We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Banff Aspen Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rockies Safari Package
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed 20th & 21st May
A very nice hotel a couple of minutes walk to the main shopping area with underground or street parking. Staff were friendly and efficient at check in and helpful during our stay. We had a spacious premium queen room with two queen beds on the second floor. The beds were separated by the bathroom, so there were two separate sleeping areas. There was a balcony which overlooked a side street, with an apartment building across the street and a view of a snow capped mountain. The room was quiet and even with the balcony door open it was pretty quiet.
Breakfast was included in the room rate and had some cooked items as well as a good continental range. We made use of the guest laundry, although there is only one washing machine and dryer.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    383
    89
    30
    18
See reviews for
175
452
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Banff Aspen Inn is a couple of blocks from the main shopping area, and you can easily walk to shops and restaurants. Our third floor premier twin room was stylish, large and comfortable, with a view from a small patio across Banff Avenue to mountains. There was an elevator from the lobby, but we had to use an outdoor walkway to get to our room, which might be a problem in winter. Windows opening on to the walkway from the separate sleeping area help with ventilation, but can make the room noisy at times. The sleeping area was small, but there was a generous living area with a comfortable three seat sofa and matching arm chair, a small table with two chairs, a large coffee table and a small refrigerator. The rooms were bright and very well lit at night, with lots of ceiling lamps. There was a pod coffee maker and a kettle, and a second flat screen TV in the sleeping area. There is no air conditioning, which was not a problem while we were there in late May, and you can get a breeze through the room, which should help in summer. Breakfast included a good choice of hot dishes, pastries, cereal and fruit, but the breakfast room is small, the staff seemed overworked, and we had to wait a while to be seated. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The real test of a hotel is when something doesn't go quite right. On that test alone this hotel passed with flying colours. Superb service. Overall the rooms are modern and bright, well equipped and the beds and linen lovely and comfy. The spa area is super, and the breakfast is also really enjoyable. The hotel is in a great location and has very secure parking. Would definitely choose this hotel again if returning to Banff.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at Banff Aspen Lodge for two nights and the room was quite decent. Friendly staff at front desk. We thought the washroom inside our room was a little tight but manageable. Breakfast in the morning was great. The only downside is they have limited parking space so if you can't find a parking spot, you'll have to park on the street (no extra charge) but we had a 3 yr old with us so it was a bit of hassle to find parking on the street and then walk back to the hotel.

Room Tip: good place to spend few nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed here for two nights. It was a perfect spot for my husband 16 year old stepdaughter and I. We had a room overlooking the courtyard and hot pools. It was beautiful. the view of th mountains was outside our patio doors! Amazing! The breakfast was perfect as was the service. The rooms are clean and well equipped. The location is perfect in downtown Banff so you can walk to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our tour group were booked in here for 1 night, why i do not know, because it is a nightmare getting in and out of the hotel and the restaurant was closed for evening meals.
The foyer was closed so we had to enter in single file, up a temporary wooden bridge, straight into one of the administration offices. Not very satisfactory for older people, as most of us had to wait in the main street, before we could be checked in.
To gain entrance to our room, was a nightmare, as after we all walked around the floor in circles, we discovered that some of the rooms were outside, in a quadrangle overlooking the pool, which would have been nice if they informed us at check-in, or there were some signs, giving directions to these rooms.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I traveled to Banff for the May long weekend. Upon arrival we were told that our room had been complimentary upgraded to a premium room from a superior room. Unfortunately, we were put on the ground floor with no mountain views, also, they said the bed was a queen, but it seemed small compared to my queen at home. That was disappointing. However, that was the only disappointment about the hotel. The location was great and offered free parking which is a plus. The rate included breakfast each morning. It was fantastic. It featured scrambled eggs, two types of sausage, bacon, bread, fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, etc. We enjoyed the buffet every morning. Another great feature about this hotel is the two outdoor hot tubs. One is bigger and the other is smaller and situated in front of an outdoor fire place. The only issue with those was that we found them not quite hot enough. But nontheless, it was a great way to end the day of walking, hiking and seeing all that Banff has to offer. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here if in Banff again. The hotel lobby was being renovated while we were there but you'd never know as it was very quiet. All the staff we dealt with were very friendly, professional and knowledgeable about what to do, eat or see in Banff. Two thumbs up for sure.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.