We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value, Great Rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tunnel Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Tunnel Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, Great Rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Pleasant staff, extremely helpful front desk. Beautiful location. Goood room facilities, spacious, and clean. The actual architectural design is not my favourite but I'm more concerned with "is my wife happy with it?" if she is then its more than acceptable to most people. She was very happy. It was nice to see proper wine glasses and kettle as well as a percolator, though would have liked to see a teaspoon please? Overall? Very pleased and would highly recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: We had a King Double, great choice for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you very much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, and we are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    258
    115
    52
    34
See reviews for
195
310
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

So I happened to forgot the my credit card, but got my debit card and cash with me. The front desk didn't let me stay at my prepaid reso unless I can pay the deposit with a credit card. not even if I offered to pay three times the amount with debit or cash!!! I asked him to call his supervisor and he said it's too late at night (9pm) HOWEVER, he suggests me to call my friends or family to give them a credit card number to get the deposit!! STUPID policy with ignorant staff whom doesn't think outside the box!!! Worst part? LOTS of bed bug bites after two nights!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Hello benlao168,
Thank you for your review of the property. I am sorry to hear that you forgot your credit card. We do make it very clear on all communications from the hotel regarding reservations that we will need a credit card to be produced at time of check in. This is a common industry standard.
Your comment that you received bites while in Banff is very concerning. Please contact me directly as soon as possible to let me know your room number. We contract a certified preventative pest control company that inspects our property monthly. Once we receive your room number, we will have them do an additional inspection as soon as possible to ensure our rooms were not exposed to bugs during your stay. We will get back to you with their findings.
Regards,
Paul Baxter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

After an amazing experience we had the first time we stayed here my family and I decided to book a couple cabins for thanksgiving. Everything was perfect. We couldn't have asked for anything more. The kitchens in the units had everything we needed to cook dinner and anything extra we asked for was brought by the cheerful and friendly staff with in minutes. The room was clean and it was nice to sit by the wood burning fire place after dinner while enjoying the beautiful view.

If you are planning a family get-a-way over the holidays this should be the first place on your list to stay. We will definitely be celebrating our holidays here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, It was a pleasure to host your return visit, I am very happy to hear we succeeded in making your stay an enjoyable one for you and your family. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again over the holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Homburg, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you have your own rental car the location of this resort is very convenient on Tunnel Mountain, only a short drive to downtown.
We stayed 4 nights in a one-bedroom suite.
The bedroom was the first room after entering the suite and quite dark (which was uncomfortable while packing or un-packing the luggage but good for sleeping). From the bedroom you go through the kitchen into the very spacious living room. The bathroom is big enough and features a bathtub with whirlpool function. The kitchenette is equipped with a huge fridge & freezer; the rest of the equipment could be better. I especially missed salt, pepper and some herbs or oil for cooking. There was no dish liquid in the kitchen so we couldn’t do our dishes manually and had to use the dishwasher (which was as a consequence running half empty).
We didn’t use the balcony because of the changeable mountain weather. It would have been nice if the chairs outside had been a bit cleaner. Our suite was on the ground floor, so we didn’t dare to leave the balcony door open during the night because the bedroom was, as mentioned before, on the other end of the suite.
The interior of the suite is in darker colours and will not appeal to people who prefer modern surroundings.
The personnel at reception was friendly. One evening our key cards didn’t work (of course when we were laden like donkeys with rucksacks and purchases from the supermarket) but after a short excursion to the reception we received new ones.
Our stay was okay (even if I got an electric shock from the cursed hair dryer) - but taking into account the considerable price, the complete suite could be in better condition (e.g. there were tiles missing in the kitchen).
Next time in Banff, I will try my luck somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youknowwhoIam, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you very much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is through your comments and feedback that we are able to improve our service, and facility
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We booked an executive suite and will stay here again. We really like that it was quiet and out of the way from busy downtown but close enough that you could easily walk in good weather. It is an older resort but a good price for some of it's amenities. The king sized bed was comfortable and we liked the option of a steam shower or jacuzzi tub. Our bed was made when we arrived but not very neatly and though the bathrom was clean it looked as though it hadn't been deeply cleaned in awhile. All in all not a bad option if you're not a stickler about certain things.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youknowwhoIam, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for posting a review on your recent stay. I hope your review provides useful advice to our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The resort is pretty old and in need of a lick of paint. However it is clean and teh accomodation is very spacious so you have lots of room for all your gear. Each accomodation has a spacious lounge and kitchen area and tehre are two bedrooms in each (one double and teh other with twin beds). You could easily sleep 5 or 6 if folk used the sofas as well. The hotel does not have anywhere to eat so you have to go out unless you want to cook yourself

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youknowwhoIam, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. I hope you can visit again in the future, we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel room was beautiful! The room was very large and had lots of special things in it - a fireplace, balcony, jetted tub, steam shower, and even heated tiles in the bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable. The room was very clean and the staff at the front desk were very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youknowwhoIam, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the Tripadvisor Community. I hope future travelers will view this review as an example of our passionate staff and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort.Our 95 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.