We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tunnel Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Tunnel Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Prince Albert, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed...and will stay here the next time we come back. Since there are only 2 of us, we have only gotten use out of the executive suite...but the chalets look just a nice. Spacious room, fireplace, balcony and updated bathroom. Staff are always friendly!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    257
    115
    52
    34
See reviews for
195
309
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011 via mobile

You can't beat the price of executive suite here. We have compared 5 other hotels and finally end up for 3 nights there. It's very good for hikers with a car as it's not on the main street. However the room is very spacious with gas fireplace, bathroom with mini sauna which is very handy after a few hours hike in the Rockies.
Swimming pool and whirlpool are small but good enough to relax for a while. The minus is that pool area is not connected directly to the main hotel so you have to mąkę a short walk outside.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011 via mobile

I recently stayed in this resort with 4 friends in a loft chalet. The place was nice and clean. Only complainant was it was a little hot and the place didn't have ac you can open the windows but then you can hear everything going on outside from couples chatting to car alarm beeps. The location was a very short bus ride into town which was nice. I enjoyed my stay here the kitchen and patio was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed for more than a week. The room was updated with a nice bath and flat panel TV, included a microwave and mini fridge. Our room overlooked Rundle Mt - first night had an awesome view of the moon rising over the mtn. Parking was a bit crowded but we always managed to find a spot. For more privacy book an upper room. Our room was on the lower floor, near a walking path. It was not a busy path but we did need to be more careful. Bus out front goes right to town. It's a bit priciey for frequent trips - we only used it on the weekend. The washers/dryers were out of order - we had to go downtown for laundry and this was one of the reasons we picked the hotel. We had to request a change of sheets, even after 5 days. If the amenities were working and the room servcies was better I'd have rated this higher. Overall we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: If you take an Executive Room book a room on the upper floor for more privacy, it's closer to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We enjoyed the economy suite for decided to have supper and breakfast in due to it being a cold and rainy day. Was nice to have extra space for the "down day". Though the room was a bit dated we found it quite comfortable with four rooms - bedroom, kitchen, front room and bathroom. Quite friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Though there were just 2 of us, we ended up in a suite with 2 bedrooms (master was a loft), 1-1/2 baths, living room and full kitchen, at a reasonable price (midweek discount). There was a wood burning fireplace (we didn't use), a balcony, sleep sofa, and many TVs. We also had use of a decent fitness room, steam and dry saunas and jacuzzi, gas BBQ, indoor pool and hot tub. The jacuzzi was great after long day hikes with a pack. The location is outside of town. It's a walkable distance, but up a long hill (and there is bus service too). Across the street is a liquor store, convenience store, and some indoor play areas for kids (including a water slide, I believe). We were happy not to be in downtown Banff. The street is active until late due to very late summer sunsets. The extra elevation and sparser surroundings allowed a nice breeze. Staff was friendly. Our only complaint is that there could be some more furniture in the loft bedroom--at least to put bags on. No A/C (common in Banff and northward), but lots of ventilation through sliding doors and windows. Banff cools off at night in the summer, so it's easy to keep the room comfortable with some common sense.

Room Tip: Stay midweed for a 15% discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

First let me say that you can't beat the view ANYWHERE in Banff. Everywhere you look there is something spectacular. The Tunnel Mountain Resort had great views in every direction. We stayed in a one bedroom suit, and it was average. The front door opened to the bedroom, and then there was a galley kitchen which led to the living room. There was a fireplace which was nice, and a killer view of the mountains. The place was adequate, we didn't experience any issues, but it was a little dated. I wouldn't say that it was run down, but it certainly could stand to be updated. The kitchen was stocked with plates, utensils and the like, which was nice. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was nice and hot. Overall it was a nice enough place. There was nothing spectacular about it, but we got a great price and I would stay there again if the price was right. It was clean and housekeeping came each day. On the second day there we were on the deck and a moose came wandering through the grounds, which was really cool to see. The place is very close to town and easy to get to with plenty of parking. It was an awesome trip and a decent hotel. Also, there is a little soap shop on main street call The Rocky Mountain Soap Co. I bought some locally made soaps and they are GREAT!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a one bedroom suite..I would try for the executive rooms as they looked nicer online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort.Our 95 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.