We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Banff Aspen Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ski & Soak!
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We LOVE this hotel and can't wait to stay here again! The front desk employees are super friendly, and even gave us a free upgrade which we thought was really nice. The room was clean, spacious, bright, and even had its own living room area. We were right by the outdoor pool which was a plus! Underground parking is free which is nice, and free breakfast is a plus.

The outdoor pool and hot tub are easily the best part of this hotel- situated right in the centre of the building, it's a cozy environment and the fireplace by the hot tub adds to the atmosphere.

My only complaint is that when we were there, we were enjoying the pool and a bunch of extremely loud, obnoxious drunks came into the pool and hot tub and weren't respectful at all of others but the staff wouldn't quiet them or remove them.They had beer and wine in the pool and were spilling it everywhere, and it was just off-putting. It just kind of ruined our night, and for the others in the pool who were getting frustrated with them too. I hope that it was a one time thing and nobody else has to deal with it!

I would absolutely stay here again, minus the pool incident we had a wonderful time and look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    353
    87
    30
    18
See reviews for
163
424
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here en route to Alberta during the summer. The lodge is very centrally located in Banff. After parking the truck that I was traveling in, my relatives and I simply walked everywhere.

The room was very comfortable. It was a room with two queen beds. The beds were separated by the bathroom, which I thought was very pleasant.

The breakfast, service and parking were all great. Overall, I can only say good things about my stay at the lodge.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have just returned from a wonderful stay in Banff. And for us Aspen Lodge delivered both great value for money & excellent customer service. From our arrival, right through to our departure we encountered friendly, helpful, smiley staff. In particular Sue & Susan went out of their way to make sure our requests were sorted without fuss. Our room was quiet, comfy and the breakfast excellent, with hot buffet too & the homemade granola should have its own trip advisor! The in-house coffee shop is an added bonus. Location of the hotel is 5 mins to the centre and even closer to the ski bus. Very much hope we get the chance to stay again. Big thanks to all.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The ski bus stops right outside to service the 3 ski resorts
Also the hotel has lockable ski holders
It's a 5 minute walk to the shops and restaurants so good snow boots are a must
don't bother hiring a car as their is no need as the buses are excellent

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great value for money
Clean rooms' breakfast included which had a great selection to choose from, free wifi which was good.
Couple minutes walk to town & you have all the shops & restaurants.
Great value for money. Service was excellent & friendly.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A bit of a last minute trip to Banff and I already knew where I would be staying! There were 5 of us in total, 2 adults and 3 teenagers, so we booked 2 rooms. We got rooms side by side, 2 queen premium rooms.

Check in was easy and no hassle at all. We booked through Expedia, and everything was correct.

The rooms are a decent size and still nicely upgraded. I was a bit surprised that they still use coffee mugs and water glasses, not disposables. I did a thorough check, and they looked clean. The in-room Keurig is a nice touch!

We didn't have a chance to enjoy their lovely hot tubs this time around. I personally found their hours a bit short. 9 am - 10 pm. Would have liked to see 8 am - 11 pm.

The breakfast is included and again, it was wonderful! Locally and in-house made sausages, eggs, bacon, muffins, bread and granola. I left feeling happily full! The granola is my favourite.

Once again, the Banff Aspen Lodge did not dissapoint, and am sure to return again.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent the weekend at the Banff Aspen Lodge with their "Dine and Swim" package. It's a great deal and we had a fantastic time. The hotel is clean, the rooms are lovely and the breakfast room is one of the best I've seen in any hotel. The selection included hot breakfast, not just continental and it was included in the package. I would recommend this hotel and one of their getaway packages to anyone. The outdoor hot tubs are awesome, as well as the sauna and steam room. Great facilities. I would suggest that the hot tub area be open until 11pm on the weekends, rather than 10pm, but other than that, I have nothing negative to say!!!:)

Room Tip: The rooms that are entered into from the inside of the hotel are a little quiet than the rooms that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for writing this review. Our packages are a great way to enjoy everything that Banff offers, while at the same time, saving some money as the package is put together at a discounted package price! Hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Banff Aspen Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.