We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat place in Banff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Save Saved
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Banff
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Neat place in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Easy walking to quaint downtown. The hotel is very ECO aware, does not have AC, but usually not needed. We got an "economy room", one queen, no balcony or view, limited space. Had 14 LED Ceiling lites, over half were not working. An awkward step down ramp had a motion sensor light with dead batteries. Nice heated outdoor pool and spa in the atrium, rain after dinner prevented our use. Has leave one, take one, libraries on 2nd and 3rd floors, we traded a few books. Had underground parking, and room in back for bigger vehicles. Their Deluxe breakfast was excellent, steward seating and beverages. Buffet area had very good selection including hot foods. Had up to 8 people in line waiting to be seated, was popular.

Room Tip: Elevator in the middle. Check out the artwork in the stairs, and scattered around the property. room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    312
    319
    80
    29
    16
See reviews for
153
385
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here Aug 2014. Great find! Hotel was fabulous and location was perfect. It's a boutique hotel in a lodge setting - the perfect combination! Complementary breakfast and parking were a definite plus!

Room Tip: Upper floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Banff Aspen hotel is in a great location that is a short walk to shops and restaurants downtown. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and the house made granola is especially yummy. The hotel has convenient parking behind the building. Our room was clean and comfortable and we appreciated the modern decor. The two outdoor hot tubs in the coutyard area were welcome on the two chilly nights we stayed there. The attached Whitebark Cafe has snacks and yummy hot chooclate and coffee. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel with flight as a package deal, the room booked was to be 2 queen beds.
There were 3 of us travelling so I emailed the Aspen and asked for a room with 2 single and a pullout, they were very helpful and offered at no charge a room with 2 single beds and one queen, each room had a tv, 2 sinks and separate shower and toilet. A balcony ,there were 2 hot tubs and steam room. I also asked if we could get into the room early as I was travelling with my elderly mother, the room was ready for 1 as promised
The Free continental breakfast was excellent. Bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, hot oatmeal, several types of bread, butter, jam, marmalade, tea, coffee, oj, granola, yogurt, fresh fruit, baked muffins & banana bread. Cereal. The service was premium, at the breakfast and all through the hotel, we had asked for extra towels, tea, facecloths, all was supplied with a smile and a thank you. I highly recommend the Aspen and would return to stay again.

Room Tip: If balcony door left open it was a bit noisy, otherwise, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Banff Aspen Lodge. Our suite with separate tv room was very comfortable and very quiet. There is a really nice hot tub with a fireplace in the courtyard that we took advantage of. The included hot buffet breakfast was also very good, quite a bit better than we were expecting. There are many restaurants all within easy walking distance. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends.

There is no airconditioning but this wasn't a problem as we left the balcony door open a bit for cool, fresh mountain air. After seeing the rapidly receding Athabaska Glacier, I appreciated the Aspen Lodge's commitment to trying to stay as green as possible.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

hotel is situated about 15 minute walk from the town centre, however they do supply free public bus tickets. No air conditioning but tis is common in Canada. The room was clean and staff were friendly. There is plenty of choice for breakfast

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Firstly, this hotel is set in an excellent location being a very short walk along a straight, flat road into the centre of beautiful Banff. Customer service at reception was initially good and you could tell she was incredibly busy. There are two outdoor hot tubs (the proper ones built into the ground as opposed to the stand alone facilities) and a lovely log fire which we used pretty much daily! The shared areas were beautiful and very well kept (especially the lobby area). We had a spacious room with a modern coffee maker (but fairly old TV). We also had a small balcony and a noisy fridge (but you can ask to turn it off but not ideal if you are storing drinks etc in there!). There is no a/c but it was not too much of a problem for us as it wasn't too hot in the evenings, and the fan provided helped override the fridge sound! There was a real issue with the breakfast. Firstly, you are told on arrival that breakfast is served until 10. That does mean that you can turn up at 9.59 and still not be late! However, one of the waiters kept making comments under his breath about people turning up 'late', even when arriving at 9.30. Very rude! There was often a queue for breakfast as they only have a smallish room for the size of the hotel (particularly when it is full). It was not too much of a problem for us and one of the kind waiters often came out with OJ and apologised for our wait, but I can imagine it would be a problem for anyone with scheduled trips at certain times (though perhaps they wouldn't arrive 'late' at 9.30...)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Canadian Rockies Continental Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and just a short stroll to downtown Banff. All rooms are carefully furnished and decorated with panoramic mountain views. Amenities include 2 outdoor hot tubs with an outdoor fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, gift shop, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, wireless internet ($), internet access terminal ($) and laundry facilities ($). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.