We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FALL GETAWAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Save Saved
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“FALL GETAWAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Rooms very clean, comfortable beds
Front desk Staff exceptional went out of the way to make sure all concerns and questions delt with quickly. Also good knowledge of restauants. Very helpfull and pleasant

Great location for easy walking access to downtown restaurants etc.

Room Tip: Street facing rooms better view ,could become a little noisy in summer but in cool weather an easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    304
    299
    75
    27
    14
See reviews for
141
360
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is located in the main street of town and you can walk around most of the time. The 2 spaces room is comfortable. I´ve read many complaints about the breakfast but, for me, it was good enough. I had more than I usually have at home for breakfast (latin habits). Would undoubtedly stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for posting your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance to all the shops downtown and has a nice view of the mountains (although almost any hotel in Banff is going to have a view of the mountains). Our room was on the second floor and it was small but adequate and very clean. Check in personnel were very nice and all went smooth. I've read reviews on here that the breakfast room was small and the breakfast inadequate but I was pleased with the breakfast. The breakfast room is in the basement and it's smaller than a restaurant but bigger than the breakfast areas you find in hotel chains. They had cereals, oatmeal, yogurt, granola, fruit, ham and cheese, breads/muffins, and hard boiled eggs. The one issue that will keep me from going back is the warmth of the room. I read on here that the rooms were hot but we thought since we were going in October and the highs were in the 50's and low's in the 30's that we would be fine but our room was still hot. We had the heat off, the window and door open and we still couldn't get that room cooled down. When we ask about it at check out the girl couldn't explain why that was happening. We like a cool room to sleep and that it the only reason that we won't go back. Everything else was very nice.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back, ours was in front along the street and it was noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I’m glad that you enjoyed your time at the Banff Aspen Lodge. Should any of our guests have an issue with their guestroom, we ask that you call the Front Desk right away and not wait until checkout to report the problem. This way we can send the appropriate person to take a look and find a solution during your stay so that you enjoy the rest of your time at the hotel. I’m happy that you were pleased with our complimentary continental breakfast and I do hope you will come and stay with us again on your next Banff getaway!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here twice on a road trip we were on, once going to our destination, the other, for 2 nights, returning. Going we stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, really liked it, one bedroom by the door, the smaller one, and the larger one with a terrace next to the 'main drag'. We each had our vanity/sink, on opposite sides of each other. On our return we got the suite with one bedroom and a 'living' area, much prefer the 2 bedroom suite as in the latter the bedroom is quite small with little room to move in it, and your bedroom door opens up to the walkway so you better not be in your 'skivvies' when the door opens! Everything was clean and tidy and somewhat newly renovated. The only 'complaint' with the room is that they still have the old model TV's in them.....NO FLATSCREEN......and these TV's are OLD. The breakfast is very nice, good assortment, fresh, nice juices and fruit bowl. JUST GET THERE BEFORE THE FOLKS ON THE BUS TOURS DO! (or you will be in line for awhile). Don't let the brusqueness of 'The Boss' upset you....he's OK. Overall, a very reasonable place to stay as we found the value there compared to what others have shared for what they paid. Was a bit surprised with the 'training' staff on the desk at various times. I visit a few hotels in my travels and meet allot of young people from other countries that are in hotel management training/exchange, and most are very pleasant. this was a bit lacking during our stays, and I suspect it has to do with the training and standards at this lodge....a bit disappointing. Owners could ay closer attention to this area as it does affects the outcome of one's stay. There seemed to be a lack of urgency with most circumstance, with us and others that I noticed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. The hotel does have a variety of Premium Rooms available; the ones that have two rooms separated by the washroom are our ‘divided’ rooms. Guests just need to put in their request at time of booking and we’ll do our best to ensure all requests are met! The hotel has high customer service standards for all staff and I apologize that you did not experience this with our Front Desk. I have passed your comments onto the Front Office Manager to review with her team, as the service you described is not how our staff are trained. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you on your next trip to Banff~
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werribee, Victoria, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel room was large, clean and very quiet. The hotel staff friendly and helpful. There is a lovely lounge off the foyer and a new cafe opening soon. The continental breakfast had a large variety to choose from, all foods fresh. Restaurants and shops are only a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Banff Aspen Lodge story! I’m happy that you enjoyed our central location, friendly staff, clean guestrooms and complimentary continental breakfast.
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The room was big and clean, the continental breakfast was good and with fresh food. The location is great, it's just a 5 min walk within banff shops and restaurants. By the way we also liked the Ticino restaurant that is in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was an okay hotel, selected due to its good location a short walk from downtown Banff. It was fine as far as that went. We had a twin room, which was a sort of suite, with a very small "bedroom" area divided by the bathroom from a sitting room area. It was fine, although the sleeping area was rather cramped, especially given the relatively large size of the room as a whole. The desk staff was friendly and helpful. The thermostat in the room appeared to be non-functional, since we set the temperature to 17C (it was a chilly night near freezing), and the heater appeared to go on full blast and stay on, causing us to be woken in the middle of the night in a room far far hotter than 17C.

We prepaid for our stay, and learned an important lesson, since as we were checking in, the desk clerk quoted people who had just arrived a room rate more than thirty dollars a night less than ours. The breakfast was quite disappointing -- a lackluster collection of yogurt, cheese, coldcuts. We had to wait to be seated despite there being empty tables, and then the waitress suggested we sit at a table with other guests instead of cleaning off a table for us (we declined). It was an unimpressive continental breakfast buffet, and there were no beverages available, except through table service. We were asked once at the start about beverages (got coffee) but the staff were too busy to check again. We would have liked coffee refills and juice and water. Even at a motel continental breakfast, there are generally accessible beverage dispensers. The staff were quite rude and abrupt, demanding our "breakfast tickets" up front, as if "cheaters" were a common issue (in the basement of the hotel? -- it's not like it was accessible to the public in any way). Normally at a hotel with continental breakfast one just goes and eats -- one is not accosted for "tickets." Needless to say we left the hotel for a proper breakfast with friendly service the next morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel’s central location and our Front Office staff. Please contact me directly at sales@banffaspenlodge.com to let me know the room that you stayed in so that our Maintenance Team can ensure the thermostat is working correctly. The hotel does have different room category pricing and membership discounts available depending on our availability. Potentially the person who you overheard at check-in was staying in different room type than you or they had a membership that enabled them to an additional discount.

Thank you for the feedback on our Breakfast Room. I apologize that you didn’t receive juice or coffee refills. I have passed your review onto our Breakfast Room Manager to review with his team to ensure this doesn’t happen again in the future. Please note we include a continental breakfast in our room rates and if you desire a traditional hot breakfast, many restaurants are available in Banff within walking distance of the hotel.
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
#10 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Canadian Rockies Continental Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and just a short stroll to downtown Banff. All rooms are carefully furnished and decorated with panoramic mountain views. Amenities include 2 outdoor hot tubs with an outdoor fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, gift shop, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, wireless internet ($), internet access terminal ($) and laundry facilities ($). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.