We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Save Saved
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

What a lovely little hotel. Loved the decor -warm lodgey and modern combined- I kept
saying to my husband "who ever designed the interiors of this hotel knew what they were
doing". Very clean, and the staff are friendly. Loved the modern relaxing outdoor hot tubs. Excellent location, close to everything, yet far enough from the crowds. The beds were comfortable, the only down fault was the noise from the passing train which kept waking me up throughout the night. Over all great experience, we'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2010
Thank you for the review. The hotel has undergone a lot of renvoations over the past few years and I too love "warm lodgey / modern" feel that the Banff Aspen Lodge has! The train does use its horn whenever it passes through town to alert any animals on the train tracks that it is passing through. Looking forward to having you stay with us again~
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    297
    75
    27
    14
See reviews for
141
357
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

Lovely staff, very clean, excellent value and location.
Had an updated "premium" room with modern decor, very comfy Qun beds, a good amount of space and convenient room fridge. Banff Ave was fun to watch from the balcony.
Hot tub was a lovely perk as was the quaint breakfast room.
We will be back in the autumn :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

We received a very friendly welcome and were allocated a more than adequately sized double bedroom with balcony and bathroom. Good quality and very clean. The lodge is pretty central with off road car parking (some under cover). After reporting a noisy fridge (which was then switched off) we enjoyed two very good nights sleep - but without the amenity of a fridge (point for action by the hotel). We used the central hot-tub - not too crowded although some guests failed to pay attention to the "no drinks" sign - and I was not seeking to do the management's job. The breakfasts were self service in the basement area but were supported by very friendly and accommodating staff - your coffee cups were never empty and we were supplied with local newspapers with the additional bonus of no TV! The communal area with computer access was comfortable and the wi-fi was accessible, although only effectively in the foyer and common area - struggled a bit from the bedroom. Altogether a very good experience, reasonably priced with friendly staff. Very repeatable.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnham-on-crouch
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Since we last stayed at this hotel they have refurbished some of the rooms (ours included) to a high standard. Our room fronted Banff Ave, but with double-glazed patio doors to balcony it was very quiet. Continental breakfast was included in rate and is served in delightful basement dining room. Staff were efficient and friendly. Hotel is only short walk to main shops and restaurants. Plenty of parking was available at rear and in underground car park.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

We were traveling with friends and on motorbikes. We were hiking Mount Rundle for the day so we arrived early on our bikes, The hotel was great about letting us leave our bikes in the underground parking for the day, before we had actually checked in. Our room was on the main floor, main street side, so a bit noisy, but the room was great. The bedroom area is away from the street side, so ok for sleeping. Hot tub is great after a long hard day!!! This was our second time staying there because the other thing we liked is its location. You are a 10 minute walk to everything you could need, but far enough away not to feel too congested.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

My Cousin and I were searching for a hotel in Banff to spend 4 days before heading west to a conference in B.C. We were courteously welcomed at the front desk of the Banff Aspen Lodge. Most of the rooms were newly renovated - all were very clean and spacious. We liked the idea of the sink being outside of the bathroom and it had many little glass shelves at the side to take cosmetics and such, so as to not clutter the sink area. The beds were very comfortable, the television had all the programming we desired, especially the NHL games on CBC, the news and the weather stations.
The two outdoor pools were nestled in between the 3 levels of rooms, open to the sky. The weather was cool for May but we loved relaxing in the hot pools, followed by the sauna. The pool temperature was comparable to the 39 C at both Sulphur Springs and Radium Hot Springs. It was a real treat.
The parking was convenient, just at the back of the hotel and it was all sheltered. It made carrying the bags in very easy.
There was a little shop off the front foyer where we could access post cards and snacks.
The Internet was available, for a small cost, in a comfortable seating room off the foyer.
The breakfast room was unbelievably great. Each day we were asked what juice and hot beverage we desired. Our mugs and glasses were refilled many times. The central table held nicely displayed breakfast items such as cereals and fresh granola, a large bowl of yogurt, a large bowl of freshly cut fruit, boiled eggs, fresh sweet breads and muffins and lots of toasting items.The room was beautifully decorated with framed paintings, photos and artifacts. It was completely inviting.
On our return trip to take the flight out of Calgary we returned to the Aspen Lodge. This time our room had two queen beds separated by the bathroom and we each had our own sink. We walked downtown as usual, brought back some food to enjoy while watching the NHL playoffs. Then back to the hot pool and the sauna.
The Aspen is located right on Banff St. so is convenient walking to many restaurants and all the shopping. It was perfect for us. We returned during this short, 2 week trip and would certainly stay at the Aspen again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

I recently stayed at the Aspen Lodge in Banff. It has been renovated just recently and is really modern and beautiful. It is a quaint little hotel with lots to offer. It is on the main street but far enough away you avoid the crowds but still close enough to walk. The small hot tub by the fire place (outdoors) was closed but I'm assuming for only a short period of time. The continental breakfast was also very nice.
I have stayed at many hotels in Banff (expensive and cheap) and I would recommend this one to a friend.

It's one of my favorite places in the world!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Canadian Rockies Continental Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and just a short stroll to downtown Banff. All rooms are carefully furnished and decorated with panoramic mountain views. Amenities include 2 outdoor hot tubs with an outdoor fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, gift shop, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, wireless internet ($), internet access terminal ($) and laundry facilities ($). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.