We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Nights Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Save Saved
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Banff
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Two Nights Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed in the Banff Aspen Lodge over the new year period. Room was a double with a wall separating the beds. Room cleaned daily, breakfast was excellent and hot tub in yard was welcome after a days activities. The price was a bit heavy but seems Banff likes to take advantage by hiking prices over busy periods.
Good location to town with friendly helpful staff.
Would stay again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    304
    76
    27
    15
See reviews for
145
367
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the hight street close to the town centre. It was ideal with indoor parking and comfortable bedroom and a super breakfast. There was no bar but there was a coffee shop. it had 2 outdoor spa/hot tubs with a hot fire . We enjoyed the hotel apart from being disturbed by a noisy fridge in the main bedroom - we could have turned it off, but it could have been placed near the door away from the main sleeping area . The reception team were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our trip across Canada, nice clean rooms if a little quirky in there layout. Lovely breakfast everything fresh and plenty of it. Not a five star hotel but a very good value for a couple of days. Lovely jacuzzi in the open courtyard. At the end of the Main Street close to amenities and attractions in the middle of a beautiful wilderness, we even walked back to the hotel accompanied by a pair of Elk, luckily not a moose.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, we hope your visit to Banff (and across Canada!) was amazing. There's lots of wildlife around here, it's so good to hear that you had the opportunity to experience it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

For the price, location and amenities, this was perfect for our needs for a couple night stay in Banff. I've stayed at the Fairmont Springs which is in a different class in and of itself, but for the amount of time in the room overall, this was perfect. Now, while there may be certain things that make this less than perfect (no flat screen tvs, older furniture and soft beds, there are other wonderful things this "boutique" hotel has to offer and that's mainly the breakfast that's included which is in a lovely breakfast room with the MOST delicious homemade granola!! One day it was continental breakfast and the other we were surprised to see scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon on the buffet as well! Above all was the friendliest employees! We also enjoyed the hot tub with the cozy fireplace. Also, the underground parking was a nice added free feature. This hotel is close to walking distance to everything! We booked the ski and soak package which was nice to have the lift tickets and hot springs tickets upon check in! Thanks to the entire staff for their hospitality!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your review, we always appreciate hearing about all the details of a guests stay with the Banff Aspen Lodge. We are pleased we met your needs while visiting Banff! We have recently started a rotating breakfast, we are so glad you enjoyed it (and we do have amazing homemade granola!). There will be a few upgrades done in the future; such as flat screen
TVs, which will add to the comfort level of our rooms for guests. Our staff are a friendly group and we aim to provide great customer service, it's fantastic to hear that your experience with us was great! We hope that you will come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed in a premium room a for a week over New Year, as we were skiing in Banff and Lake Louise.

The hotel is in a great location, on the main road in Banff, and just one short block from the shops and bars of the centre- close enough for convenience, but far enough away to be quiet. The room was good, had a balcony, fridge and coffee machine, and there's plenty of parking, mostly under cover.

We were able to use the heated basement car park, it was a real bonus not having to put the baby into a freezing car in the mornings. Free WiFi is available, and the guest laundry was useful. There is a ski locker available and reception will provide padlocks for extra security.

The pool/spa area is nice, and very popular, we used it almost everyday, and didn't see it empty. It closes at 9pm, which is probably just as well as there was quite a party atmosphere during our stay- we were traveling with a baby, but weren't the noisiest guests- phew!

The breakfast is included and was excellent, cereals and porridge (oatmeal), toast, hams and cheeses, yoghurt, delicious homemade granola, a choice of fresh baked goods daily such as muffins, croissant, bacon and maple scones, etc... Every other day we were also offered bacon, sausage and egg too. The breakfast room was nice and the staff were lovely. There's also a cafe in the lobby.

This isn't a luxury hotel, but it provided great value for money and we'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro-Brazil
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Charming looking hotel a few minutes walk from all shops and restaurants in Banff. Nice, polite staff. we had a twin premium queen room - lots of room for a couple and a nice shower with sink outside in the room. We also had a nice balcony. Parking was free and most of it indoors. Room was quiet at all times. The hotel has one of the nicest outdoor heated pools I have ever seen. Breakfast was also very good and the staff very professional - we just didn't understand why one day they had hot options (scrambled egges, sausages, etc), and the other day just ham and cheese - never both together?? The other point to consider are the bath towels - the smallest I have ever seen, almost the size of hand towels - not sure why.
I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a comfortable, quiet, well located hotel in Banff. I thank you the management for the good work!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi Chris,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us while you visited beautiful Banff. Our outdoor hot tubs are the perfect place to be in the winter! We did recently add a hot breakfast, it is rotated with our charcuterie including hams and selected deli meats, hard boiled eggs and cheeses. This is to provide a variety of options for guests; this is new, so we appreciate your feedback on this matter.

We hope you come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I visited in August as part of a trip across Canada. I booked this hotel on the strength of the reviews. To be honest, I was a bit disappointed as it was the first hotel we stayed in during our Rockies leg.

Good points:
Location
*Friendly and helpful reception staff
*Hot tubs
*Price included breakfast

Not so good points:
*Room - a twin with lounge area. Very tired and 'dull'. Door opened straight into bedroom. *Lacked modern amenities. Pillows awful.
*Breakfast - adequate but not great - but it was included.

There were renovations going on when we were there so there may be improvements now. I would choose to stay elsewhere next time but if you end up here you will be ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It's unfortunate that you weren't overall pleased with your stay. We have recently renovated our rooms, and are upgrading our TV's in the future. We have as well added a hot breakfast since you stayed with us. I do hope you enjoyed your visit to Banff and will come to this beautiful town again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Canadian Rockies Continental Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and just a short stroll to downtown Banff. All rooms are carefully furnished and decorated with panoramic mountain views. Amenities include 2 outdoor hot tubs with an outdoor fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, gift shop, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, wireless internet ($), internet access terminal ($) and laundry facilities ($). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.