We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banff´s best kept secret for the value offered” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tunnel Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Tunnel Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Banff´s best kept secret for the value offered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Our family has been celebrating Christmas in Banff for the past few years, this year we stayed at Tunnel Mountain Resort and were suprised with Banff´s best kept secret. Although it is a moderate property without luxuries we enjoyed the two jacuzzi tubs and pool. The staff is genuinely friendly and helpful, the two rooms that we had were sparkling clean and comfortably fit the 6 of us well. We have stayed at other hotels in Banff and Canmore that have kitchens as well (which is very convenient) but this kitchen and room were more practical (I loved the granite countertop too) and the price compared to the other places that we have stayed before is just unbeatable. The hotel is quiet and secluded and we all had a feel about really being in the mountains for real this time. The grandparents stayed at an excecutive suite that was very nice, even with a steam shower separated for the bathtub. New years eve was a liitle bit noisy but it was very well managed and completely expected on our end, overall I give this hotel an A+ because it combines the value and the rooms we need for our travelling needs.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youknowwhoIam, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, I am so pleased to read that you had a very enjoyable stay with us here in Banff, and that you enjoyed the amenities and wonderful staff that Tunnel Mountain Resort has to offer. Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    299
    131
    67
    40
See reviews for
238
353
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Stayed here on a Contiki tour for 2 nights. There were 3 of us in the Chalet, one person had the bedroom on the first floor and another girl and I had the 2 beds upstairs.
This Chalet was very comfortable, it was modern, it had a veranda/balcony we could sit on and relax in the fresh air. Wifi was excellent and the kitchen was very handy.
We cooked dinner one night, it was ok but there wasn't enough equipment to make spaghetti, we only had one pot and had to cook the meat in it (no saucepan), then the pasta in it which was kind of hard. Maybe reception had extras I am not sure.
There was a supermarket on the main street where you can buy food, but it may pay to check what you have to cook with before buying just so you know what is easiest.
Overall, it was really pleasant here, the bus stop is right near the Chalets and takes you into town and back easily. I really enjoyed this accommodation, especially at night when we all just relaxed with some drinks and snacks and watched tv and surfed the net. It was really relaxing and I have recommended this place to others who are traveling here this year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I wrote the review too noisy and we spoke to the manager all was rectified and it was only an issue due to it being new years eve and it is not a regular occurance

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Have been to the TMR before and it was pretty decent place during those visits. This past trip was in late December 2011 and we got to the chalet and the heat was not working. I notified the front desk and they sent a house keeping staff who did not know what to do, they then notified the maintenance who then showed up an hour later and tightened the belt on the furnace fan. This worked for a little while but then noticed that the heat quit blowing again. It was a good thing this was found before we went to bed that night, as we had two babies in the chalet and would have woken up pretty cold, I then called the front desk again and later heard maintenance banging around in there hours later, louder than needed to replace the fan motor. We didn't get heat in our place till after midnight. The furnace inspection sheet on the furnace door showed that it was last inspected or worked on back in 2005, six years ago. I asked to talk with the manager and they wouldn't even let me talk to them and I waited in the morning for the manager to come in before we went to the hill and they kept giving us different times of when they would arrive, we waited and no one came. I think for a family that has attended your establishment and got that kind of service, least the manager could have come addressed the situation. In the end they gave us a discount on the the room price but we spent over 50% of the time in cold and having to ensure that their staff would provide us with the basic necessity heat in the winter.
In the morning though even with the heat, the one room by the furnace was boiling hot and the rest of the chalet was still chilly. Also the stove fan and the dishwasher both didn't work, i would suspect from their inspection procedures.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youknowwhoIam, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Thank you for the review and I do apologize for the unforeseeable issues that we experienced with your furnace. Please be assured that we do inspect and clean our furnaces / hot water heaters / fireplaces and chimneys annually as part of our fire inspection certificate. Sudden maintenance issues such as malfunctioning blower belts are completely unpredictable and we do try and rectify these sudden challenges with our 24 hour maintenance services. Obviously our skilled maintenance staff was unable to rectify your situation however I assure you this is a very rare occurrence. I apologize again and please contact me directly if you would like to discuss this matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I sent his email after our experience there.

My husband and I had reservations on this past Saturday night. This was to celebrate my 40th birthday. We had reserved the room quite some time ago and were SO excited to stay there.
Luckily for us my husband had lost his wallet the same week and of course everything from driver’s license to credit cards were gone which was bad enough in itself.
So I brought cash to pay for our room. We get there and because we did not have a credit card to put $50 lousy dollars for a pre-authorization, we were told that we could not stay there and out reservation was revoked. I even offered to pay the extra amount in cash to no avail.
I understand policies but I mean there was not even any consideration to the fact that we had come from Calgary for what was supposed to be a very special night. And given the circumstances, there should have been some leniency. I mean what ever happened to customer service????
Our evening and my 40th birthday was absolutely ruined and we ended up driving back to Calgary. I thank the Tunnel Mountain Resort for giving me a special day to remember.

The email above was sent to Tunnel Mountain after our experience and no one even bothered to reply back.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youknowwhoIam, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. We did not receive the below review via email however I am happy to respond at this point. I apologize for the confusion in regards to what is required to check into our property. As with every other hotel in Banff, we require a major credit card and a piece of photo I.D. We communicate this required information numerous times throughout the reservation process and have different options guests can use PRIOR TO ARRIVAL should they not have a major credit card. This industry standard requirement is to protect our guests and the hotel. I can understand the frustration of losing a wallet; however we do not have procedures to accommodate such situations. We pride ourselves in our high level of customer service and feel we are not being unreasonable in asking for this minimum industry standard requirement. Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience and please contact me directly if you wish to discuss this matter in further detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We have been several times at TMR. Just excellent. Rooms are great, and the location is amazing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I have stayed here 3 times now with my wife and friends. Every time we go we find the service awesome and very friendly. The beds in the rooms are comfy and one of the best I have ever slept on (travel a lot due to work). Last time we stayed in the Chalet and they had a real wood fireplace! The wood was even complementary. Overall experience was fantastic and will have to say for the price you will not find a better place in all of Alberta!

Room Tip: Chalets are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youknowwhoIam, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are happy to hear it was enjoyable and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,704 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
#14 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 763 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.