We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't complain!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Banff Aspen Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rockies Safari Package
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't complain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Stayed at the Aspen Lodge from 1st January for a week. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and it served a purpose.
The included breakfast was substantional and what is required prior to a mornings skiing. The location was perfect, with a quick 10 minute stroll you had a choice of numerous of restaurants and bars / pubs.
On our 1st night we found our room to be extremely hot , apparently due to the room being above the pipes! The heat became unbearable but the caring staff did all they could to help us and resulted us in moving rooms on day 2. The rooms were spacious and perfectly adequate for the 2 of us, apparently they do sleep 4 ,but the space i didnt feel was big enough for 4 people.
The hot tubs were great especially after a day on the slopes, a bit of a chilly walk to access them but this goes without saying in a ski resort.,
All in all i would say great value for money, friendly and helpful staff and we had a very pleasent enjoyable visit to Banff and the Aspen Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    379
    89
    30
    18
See reviews for
174
449
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks over the Christmas and New Year period. The reception staff were very helpul and always went out of there way to ask how our day was. This especially applies to Samantha and Gary who were extremely helpful and friendly, these two people are an asset to the hotel. The only downside to our trip was the cleaniness of our hotel room. Overall we will definatley be visiting Banff again and would consider staying at the Aspen Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. I’m so glad our Front Desk staff were able to make you feel at home; this is exactly what we want to accomplish! I’ve have passed your review onto the Front Office Manager so that she can let her team know how much you appreciated them.

The Banff Aspen Lodge is an Alberta Hotel and Lodging Association Housekeeping Award winner for 2011 and 2010, so your comments about the room cleanliness surprises me. Can you please tell me the guestroom that you stayed in so that I can ensure this is investigated? Sent me an email at sales@banffaspenlodge.com.

Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you on your next Banff vacation.
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Having read the reviews here on Trip Advisor we had high hopes for our stay over Christmas and New Year 2010. Overall this hotel has the barebones of a very good hotel and has the potential to be an excellent hotel. It was the little things that massively let it down.

Below we have listed the positives and negatives of our stay.

Positives:
• Clean, quiet and comfortable rooms. Great beds, powerful shower and free Wi-Fi in all rooms. (Wi fi crashes occasionally though)
• Friendly front of house staff and breakfast staff
• Hot tub is great
• Location for town & restaurants very good, a 5 minute walk.

Negatives:
• No sliding electric doors at front entrance, they have two sets of heavy swinging doors making carrying ski’s in and out every day difficult.
• On arrival, no assistance or offer of assistance with luggage up to our rooms at check-in. This would be standard in 3* European hotels.
• We brought our own wine to have in our room and asked if we could ‘borrow’ a couple of wine glasses. Unfortunately the hotel did not have any that could be sent to our room. We also ordered take away one night and we needed some cutlery, we rang reception who informed us that the kitchen area was locked up but we could purchase a plastic knife and fork from the gift shop for 50 cents!!! Unbelievable that a hotel (which is ranked 6th out of 32 on Trip Advisor) does not have wine glasses or cutlery available for their guests and suggests that we purchase plastic ones from their tacky gift shop!!
• The breakfast in the hotel is free but is very average. You get, fruit juice, coffee, toast, fruit and cereal. Fairly sub standard, compared to European hotels where you get fresh cold meats and cheese to make a sandwich! In addition, one of us drinks Soya Milk which the kitchen could not provide either. Again, not difficult to have a carton of Soya kept in the fridge for guests!
• The girls on the front desk were extremely friendly throughout our stay. That said, they were all lacking in ‘local knowledge’. We feel this is a reflection of the management not training their staff effectively. When you stay at a hotel, the front desk is your ‘knowledge centre’, but when we asked simple questions like what time the supermarket closed or times of busses to the ski areas, we were given vague and uncertain answers nor given reassurance that our question would be answered or followed up i.e ringing the supermarket for us to ask when they close! Not very difficult. (Yes, there is a notice board in the lobby with supermarket open/close times on it but over xmas these times were irrelevant.)
• In the lobby area of the hotel is a lounge area with fireplace and a gift shop. These appeared to be used very infrequently. I think the hotel would benefit far more if it had a bar which sold drinks and snacks was there instead.

Overall we enjoyed our time in Banff, the skiing was good and it was nice to have 3 ski areas to chose from. Guests must be warned that to get the bus to Sunshine Village (one of the main ski areas) its about a 12 minute walk from Banff Aspen lodge to the pick up point in town, quite far when you’re carrying ski’s and in boots. The Bus to Lake Louise however leaves from the next door hotel, 1 min walk. The price we paid for the Banff Aspen lodge we do not feel represents what we received in terms of service. We don’t know whether to be annoyed with Trip Advisor or the hotel but either way don’t pay too much attention that this hotel is rated 6th out of 32 in Banff. My guess is that in reality its mid range.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Thank you for your review and I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

The Banff Aspen Lodge is a limited service hotel. As there is no dinner restaurant or bar located in the hotel, we do not have wine glasses on-site. Cutlery is not provided for guests as we include breakfast in our room rates and the majority of our guests enjoy their other meals at one of the many restaurants in Banff.

Our Canadian Rockies Continental Breakfast consists of fresh bread, baked goods, yogurt, fruit salad and different types of cereals (including our delicious homemade granola). This breakfast is very popular and it is unfortunate you didn’t enjoy it. I have spoken with the Breakfast Room Manager about the soya milk and should this have been requested before your arrival, we would have definitely accommodated your request.

Thank you for your comments on our Front Desk staff and I’m sorry that they did not provide you with your requested information. I have discussed this with our Front Office Manager and it has been addressed with the staff.

I’m glad you enjoyed our newly renovated guestrooms, two outdoor hot tubs and the hotel staff. We are proud of our TripAdvisor rating and feel it is a very accurate portrayal of the Banff Aspen Lodge.
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Excellent quality, clean and comfortable room with great views of surrounding mountains, room was also very quiet, even though we over looked Banff Ave.
Breakfast was varied with top ups of juice & coffee as required.
Hotel staff were knowledgeable & courteous at all times, if you have a query, speak to Samantha on reception and it will be sorted.
Hot tub & sauna enabled us to wind down after action packed days.
Would be even better with the addition of an in-house coffee shop.
Overall we had a great 2 week stay and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Banff Aspen Lodge! Our newly renovated guestrooms are quite popular and the Front Desk team do their best to ensure all guests enjoy themselves. The two outdoor hot tubs with an outdoor fireplace, steam room and sauna are definitely a favorite way to relax after a day exploring Banff National Park; I’m happy you were able to enjoy!
For those people who want to check out the local coffee shops, the closest one is only two blocks away; around at three minute walk.
Looking forward to having you stay with us again!
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

This is not a "hotel" its a base to sleep and have a good continental breakfast. If you can sleep with all the noise of the elevators, ice machines, door slamming, hot tub shouting and people stomping around in ski boots at 6am in the morning! there is no bar, no restaurant, no comfortable sitting room to relax in the evenings. You might just as well go to the YWCA!! Yes the hot tubs are nice with the fire and everything but thats it really! We were roomed in front of the elevator on the second floor and its so noisy! Our boys were roomed outside above the hot tub area, very noisy and very cold for them if they left the door open too long. we booked a ski package and when we arrived at 3pm the ski passes were not ready we had to wait an hour for the accounts lady to get back, and her attitude sucked by the way! by the time we got to Sunshine it was closing so a waste of one day pass! Go to The Fox!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Thank you for your review. The hotel is a limited service property, meaning we do not have a full service restaurant/bar. There are restaurants on both sides of the hotel and a larger selection of restaurants and bars are available in downtown Banff; a three minute walk from the hotel. We do have a fireplace lounge located off our lobby available for guests to relax in.

It is unfortunate that you did not come to the Front Desk to let us know that you were unhappy with where your guestrooms were situated within the hotel. We would have done our best to find alternate rooms that were better suited for your group.

There was a misunderstanding between our staff in regards to the ski passes and I am sorry that this affected your time in the area. The ski tickets are not date specific and can be used any day, so you were able to use them the next day.

I hope you enjoyed your time in Banff National Park.
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

The location was perfect. It was a 10 minute walk down and past the stores, hotels, restaurants, and bars to the end of the main strip. The area being so close to the main action was far quieter than expected.

The staff were fantastic. Many came from other countries such as Ireland, Britain, and Australia as did many of the tourists and employees of the area businesses. They always smiled and asked how things went.

The hotel had been recently renovated. The room was not so large, but it kept my brother and I, both big people, very content for 8 days in 2 queen beds. The rooms were kept clean with fresh towels and accessories every day. There was plenty of sheltered parking and heated underground parking for about 12 cars. The main lobby had a reading and computer area off to the side with a faux fireplace, chairs, and desks. The Wireless internet was easy to use and available throughout the hotel. There were 2 open air hot tubs and a sauna that felt great after a day of skiing, though no pool. The hotel had ski storage just behind the main desk outside.

The hotel provided a free breakfast every morning, which, though slim in offering, certainly had enough to fill a skier up til lunch. The price paid was a bargain for what one might have expected in such a good hotel with such a good location. Aside from breakfast, no other meals are served in the hotel. However, a 5 minute walk gives many fine restaurants.

Recommended absolutely.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Thank you so much for this review; I have passed it onto all departments so that everyone knows how much you enjoyed your time at the hotel! I'm glad you were able to take advantage of the hotel's amenities including our outdoor hot tubs and complimentary parking, wireless internet and continental breakfast.
Hope to see you again soon!
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Stayed for three nights over Christmas, we had a newly renovated room with one bed and sofa & coffee table arrangement - it was lovely. The room size was great and we had a little balcony. There was a kettle and fridge in the room which was useful - though could have lived without it seeing as you get a complimentary breakfast. The shower was ok, the heated floor was a nice surprise on my toes! One of our only complaints was the quality of the towels. They were without doubt the thinnest ones I've ever used, void of all fluff and softness! But, I guess seeing as the budget has gone on refurbishing the whole hotel this year it's more than forgivable.
The breakfast itself was simple but had more than enough to fuel you for the day.
The reception staff were all very helpful.
The free wireless internet was a bit disappointing. It was pretty slow and kept failing, don't rely on it working well enough for Skype or anything.
The two hot tubs looked inviting, though we didn't use them.
Location wise, the Aspen was ideal, a very short walk to the main shops and restaurant.
The free underground, heated parking is as previously noted quite limited, but we always managed to grab a space.
Paid a very reasonable price for the room and will definitely try to get a room here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel and getaroom.com so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.