We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel in excellent location only if it was not a group hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Banff Aspen Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“good hotel in excellent location only if it was not a group hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

A very good hotel, with above average rooms and nice amenities, like two outsize Jacuzzis and ample parking.
Its major let down is groups. The groups get preferred over regular customers especially during breakfast (time and better menu).

No AC just heating

Room Tip: Avoid early breakfest , you would not have a place as the groups gets priority waits till 8:00
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I am happy that you enjoyed the hotel’s outdoor hot tubs with fireplace and complimentary parking! Should you arrive for breakfast and find that the Breakfast Room is at capacity, the hotel does have a ‘to-go’ option where you are able to take food to go if you are not able to wait for a table. Our breakfast menu is the same for all guests. We did have a particular group who paid a higher rate to have more variety at breakfast. I am happy to let you know that all guests now receive cold cuts and cheese as an option daily at no additional cost!
Sincerely,
Christy - Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    341
    84
    29
    18
See reviews for
159
415
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were very happy with this hotel. Breakfast was great. Yogurt, hardboiled eggs, cereal, oatmeal, toast, fresh home baked goods. We were also happy with our room. The two queen beds were in separate rooms with a bathroom in between. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great service at check-in. Nice hot tubs. A very clean comfortable room with good beds. Close to downtown. Excellent breakfast included. Reasonable room rate. We have already recommended this hotel to others and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 312 for Three women. We had two twin beds w/pull out couch. Plenty of room with two sinks, two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Banff Aspen Lodge experience! Look forward to seeing you again~
Sincerely,
Christy - Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Really enjoyed the Banff Aspen Lodge. Recently remodeled. It's sort of "Banff trendy" but not kitschy at all. Very pleasant accommodations. Excellent rooms.

The cave like spa is worth checking out after a long day of riding or hiking.

It's about a 10 minute walk to town. We like to walk a lot so it is no big deal. The walk to town goes fast, there is lots to see and lots of other "tourists" to watch. I think the first store you come to is a big Safeway so it's easy to pick up any needed supplies - that's about a 3 minute walk.

If I were headed back to Banff I would check out this place first.

Room Tip: We had a suite that had an upper room that was a loft and a lower living room sort of arrangement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Recently visited the Rockies, this is a lovely hotel with large rooms and beds. breakfast was a very good continental, the staff are friendly and helpful. Use the hot tubs, lovely after a day sightseeing. Banff itself is lovely would come again.

Room Tip: Basement rooms have a poor outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for the review! I am happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel’s outdoor hot tubs, helpful staff and complimentary continental breakfast. Please note that our breakfast now includes cold cuts and a selection of cheeses, so you must come back to Canada to try our new deluxe continental breakfast :)
Sincerely,
Christy - Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Banff is a place you will want to return to. We have been here now three times, and the Aspen Lodge twice. We can not speak highly enough of the town, and the surrounding area. Wildlife is never far away. The breakfast was superb, if you can eat a stack of pancakes go for it, if not sharing is the answer. I hope that one day we can return, and will stay at the Aspen.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A wonderful hotel , friendly and homely. Rooms were beautiful decorated a good size with a nice bathroom , very comfy beds . The breakfast was all local and homemade produce , Buffet style continental which suited us . We stayed here for three nights and it allowed us to explore Banff and local landmarks . They had an outside hot tub which was relaxing after a day out exploring. Definitely would stay here again .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Canadian Rockies Continental Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and just a short stroll to downtown Banff. All rooms are carefully furnished and decorated with panoramic mountain views. Amenities include 2 outdoor hot tubs with an outdoor fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, gift shop, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, wireless internet ($), internet access terminal ($) and laundry facilities ($). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.