We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in the mountain cabin” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Tunnel Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canada
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
“Stayed in the mountain cabin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Best value for your money, facilities were very clean and they have hot tubs and a pool but you need a car to get down to the main town strip where all the shops and restaurants are. It is located up a large hill and there is no magnificent views from here if that is what you are looking for.
The front staff are not very friendly and the beds were not the most comfortable but worth the price for what you got because most other places in banff are much more expensive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    241
    107
    45
    34
See reviews for
180
289
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Just spent three nights with family, we booked two executive suites via Expedia at an amazing rate.

We arrived with mixed expectations based on some mediocre reviews and were pleasantly surprised!

Both suites were huge and featured king beds with 40" flat screed TV, separate sitting area with leather sofa and large deck, but the wow was the bathroom!!, huge jacuzzi tub, steam shower, double vanities with granite counters, all looked recently reno'd ... also microwave and fridge. Rooms were spotless as well, as views included Mt. Rundle, the morning light was especially dramatic and I enjoyed my coffee on the deck both mornings!

The location was ideal, up a short hill from town, about a 15 minute walk but you had the feeling you were camping, surrounded by forests with mountain views on all sides!

Didn't use the pool or hot tubs and the bathrooms were like your own private spa!!

I was reluctant to write this as I wished to keep Tunnel Mtn Resort a family secret.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

This was our first vacation as a couple and we absolutely loved the resort! We stayed in the executive suite for 5 nights, the tub and steam shower were fantastic and we spent a lot of time at the "spa" that the resort has - a huge hot tub, steam room and sauna. We found the location of the resort very convenient as it was not right in busy downtown Banff, but up the hill and a bus stop was right outside the main entrance so we didn't have to worry about driving/parking in Banff. Bus fare is only $2 or $5 for a day trip so we bussed everywhere. Really nice and helpful staff and an overall great place to spend your vacation!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Good value in a slightly older style resort. The resort is on the outskirts of the town so a car is useful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Good place if you have a car.
We stayed at 2011 Canada day. And price was just right.

Kitchenette is good for those who can manage to use fridge and microwave:-) Outside BBQ handy as well.

Make sure - do not use hotel hot tub, swimming pool, ets!
Chlorine level was so high - our swimming suites got discoloration! Skin rush in some places accommodate this "bonus".

Other then this - its not bad.

We stayed before in Douglas Fir, just across the road. Price was 40% higher but what the difference in location, facilities and services.

We got our lesson - saving of money sometime lead to big and unexpected losses...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONdon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We had an amazing trip to the beautiful Town of Banff.
Had some friends request Tunnel Mountain Resort and were very happy to have been steered in that direction. The Chalet's were impresive!! We had a 2 Floor Loft Chalet style room. with a back yard, fireplace and facing out to the forest. It was very spacious and comfortable.
The pool and work out area was good. But the Location is the Best.

Located on top of Tunnel Mountain, there are some great hikes right around the resort.

Trust me check it out!!! Worth the Money!!!
We look forward to another return trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011 via mobile

Bedroom is at front of unit and a little stuffy. Bedroom small and not well ventilated during summer stay. Kitchen and living area nice. Would stay again.
Better than just okay. Not great. Lodge has interior extension cord used outdoors to hook up exterior lighting. Safe?

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort.Our 95 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.