We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to sleep don't turn on the furnace” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tunnel Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Tunnel Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Western Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“If you want to sleep don't turn on the furnace”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

The resort is very peaceful and quiet until the furnace turns on in the middle of the night. You would think a jet engine started up outside your room.
The bedding is old school thin blanket and bedspread.
The units are showing their age.
We stayed 2 nights and the room wasn't cleaned after the first night. The sheets were pulled up on all the beds but one ?? New towels and that was it.
Try the Douglas Fir instead.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P&ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Let's be honest - if you just want stay in Banff and not pay Banff rates then this is your place. We got a pretty good deal online that was much lower than the other placed we booked our trip. But just as well.

To start with, the staff at the desk while not rude were not friendly either. Then they make you hand over your credit card for a $1500 'security pre-authorisation' - even if you've already paid up beforehand. And honestly when you see the room I don't know why they bother - they are dark with no light or fresh air in the bedroom, kitchen or bathroom and very old and dated furniture and fittings.
Also disappointing was that after signing a declaration to acknowledge that the room was non-smoking we found that our room stunk ok cigarette smoke. To their credit the staff were accommodating in moving us but the housekeeping or management team should have dealt with it before renting it out to the next unsuspecting visitors.

Also, the lack of fresh air would be a major problem in summer - we were hot overnight and it was the fall!

Overall, it's cheap and you get what you pay for but it was the lowlight of our trip accommodation-wise.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbalic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High River, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

For $350.00 per night we rented a loft chalet with a kitchenette. This place is old and musty. It's in desparate need of a renovation. It doesn't look like the sheets, bedding or drapes were ever replaced or updated since the place opened. The pull out couch had to be 30 years old, or it was dirty enough to seem that way. Spills and spashes on the walls, dirty floors, old worn out lamps half of which didn't work. The word 'bedbugs' came up. Seriously, how can you justify the cost for such a dive? Guess demand is higher that supply in Banff justifying robbery to unsuspecting travellers.
Although the location and views are spectacular, I'm sorry to say, I would never stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Not H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We reserved suite with loft many months ago per tripadvisor good reviews. It had a good location for us away from downtown but close for quick drive to get whatever you need from town. Suite was very roomy and easy access to car.
There very few faults though: bed was quite soft and had a huge covet that weighted " a ton", room service was very average and for that price I would like to have a bathtub and toilet cleaned at least once in 10 days. They have no separate parking for buses so one morning we were waken by bus under our balcony warming his engine for good 30 min at 6 am. I think next time I will check some other places.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bozenaclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed...and will stay here the next time we come back. Since there are only 2 of us, we have only gotten use out of the executive suite...but the chalets look just a nice. Spacious room, fireplace, balcony and updated bathroom. Staff are always friendly!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieAGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

You can't beat the price of executive suite here. We have compared 5 other hotels and finally end up for 3 nights there. It's very good for hikers with a car as it's not on the main street. However the room is very spacious with gas fireplace, bathroom with mini sauna which is very handy after a few hours hike in the Rockies.
Swimming pool and whirlpool are small but good enough to relax for a while. The minus is that pool area is not connected directly to the main hotel so you have to mąkę a short walk outside.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richosad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
84 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I recently stayed in this resort with 4 friends in a loft chalet. The place was nice and clean. Only complainant was it was a little hot and the place didn't have ac you can open the windows but then you can hear everything going on outside from couples chatting to car alarm beeps. The location was a very short bus ride into town which was nice. I enjoyed my stay here the kitchen and patio was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gijadenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,796 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
#15 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Tunnel Mountain Chalet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing