We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again no worroes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Banff Aspen Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rockies Safari Package
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Would stay again no worroes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2006

I did not know about these reviews for hotels but they was great. The Travellers Inn was tops. It has a great position so close to the shops so the kids did not mind the walk. The shuttle bus stopped right outside the hotel which was great. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. Rooms OK, nothing flash, we only slept there. We are coming back this year and will book into the hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    373
    87
    30
    18
See reviews for
170
442
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2006

We stayed at the Banff Aspen Lodge for 11 nights during March. Although the location looked good, we didn't really know much about the hotel, so were expecting the worst.
When we arrived, we noticed the appearance of the hotel was better than the photos shown on most of the sites and in brochures. The rooms were large, ours had a king sized bed and a lounge area. Patio doors led out onto the balcony and considering our room faced onto Banff Avenue, we hardly noticed any traffic noise and even slept with the window open on a few ocassions.
The room was extremely clean, the bed made daily and fresh towels every day if required. The continental breakfast was plentiful with ample choice.
The hotel staff really couldn't do enough for you. Nothing was too much.
We wouldn't think twice about booking into this hotel again - infact we're considering going back next year!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Beautiful Island of Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2006

Stayed here for a week whilst skiing in the area with my 12y/o son & we both really liked it. The room we had was huge, with 2 beds in one room & a lounge with large sofa, TV & balcony. The hot tub was a God send after a long days skiing & was great for meeting fellow guests. There is underground parking, as well as outside parking at the rear of the hotel & we never had any trouble getting a space. Location is ideal for going into town, 2mins walk & there is a supermarket 2 blocks away.
In fact my son liked it so much we are going back this year & staying in the same room (at his request!).

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2006

Banff Aspen lodge is conveniently situated at the heart of the Town. Accessible to shops and restaurants with a private underground parking area.

Now here's the negative part. We booked a 3 night stay, 2 months prior to arrival. The room was not ready when we got there. we waited in the lobby for a long time.When we finally got the room, we found numerous hair stands on the bed sheet,some stains on sheets, the carpet was so filthy. We had to call housekeeping to change the filthy bedding.

The tub was disgusting. The continental breakfast was not the best and make sure you come down early because they stop bringing out decent food at 830 in the morning.

Overall, it was a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2006

We just completed a four night stay at the Banff Aspen Lodge. We paid a total of $515.00 Canadian and that included ski passes for two (worth $64.00 each) and two passes to the Banff Upper Hot Springs (worth $8.00 each). It also included breakfast each morning. Breakfast consisted of delicious fresh fruit salad (pineapple, cantelope, apples), assorted dry cereals, muffins, bread, butter, jams, yogurt, orange juice, coffee, and milk. The quality and choices were consistent each day. The space where you eat breakfast is very nice and the staff who brought us our drinks were always pleasant.

We stayed in a premium room that included a couch and a king sized bed. It was room 334. We thought it was a great room for the price. It was spacious, clean, & all the furnishings were updated. The bed had a pillow top mattress cover. If you are used to a hard mattress that could be a bit of a concern. I was concerned at first but didn't have any problem sleeping. The room was quiet. I could faintly here the TV in the room next door when all was quiet in our room but it wasn't loud enough to keep us awake.

The hot tub was really nice after a long day of skiing or sight seeing. We met some really nice people from various countries while soaking in the hot tub. We found the atmosphere at the hotel is really laid back and friendly.

The regular rooms looked fairly small and the entry doors are on the exterior (like a motel). Our premium room and I think most of the other premium rooms are inside the hotel, meaning the door to your room opens up to a warm hallway versus the outdoors.

The hotel is extremely convenient to downtown Banff. It's just a few minute walk. We loved that aspect and it will definitely be part of the reason why we will return to this hotel. A few summers ago we stayed at the Rim Rock which sits way up on a hill. Walking to town and back would have been very tiring. We drove to town during that stay and parking was very furstrating and challenging.

Overall our stay at the Banff Aspen Lodge was very nice and a very good value.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2006

I stayed at the Aspen Lodge when away on a ski weekend with some friends. Staff offered exceptional service and I loved the outdoor hot tub, steam room and sauna. The hotel would be a good place to stay for both families or a group of friends. It is located just two blocks away from the main downtown area, making it the perfect location when looking for food, drinks or shops. A continental breakfast is included in the rate and I found this was the perfect way to start the day, especially when going skiing. The rooms are a good size and reasonably priced. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone who is travelling to Banff!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JackRabbit Systems, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.