We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Banff Aspen Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Banff Aspen Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ski & Soak
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Devon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Banff Aspen Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed in a premium room a for a week over New Year, as we were skiing in Banff and Lake Louise.

The hotel is in a great location, on the main road in Banff, and just one short block from the shops and bars of the centre- close enough for convenience, but far enough away to be quiet. The room was good, had a balcony, fridge and coffee machine, and there's plenty of parking, mostly under cover.

We were able to use the heated basement car park, it was a real bonus not having to put the baby into a freezing car in the mornings. Free WiFi is available, and the guest laundry was useful. There is a ski locker available and reception will provide padlocks for extra security.

The pool/spa area is nice, and very popular, we used it almost everyday, and didn't see it empty. It closes at 9pm, which is probably just as well as there was quite a party atmosphere during our stay- we were traveling with a baby, but weren't the noisiest guests- phew!

The breakfast is included and was excellent, cereals and porridge (oatmeal), toast, hams and cheeses, yoghurt, delicious homemade granola, a choice of fresh baked goods daily such as muffins, croissant, bacon and maple scones, etc... Every other day we were also offered bacon, sausage and egg too. The breakfast room was nice and the staff were lovely. There's also a cafe in the lobby.

This isn't a luxury hotel, but it provided great value for money and we'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    368
    87
    30
    18
See reviews for
168
439
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro-Brazil
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Charming looking hotel a few minutes walk from all shops and restaurants in Banff. Nice, polite staff. we had a twin premium queen room - lots of room for a couple and a nice shower with sink outside in the room. We also had a nice balcony. Parking was free and most of it indoors. Room was quiet at all times. The hotel has one of the nicest outdoor heated pools I have ever seen. Breakfast was also very good and the staff very professional - we just didn't understand why one day they had hot options (scrambled egges, sausages, etc), and the other day just ham and cheese - never both together?? The other point to consider are the bath towels - the smallest I have ever seen, almost the size of hand towels - not sure why.
I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a comfortable, quiet, well located hotel in Banff. I thank you the management for the good work!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi Chris,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us while you visited beautiful Banff. Our outdoor hot tubs are the perfect place to be in the winter! We did recently add a hot breakfast, it is rotated with our charcuterie including hams and selected deli meats, hard boiled eggs and cheeses. This is to provide a variety of options for guests; this is new, so we appreciate your feedback on this matter.

We hope you come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I visited in August as part of a trip across Canada. I booked this hotel on the strength of the reviews. To be honest, I was a bit disappointed as it was the first hotel we stayed in during our Rockies leg.

Good points:
Location
*Friendly and helpful reception staff
*Hot tubs
*Price included breakfast

Not so good points:
*Room - a twin with lounge area. Very tired and 'dull'. Door opened straight into bedroom. *Lacked modern amenities. Pillows awful.
*Breakfast - adequate but not great - but it was included.

There were renovations going on when we were there so there may be improvements now. I would choose to stay elsewhere next time but if you end up here you will be ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It's unfortunate that you weren't overall pleased with your stay. We have recently renovated our rooms, and are upgrading our TV's in the future. We have as well added a hot breakfast since you stayed with us. I do hope you enjoyed your visit to Banff and will come to this beautiful town again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Spent 5 nights here over dec 13 - jan14 & loved our stay.

Hotel is on Main Street only a few minute walk to town. Shuttle to ski areas departs from hotel next door.

Breakfast is included in room rate & is very good. They don't make coffee other than filter but there is a cafe attached to the hotel so it didn't bother us.

Rooms are a good size, and the hot tub is great.

We used the laundry facilities & ski equipment lock up areas & found them both useful & convenient.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi Sarah,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, it sounds like you made good use of all that Banff Aspen Lodge has to offer, as well as Banff National Park! We hope your visit to Banff was fantastic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Booked a premium room with 2 queen beds....room was spot on...new furniture..clean sheets..comfortable beds...the hot pools are just great and we and kids really enjoyed them...breakfast was not wow but good enough to give you a healthy start for the day..nice location on banff ave...it's a 10min walk to shops...as for price this hotel is great value for money....we extremely enjoyed our stay and look forward to our next stay....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi Adham,
I am thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! We do strive to offer great accommodations and amenities for a good price point; I am pleased that your experience reflected this. We hope you come visit us in Banff again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Front staff very friendly and helpful.Breakfast is wonderful.Room is comfortable and very clean.
That really make our trip relaxing. Thanks to the management for having the best staff working there.
Albert & Eva

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

My wife and 2 others stayed here in July 2013, my wife and I having stayed the previous Christmas and been very impressed then. This hotel is a solid, no-fuss place on the main street close to the restaurants and shops. In cold weather the outdoor spa area is very enticing, and hot cider is offered in the lobby. The rooms we had were clean and quiet. The staff at the front desk are friendly and knowledgeable about the town. Recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.