We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Banff Aspen Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights in June 2014 with my husband. The hotel as a fantastic location with just a short walk from the restaurants and shops. The free onsite car park is a bonus. Although there was no air con we had a balcony room so slept with the door open - mosquito screens are fitted so no need to worry about them flying in! The room was a peculiar shape (almost triangular) but they make good use of the space. The breakfast was good although like with most buffet breakfasts it wasn't very hot but did set us up for the day. I did find it a bit strange that the juices were not freely available and you had to request a glass of juice from the staff. Certainly the first hotel where I have experienced that. On our second morning there were no staff around (presumably all in the kitchen) so I has to leave without a top up on my orange juice. A minor thing but is so easily resolved by supplying juice dispensers. We didn't try the sauna or spa area but they did look inviting. Overall a good hotel and if we were in the area again I would consider staying here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for saying at the Banff Aspen Lodge.

I am glad to hear your stay with us was enjoyable.

Hopefully next time you can endulge in the Hot Tubs and saunas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    334
    82
    29
    18
See reviews for
157
406
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Rooms are connected outdoors.
Very nice modern rooms.
Tastefully decorated.

Continental breakfast was pretty good: scrambled eggs, fruit, bacon, sausage, etc.

Outdoor hottub is beautiful.

Only issue is internet (wifi) is very very slow.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thanks you for taking the time to write a review.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We were greeted at Aspen Lodge to find no restaurant, no bar, no air conditioning, and a television that was outdated at the turn of the century.

That said, the staff were very attentive, particularly when we found ourselves in an emergency situation, the rooms were clean, but hot. The breakfast was varied enough to offer a good start to the day and was very substantial.

Thank you Aspen Lodge for the good things, hopefully the negatives will be worked on.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hi Joseph,

Thank you for the review.

I am sorry to hear that you expected a restaurant, bar, and air conditioning. Unfortunately we are not a full service hotel and therefore have no restaurant or bar.

However we have the Whitebark Café which offers light fare and Fantastic Coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed here for two nights recently . Such a nice hotel. Spotless large clean comfortable beds, and a nice size bathroom with a good shower.
Breakfast was very nice with plenty of hot and cold choices. The staff were very attentive and cleared dirty dishes promptly. Good location, near the shops and bars. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hi GrannyAnnie,

Thanks for the great review...we hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, IN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed with a tour group. we were told all rooms had mt. views. Well they do to some extent IF you step out on the balcony and lean way out.
The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast (complimentary continental) was ok. nothing to brag about. Hotel staff was very helpful. We were told we could do laundry but there is only 1 washer and dryer so we hiked it a few blocks to the mall where there was a laundromat. Very expensive($4.00 US to wash and $ .25/3 min to dry)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

Like most hotels not every room gives the perfect view of the mountains. But our oversized balconies gives fantastic views as we are surrounded by beautiful landscapes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed here for two nights with my husband. Hotel has free parking and a fantastic breakfast included. The hotel is well placed close to shops and local amenities. Staff are polite, friendly and willing to help. Our room was very big and clean. I could not fault the hotel. A number of reviews mention the rooms being warm at night we did not find this to be an issue for us. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Banff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hi Chloe,

Thanks for the Excellent review. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

June 21 to 23, 2014 - - Awesome experience. Staff friendly and helpful. Terrific at anticipating the next question. Offered options when possible. Complimentary breakfast was exceptional. Room was comfortable and clean. Location w/in four blocks of grocery store and retail center. Looking forward to our up coming stay on June 25, 2014.

Room Tip: Tell staff what your expectations are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hi Paul,

Thank you so much for the review!

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Canadian Rockies Continental Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and just a short stroll to downtown Banff. All rooms are carefully furnished and decorated with panoramic mountain views. Amenities include 2 outdoor hot tubs with an outdoor fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, gift shop, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, wireless internet ($), internet access terminal ($) and laundry facilities ($). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.