had an AMAZING trip, and I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for the review, we love words like ‘Fabulous’ and ‘Amazing'. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Executive Suites and hope your review provides useful advice to future travellers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights in a room with king bed and it was clean and nice. The bed was comfortable but the fitted sheet did slip off in the night. front dest staff were nice and helpful.

The fitness center was what one can usually expect at a hotel...good equipment and quiet.

A great value to stay in Banff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, and we are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We only live 1 hour away from Banff and have tried many difference Banff hotels for fun. But when we do go we always try and book at this place. The room is awesome and has a Jacuzzi which we love!! It's modern, has a balcony and clean. It's just a little oasis when we need to get out of the city. We always wait for good deals for this place and they usually do come up. right now I took a look and they have rooms going for $89 a night. We've always stayed in the executive suite.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
What a fantastic review, thank you for taking the time to submit this after your stay with us at Tunnel Mountain Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a beautiful resort with a beautiful location. My wife and I stayed Nov 5th and 6th 2012 in the one bedroom loft chalet. The chalet is spacious and has a separate bedroom if you need it.This chalet has 2 beds up in the loft also. It has a wood burning fireplace, but firewood is not included it will cost you $7.50 a bag to order from resort and it is cut to burn, no axe required. You can bring your own firewood if you want, the resort has no problem with that. The staff at the front desk are excellent and very accommodating, as well are the support staff for customer service. We would not hesitate to re-book this this Resort for our next visit to Banff.

Room Tip: Their is no restaurant, thewse rooms have kitchenettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We greatly value your impressions. I will pass your comments to our staff. Looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at Tunnel Mountain Resort from October 26th to 28th inclusive. When we first checked in, we were given a one bedroom suite which we thought did not have a great view, and thought that some of the lights were not working (we had not checked the plug ins). One call to reception and they arranged another suite for us. Unfortunately, that suite had full carpeting to which my allergies would not have taken well to, so we requested a switch back to the one we had been given previously. Service was excellent, and the switch was made without any fuss and pleasantly. Toiletries were not provided after the first day, and other than our beds being made up, no cleaning was provided. But that had clearly been stated on the guest sheet and posted on walls, so we were aware. All in all - waking up to say hello to the mountains was great! We were there for a conference, so did not spend too much time in the suite.

Room Tip: We stayed in 159 which is a basic one bedroom suite in the basement level. I liked it because you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for posting a review on your recent stay. I hope your review provides useful advice to future travellers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,703 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
#14 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Tunnel Mountain Chalet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.