We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Banff Aspen Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rockies Safari Package
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel is awesome!
Recently went to Banff on the Thanksgiving weekend .
The staff were nice, the rooms were comfortable, even the wifi connection is good.
Over-all this place is great. The location from the springs is a good one too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    383
    89
    30
    18
See reviews for
175
451
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

we wanted to try a different hotel this time in banff and the online pictures made this hotel look gorgeous. when we were here in the summer they were doing renos on this hotel so we thought it would be really good. we wanted to make sure that we got a large room with one king bed so we called to request a one bed room. on the phone they told us we didnt need to and that we could just request it online. So we did that. When we got to the hotel we were put on the first floor... with two beds and no air conditioning. Yes it is October however it was really stuffy and hot in there. We asked if we could switch rooms and they told us they could give us a fan or a room with a balcony so we could open the door. When we asked if we could just get some or all of our money back they said no. We had to pay the full $175 for a room we spent about 15 minutes in. The staff was not helpful at all and they were very rude to us. I'm sure if we were older than 18/19 they would have treated us with more respect and that isn't acceptable.

Room Tip: anything on the 2nd floor or higher. or the outside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you feel that the hotel did not take your comments seriously due to your age; please know that this is not the case. As our Front Office Manager explained to you the next day, our policies and procedures are in place for all guests, regardless of their age.
Guestroom requests are noted and we do our best to accommodate them; unfortunately they are never guaranteed. The hotel only has three rooms with king beds and as they were not available, we did give you a room with two queen beds. As well, the hotel has a 48 hour cancellation policy and you did agree to this policy when reserving your room. This is a strict policy that cannot be waived and is in-place for all guests.
I am happy that you were able to speak with our Front Office Manager and she was able to explain the above points to you. Hope you enjoyed your time in Banff~
Sincerely.
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Overall a decent choice, cannot beat the location if you want to walk to just about anywhere in town. Was in Banff for a wedding, and was even able to walk back to hotel from the Banff Springs Hotel in less than 30 minutes. Stayed two different times with a short break away from the area. The first room was huge , but even with the heat turned off, the room was very warm - to the point where you had to leave the patio door open a bit which also allowed street noise to be heard. Our second room was on the back side of the hotel, overlooking the parking lot, and we heard no vehicle traffic whatsoever.
Front desk staff was always polite, and the breakfast area was clean and the breakfast itself was basic but good.
Wi Fi connection was excellent in the rooms.
The only complaint was the first night there was absolutely no parking available in their lot, and we had to park on a side street one block away, but had no problems doing so.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms fronting Moose Street if possible - lots of buses seem to use this street early in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your time at the hotel. I’m glad you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s central location; the walk to the Banff Springs is amazing if you choose to walk along the Bow River!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

staff were very nice, friendly and very accommodating!. nice and clean hotel! i could not ask for more :) Walking distance to downtown. Great location and easy access to restaurants and stores. Rooms are nice and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
I’m happy that you enjoyed your time at the Banff Aspen Lodge! Look forward to seeing you on your next Banff holiday!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Excellent services by the staff. We had a good sleep as place is comfortable and clean. We had our breakfast here and the food is just good. The location is just near the main street so you can walk around the town if you want.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Quite a spacious room for 4 adults, bedrooms separated by 2 sinks, 1 king size and 2 single beds, a good layout. Beds comfy, good shower both clean. The continental breakfast was adequate and hotel in a good location. No air con but excellent internet connection.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in September. The location was good and staff friendly.

We had been warned that the rooms on the main street side can be noisy so requested a quiet room. The room was got was a on the corner so it was still quite noisy from the street. However, this was not the main issue. The housekeeping store room was right next door. We were travelling with an infant who was still struggling with jet lag so were not really wanting to be up too early if our baby was sleeping. The staff had loud conversations right outside our door. The hotel management would do well to remind them that the rooms are not soundproof.

The hotel is hot so you need to open the door to cool down the rooms. This does not assist with keeping the room quiet. The seals on the doors let a significant amount of light into the room. This could be easily fixed. The rooms are tight for space. Once our playpen was set up, there was not much room left. I think the fact that we were in a corner room contributed to this as it was an odd triangle shape. It is possible that the other rooms are larger.

The good things about the hotel are the reception staff (very friendly and helpful with recommendations, directions etc), the location (walking distance from everything) and the breakfast. Despite what other people have said, we thought it was more than adequate. The staff in the breakfast room were also very good. The hot tubs are also very nice.

We would probably try somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Try for a quiet room away from the main street and housekeeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that the staff speaking outside of your room disturbed you during your stay; your comments have been passed onto our Housekeeping Manager who will review with her team to ensure this doesn’t happen again. You stayed in our mid-sized room (Superior Room – 239 square feet). If a larger guestroom is desired, I would recommend reserving our Premium Room (289 – 336 square feet).
I am glad that the hotel’s Front Desk staff were able to assist you during your stay and that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.