We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tunnel Mountain Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Tunnel Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tunnel Mountain Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Lovely hotel - spacious. Very quiet. Great location away from the traffic in town. No dining available. Would book there again in the future. Definitely suited to families. Larger accommodation available for families.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youknowwhoIam, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    242
    109
    46
    34
See reviews for
183
291
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in a one bed room suite in this hotel for 2 days during the Labour day weekend. Our stay was just ok nothing terrible but not fully satisfied. The bedroom was clean but the living area was not.The couch was soiled as if it was old and was not cleaned for a very long time, so we did not opt to sit on it. The suite had a flat screen TV in the living area but another one awkwardly placed before the dresser blocking the view to the mirror.Did we need a TV there? The kitchen and washrooms were clean but too dated.The bathroom tissues was not changed since the last person left.A lot of that is more of house keeping gone wrong. There were also firewood left uncleared in the living room since the last person who may have used some. We did ue the kitchen minimally , it was well stocked. I guess it is more for use by skiers who stay long time and are rather casual about finer stuff than typical hotel guests. The walls too were thin and we were woken up by the shower being used in the next room. I

Room Tip: Use the executive suite if you have to stay here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youknowwhoIam, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with u. We value your opinion, as it allows us to become better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed for three nights in the executive suites. The staff at the front desk were friendly and professional. Made you feel very welcome. We had stayed in the executive suites a couple of years ago and was just as great now as it was then. The layout is quite nice for a couple. It has a tub jacuzzi,steam bath and fireplace. Great location as we love to walk and walked downtown many times. Used to immaculate housekeeping in the resorts we stay in Mexico so maybe a little hard rating in this category as only the towels were tidied the three days we were there. Used to having the vanity and bathroom cleaned daily and the bed made. We also mentioned to the front desk upon leaving that queen sheets were on our king bed which made the fitted sheet bunch up at night. We should have mentioned it the first day as she said they would have corrected it immediatley. Overall though we would stay again and hope the housekeeping improves somewhat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youknowwhoIam, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, It was a pleasure to host your return visit. It is fantastic to hear from guests that have been staying with us over the years! We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I booked a one bedroom suite at the hotel expecting that there would be a seperate bedroom. However the "bedroom" isn't a bedroom at all, it is just seperated from the rest of the suite by the kitchen. (it's located in the middle of the room) Also, the "bedroom" is where the door opens from the hall, into the room. A little odd to say the least. It did come with a full kitchen, and a very large bathroom. The water is slow to drain but no biggie for us. I had a hard time getting to sleep, as there was a balcony light that shined all night long. I would have mentioned it to staff, but we were only there for one night attending a wedding, and got home late and exhausted. Also, the fridge made a loud humming sound, and turned on and off all night. On the bright side, it is a beautiful location! About a two minute drive to town, (or a 30 minute walk), it is away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Banff. (I also noticed there is a city bus stop right outside the hotel) We loved the location, as we like to be in a quieter area, closer to nature and walking trails. The staff were curt on the phone, but very friendly in person. I would suspect all the hotels in Banff are expensive...we paid over $200.00 for 2 adults, and 2 young people. All rooms are based on double occupancy, even in the rooms that sleep many more. They offer free coffee in the morning at the lobby as well as free parking. Please note, this is a no pet hotel. (odd to not have a few pet friendly rooms...this is Banff, many people take their dogs to hike with etc.) Also, we booked ahead thinking there would be no vacancies anywhere. As it turned out all the hotels in the area had vacancy signs on. Had we known, we would have waited and booked a pet friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Asks lots of questions to make you know exactly what you are are getting
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youknowwhoIam, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
I'm sorry to hear your stay wasn't to your satisfaction and hope we can improve based on your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is the second time we stayed at Tunnel Mountain Resort. Rooms are large, clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Fireplace in room with balcony that has 2 chairs and small table, perfect for morning coffee with a view. Nightlight in bathroom was great so you don't have to turn lights on in the middle of the night, lol. Steam shower and jetted tub were awesome! Overall great stay, highly recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youknowwhoIam, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
What a fantastic review, thank you for taking the time to share your experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We had the chance to stay in the "exectutive suite" and in the chalet. The chalet was a dump and we asked to be moved after the first night. After taking a cold shower (only enough hot water for one person to get a hot shower), I got in bed to find a hair underneath my pillow. After removing the hair, I relaxed in bed only to wonder how the previous guests had managed to smash bugs that were splattered across the ceiling. The next night in the executive suite was 100% better. The room had the appearance of being recently renovated (chalets were probably renovated in 1980s last) and was much cleaner and confortable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Just checked in and Im usually not fussy about room (I know cliche, cliche) HOWEVER, the room we're in, 167, is the worst room in the entire complex. It's right beside the entrance to the main floor where everyone must open and shut the door to get in.
If the bed were situated in the middle of the room it wouldn't be as bad but the bed is literally 10 inches from the door.
My main issue here was when we complained (very nicely) to the guest service agents they told us we would have to pay an upgrade fee of $50 to be moved elsewhere.
Unfortunately, due to this easily fixable problem, I will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort.Our 95 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.