We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was great before but they managed to make it even better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Banff Aspen Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Escape to Banff!
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“It was great before but they managed to make it even better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We'd stayed here a few years ago and really enjoyed it so decided to stay again on our return to Banff. There have been some major renovations so the whole place is even nicer. Everything about this place was updated and better. The lobby was still undergoing some renovations so the set up to check in was a bit strange but I'm sure it will be great when they are done. Our room was gigantic and had definitely been recently renovated.

The breakfast was even better. The awesome granola was still there but they also had eggs, bacon and other things. Perfect for fueling up for skiing. The hot tubs were great. Ski shuttles pick up right next door. It's an easy walk to all the great things downtown but nice to be somewhat removed from the crowds in the bar area. Staff were all really friendly and helpful.

The quality and value at this place really can't be beat. Will definitely be staying here when we get back to Banff!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    373
    87
    30
    18
See reviews for
170
442
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our stay at the Banff Aspen Lodge was great! Super friendly and the rooms were laid out nicely. You NEED to try the hot tubs, no matter what temperature it is outside :) Short walk to the shops/restaurants in the main street.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review the Banff Aspen Lodge. I am glad that you enjoyed our outdoor hot tubs and fireplace; they are a fantastic way to relax after a day exploring Banff National Park.
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel doesn't look like much from the outside but the room(s) we stayed in were really nice and modern. Very comfy beds as well. We were on the 2nd floor corner, had great balcony and beautiful views. It was a bit hot in the room and we thought it was maybe because of the heated bathroom floors? The hot tub area is awesome as well as the morning breakfast! Underground parking is small but we managed a spot every time. No pay per view. We set up our Netflix and watched a movie. We will stay here again.
The only downfall and nothing to do with the hotel is the building going on next door. Was loud all day and some poor guys have a night shift working on the concrete till 5 am. This project is until Spring 2016. Bring earplugs or stay on the opposite side that we did and forget the views but have a quieter stay.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The perfect spot for a weekend get away in Banff. The rooms are large and clean and the breakfast that was included in our stay was by far the best hotel breakfast we have ever had! Hot tubs are well maintained and clean and the location is perfect, right on Banff Avenue and close to everything. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 3 days ago
I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your time at the Banff Aspen Lodge! Look forward to seeing you again soon ~
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice hotel. The room is pretty sweet. Got a playpen for our 8 week old son which was in good shape and neat and clean. The view was Panoramic. Only disappointment was the hotel construction across the road was little bit bothersome...except that the view was awesome..staff at breakfast were pretty good and very nice. Breakfast is not so good for vegetarians as there are no options for vegetarians...

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Banff Aspen Lodge. Glad to see that you enjoyed your guestroom and the amazing views that the Canadian Rockies provides!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My bf and I went for a 4 days getaway in Banff and really enjoyed our stay in Banff aspen lodge. Hotel looks a bit outdated from outside but rooms are nicely renovated. We stayed in 214, nice balcony and view. I loved outdoor hot tubs, especially the one with the fireplace. Breakfast was really good, bacon sousages eggs etc. Staff was friendly and helpful every time we needed something. Also very short walk to downtown. I would recommend it to everybody and I'm looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was fine and what I expected. The only issue was with the company I booked through, Easytobook.com. I was put in a room with two single beds. Even though I was travelling solo, that should have been communicated to me as part of the confirmation process. (Standard rooms in North America have 2 double beds). I asked about changing rooms and it was not an option as the hotel was fully booked.


  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Banff Aspen Lodge. We do always recommend making your reservation directly with the hotel to ensure all needs can be noted at time of booking and we will do our best to accommodate these requests for your stay. Hope to see you on your next trip to Banff ~
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.